We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just OK”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa
Ranked #6 of 22 Hotels in Palm Desert
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Just OK”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

Stayed for 3 nights while my husband was attending a conference. This would have been a 5 stars if the not for the dirty carpet and musty smell in our room. Granted, I did not report this to the Reception, as my husband did not want to move or make a fuss. Men! Another unpleasant surprise was an unexpected $5 charge for delivering a Fed Ex envelope to the room. The reception should explain the options, pick up or delivery, and inform you that they will charge you $5 for delivery.
On the other hand, all the staff is very friendly, and always greeted you with a smile. We had breakfast in the hotel, snacks and drinks on the patio and in the bar, fish and chips at the Fisherman's Landing. We went out for dinner at the Cork Tree (escargot en-croute, yum), Pacifica Seafood (their vodka selection is awesome!!), and Morton's steakhouse. All three restaurants are top notch and a must try.
The shopping at the Premium Outlets was just OK, did not like the construction going on as they expand.
This is a very nice resort, you can keep busy with lots of thigs to do. Or just relax by the pool or in a quiet spot.

Room Tip: Rooms closer to the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cdn_traveler_ON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    913
    646
    306
    158
    102
See reviews for
477
613
47
558
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (595)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 5days. It is very clean with great facilities. However, getting your room cleaned is a problem. They clean until 5 so don't expect to return to your room and have it clean. We asked them to clean our room by noon. It happened a couple of times and not the rest. The forgot toilet paper once and we ran out - really! The restaurant is very nice, very conscious of allergies. The concierge is terrific. Go to the wine tasting. We tasted California big reds. Delicious. The guy is very knowledgeable - a bonus if you are dining in the hotel you can take a glass of wine with you.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DesertSpringsJW, General Manager at JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Hello Robert. We appreciate you taking the time to share the details of your stay. Any constructive feedback we receive is extremely important to us as we’re constantly looking for ways to better serve our guests. We will certainly review your housekeeping concerns with our team as we’re always working to ensure that the needs of our guests’ are being met. We’re happy to hear that you enjoyed several aspects of your stay – including the California Reds. Hoping that we’ll have the opportunity to welcome you back to our resort in the very near future. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014

This is our favorite resort in the Palm Desert area. We were out for the Valentines weekend. Check in was quick and easy. Professional staff. Hotel was booked. Bell cap was prompt with our luggage. We enjoyed sushi in the lobby bar, golf, time at the pool and brunch.....all excellent....
You gotta go!

Room Tip: I prefer higher rooms and facing South if possible....
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chantilly, Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

Stayed at the JW for 5 nights during a business conference/extended vacation and had a fantastic time! We've been traveling with this business group for 4 years and this was by far the best one yet (compared to a Waldorf and Westin). The staff at the JW was extremely pleasant, accommodating and helpful; our room was spacious and clean; the hotel had lots of options for food, drink and activities; and the weather was amazing. Typically the food is terrible at these business conventions because there are so many people to feed, but the JW hit it out of the park with variety and the amount of stations provided so the lines weren't too long. I've been to a lot of spas as well, and this one is at the top of the list! My facial was fantastic, the staff polite and attentive and the facilities were wonderful and clean. And the ladies at the concierge were great helping us with dinner reservations twice and a recommendation for traveling out to Joshua Tree. I can't say enough! The only issue we encountered during our stay was with the Hertz car rental at the hotel, but that's a Hertz issue and not the JW's fault (it was run very poorly!). Oh and I wish the pool lounge chairs had cushions (sitting all day long on them wasn't the most comfortable), but that's really not that big of a deal. My husband and I look forward to coming back and bringing our son when he's a little older. There are plenty of activities to keep everyone happy!

Room Tip: We had a view of the miniature golf course, which was fine for us. But a pool view would have been...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindsey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny
Level Contributor
46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014

We have stayed here three times in the past ten years for business conferences. The views are amazing. The weather can't be beat. This time, however, our room was in the atrium above Starbucks. I have never stayed in a room that was so loud - I ended up downloading an app on my iPhone for white noise to block out the bar. The pools are nice, but were crowded - we needed to reserve seats early in the day. Kudos to the staff for clearing towels as the day went on though - it was refreshing to see that chairs not being utilized were freed up for guests who came later in the day.

The spa was fantastic - one of the best Swedish massages I have ever had.

Food - I have a gluten allergy. Staff initially blew me off, but once I shared that it was Celiac disease, and not a 'fad' diet, they went in the opposite direction and all that they would let me eat for the rest of the trip was grilled chicken and vegetables (oh, and fruit at breakfast). There has to be a happy medium in there somewhere!

The views cannot be beat - request a room in one of the wings overlooking the mountain (NOT the mini golf course above the atrium).

Much of my rating reflects that I loved the weather and the location. The hotel had some nice touches like fruit infused water throughout the hotel.

Room Tip: Request a room NOT in the atrium as it is excessively noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sksmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hagerstown, Maryland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014

I spent 3 nights here. Although it's a nice place, the rooms are decent, the bathrooms are great, but this is no JW Marriott. I didn't experience the Spa or Golf Course, and I'm sure they are nice, but this place shows a lot of age. My room smelled for 2 days of fresh paint. The food was alright, but not JW standards at all. It's clean, there is plenty to do on site, but if you want to have a JW Marriott experience, it won't be here.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Douglas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
71 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

I went to a conference in December. Spent an entire week at this hotel and I can guaranty, you don't need to get out of the hotel. You have everything that you need.
The pool (they have diff ones) was great. (Heated)
The landscape is amazing. They even have a boat that brings you to different parts of the resort and it finishes in the lobby of the hotel. (inside of the lobby!!)
The rooms are comfortable, you can't hear any noise from another room.
You feel like you are in another planet.
They have several shops inside the hotel. Whatever you need you have it there.
The employees are very friendly.
The sushi bar in the main lobby is amazing!!!!!
Kids friendly too. I was surprised!

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room, avoid the ones that faces the Lobby. There is always people in the lobby b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yayalola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palm Desert
0.9 mi away
The Westin Desert Willow Villas
0.3 mi away
Marriott's Desert Springs Villas II
2.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Indian Wells Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Omni Rancho Las Palmas Resort & Spa
5.5 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Rancho Mirage
5.5 mi away
La Quinta Resort & Club, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa

Property: JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa
Address: 74855 Country Club Dr, Palm Desert, CA 92260
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Desert
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Palm Desert
#4 Business Hotel in Palm Desert
#7 Family Hotel in Palm Desert
#9 Romantic Hotel in Palm Desert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 884
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to your go-to desert playground. From the moment you approach the palm-lined path leading to JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa, the excitement begins. Our Palm Desert hotel has it all, including an active lobby complete with gondolas and meandering waterways, six restaurants serving everything from fresh sushi to locally sourced culinary delights, two championship golf courses, and spacious guest rooms. After an exhilarating day of playing and exploring, you may recharge at Spa Desert Springs, or soak up the sun at any of our four pools with gorgeous views of the nearby mountains. Adding to your options are an onsite fitness center, extensive tennis center and volleyball courts, and a nearby jogging path. Our JW Marriott also features 210,000 square feet of dazzling event space for weddings and conferences. Play in style, experience JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Springs Jw Marriott Resort And Spa
Desert Springs Jw Marriott Hotel Palm Desert
Jw Marriott Palm Desert
Marriott Palm Desert
Palm Desert Marriott
Jw Marriott Desert Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing