We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved Desert Springs”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Palm Desert
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
Birmingham, Alabama
1
Reviewed July 26, 2004

I just got back from the Desert Springs Marriott. I stayed there July 18 - 25th. We have a timeshare, so we stayed in Villas I. The condo was huge! Everything was clean and accomodating. We had to kill quite a few crickets during our stay, but I guess they were trying to escape the heat, just like we were! The pools were great, especially the one with the restaurant and bar. The staff members were all so nice and always in a pleasant mood. They have shuttles that travel through the whole resort, so getting to the hotel and back was a breeze. If you stay in Villas I, you have free access to the exercise classes at the Spa. The aqua motion class was great! My only complaint is that the Spa falsely advertised some of their services. We printed out a list of their services and prices a couple of days before we left. When we called to schedule our appointments, the prices had gone up $50 on the packages that we wanted. They were not very apologetic about it. I just advised them to update their website and made appointments with another spa. I only ate at the seafood restaurant and at Lakeview in the hotel. The martinis are great at the seafood restaurant. Lakeview has a great Cobb salad for lunch. Overall, I would rate this place very high. Just go, relax, have a good time, and stay COOL. Drink lots of water!!!

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,262)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,186 - 2,192 of 2,262 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Beaumont, CA
21
Reviewed July 25, 2004

I was there July 24th and 25th. The outside of the hotel is beautiful. The service was great. We had dinner @ the mexican restaurant and the food was wonderful and the service was 10 stars. It was for my b-day, with my husband and they made it very special for us. I had a hour full body massage and
it was amazing. The negatives is that the boat ride was not working. The water was green very dirty they said that the water was low that is why we could not ride the boat. The pool area was fun we really enjoyed that. They had a live band that was really good and 2 bars and waitresses walking around the pool. If you are looking for romance @ the pool this is not the place. But if you are looking for a good time the pool is the place. Our room was really nice it was on the 5th floor. The carpet looks a little old but who stares @ the carpet? The bed was comfortable. If it was not for the green water in the pond and if the boat was working I would of gave it a 5 star..

1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2004

My girlfriend and I took a trip to Palm Desert for a nice weekend escape from life - and the this is the hotel to go to for just that: rest and relaxation. The resort is set up so that once you park your car; you really have no need to leave. We spent two nights at this oasis mid April, and the weather was perfect beside the pool.

When you first approach the hotel, you are introduced to a very obvious fact: the place is HUGE! But it a good way! The lobby will dazzle you with its soaring atrium, live birds, waterfalls and the riverboat dock. Our room was extremely comfortable and big. All of the furnishings appeared to be new, the bed was really comfortable, the view from the large balcony was spectacular - and we had a "resort view" room. Next time we go back, we'll upgrade to a "pool view" room. The bathroom was nicely done, as well.

We spent an entire day by the pool, and found that the crowds were manageable - there was never a problem finding a lounge. The poolside "band" was hilarious!

The spa is first rate- with 2 steam rooms; a dry sauna, a cold and hot plunge, and great massage therapists. The gym was nicely equipped, too, and you receive a full days' access to the spa and gym when you have an appointment in the spa. Otherwise, you have to pay $20.

We ate dinner one night at Mikado and found it to be okay. The service was slow, and the sushi wasn't what you would expect for the price. If you're into the flashy Benihana style dining, then this is your place. The Lakeside restaurant was great for breakfast. The service was excellent and friendly and there is a nice view of the resort if you sit out on the patio.

One gripe: the night club on the property charges a cover charge, even if you're a hotel guest!

We will go back - it was a great weekend for us and have a lot of awesome memories from it!

  • Stayed: April 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SavvyTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2004

Wow! What a resort. I recently stayed at this resort and was pleasantly surprised. Service was excellent. Room was very nicely done and spacious. The grounds are well maintained. Plenty of room around all the different pools. My only regret is that I did not have enough time in my stay to enjoy all what the resort has to offer.
If anyone is looking for a nice getaway in the desert, this is the place to stay.

1  Thank tripletsplus0ne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2004

Spent the last week of April in Villas 1 at the Desert Springs complex in Palm Desert, about 10 miles east of Palm Springs. Record heat of 105 degrees welcomed us. Our 2 bedroom suite was 1650 sq ft with full kitchen, sunken living room, newly decorated, 2 balconies, free access to the hotel's spa ($28 a day for everyone else). Loved this oasis in the middle of the desert. We had a small pool right across from us - seldom busy. The hotel is something to see (free shuttle every 30 minutes to/from hotel) with it's boats inside the lobby, live birds, impressive decor. Restaurants not that great - we went off premises to Morton's and others nearby instead. Would go back anytime (except maybe summer as I hear it's 120 degrees then).

3  Thank pwrshift
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2004

  • Stayed: May 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SeattleClarita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Yucaipa, California
11
Reviewed May 16, 2004

  • Stayed: May 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palm Desert
0.9 mi away
The Westin Desert Willow Villas
2.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Indian Wells Resort & Spa
2.7 mi away
Omni Rancho Las Palmas Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Rancho Mirage
5.5 mi away
La Quinta Resort & Club, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
1.7 mi away
Marriott's Desert Springs Villas II
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa

Address: 74-855 Country Club Drive, Palm Desert, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92260
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Desert
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Palm Desert
#4 Business Hotel in Palm Desert
#7 Family Hotel in Palm Desert
#9 Romantic Hotel in Palm Desert
Price Range: $260 - $534 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 884
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to your go-to desert playground at JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa. From the moment you approach the palm-lined path leading to our resort in Palm Desert, California, the excitement begins. Our hotel near Palm Springs has it all, including an active lobby complete with gondolas and meandering waterways, six restaurants serving everything from fresh sushi to locally sourced culinary delights, two championship golf courses, and spacious guest rooms. After an exhilarating day of playing and exploring, you may recharge at Spa Desert Springs, or soak up the sun at any of our four pools with gorgeous views of the nearby mountains. Adding to your options are an onsite fitness center, extensive tennis center and volleyball courts, and a nearby jogging path. JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa also features 210,000 square feet of dazzling event space for weddings and conferences. Play in style, experience our resort today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Springs Jw Marriott Resort And Spa
Desert Springs Jw Marriott Hotel Palm Desert
Jw Marriott Palm Desert
Marriott Palm Desert
Palm Desert Marriott
Jw Marriott Desert Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing