We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not up to JW Marriott standards!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Palm Desert
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 23, 2014

We spent two nights here Presidents Day weekend and wow were we disappointed. Worn, tired and very small rooms, and if you like a Las Vegas style pool experience this is the place for you with literally hundreds of loungers (with no pads!) stacked co close together you can hardly move around. They did have a smaller pool very close to our room which was waaay over by the parking garage but on this 98% occupancy weekend of course it wasn't open! I could go on and on but the bottom line is this should not be called a JW as it is more in line with a typical Marriott resort property. The golf course was nice but due to none existent marshaling--all they do is hand out bananas--the pace of play was hideous.

We shall not return.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scottyp2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DesertSpringsJW, General Manager at JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

Thank you for taking time to review your recent visit to our resort. I am sorry to hear you were not pleased with your stay. We recently completed a significant renovation to the resort which included room upgrades, so I am disappointed to hear the room you occupied was not up to standard. Please know that I will be looking specifically into this room to better understand why we may have fallen short. I certainly appreciate your feedback and look forward to creating a quick remedy to the room. I do hope you will reconsider returning in the future so you can enjoy the luxury experience and service we are typically known for!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,309)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,254 - 1,260 of 2,309 reviews

Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

This hotel was showing its age in some area. The views from our balcony were wonderful. The staff was excellent and very friendly It was clean and well maintained but it was showing its age. The food was ok for amount prepared the lobby area was large

Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
Thank Purdueman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

We stayed at the JW for the the long President's Day weekend and had a super stay! The property is great, we did much of what they had to offer, the pools, the putting green, and the croquet course (all included in the room rate), the kids had a great time! There is also tennis, badminton and the spa that we just didn't have time for! :)

We ate at Fisherman's Landing and the Oasis and the food was good, the service fine and prices reasonable. We also stocked our mini fridge with breakfast items and snacks for the kids. As most other's have stated, the Starbucks line was always 30 people deep between 7-10am, so get there early or prepare to wait.

Overall we loved everything. We knocked a point off for housekeeping. It was actually terrible. When we checked into our room there was fresh black grease or oil spots on the carpet. The bellman called housekeeping to have them come clean it as we didn't want the kids to step in it and track it all over the room. Housekeeping never came. I had a message later in the day asking if our request had been taken care of, so I called them back and said no. They still never came. There was also someone's empty wine glasses right outside our door THE ENTIRE WEEKEND; never picked up. The next day by 5pm our room still wasn't cleaned, so I called and they said they would come sometime before 8pm. My kids normally go to sleep by 7:30pm. They were in our room when we returned from dinner around 7pm, but they only made the bed, emptied the trash and gave fresh towels. They didn't vacuum, wipe down the tables, replace the coffee packets, or clean or replace the used cups or glasses. It certainly didn't ruin our stay, since were only there two nights, but it was annoying.

I did wish that kid's club was open more than just for two, 2-hour sessions on Saturdays. We missed them both as we checked in Saturday afternoon. The kid's pool was also closed, but the 3 main pools were open and plenty. We didn't have an issue bringing snacks or water to the pool. There are tons of chairs and plenty of umbrellas.

We also loved the fire pits at night! Our room also had a water feature right outside the back balcony and the boys loved feeding the ducks, geese and swans! The property is a fun place to stay, would definitely return!

Room Tip: The rooms in the main building (attached to the lobby) are closest to everything. We stayed out by...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank owen007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014

I spent three days here for a conference and could not have been happier with the stay. This hotel definitely sets the standard for 5 star hotels. Great service, friendly staff and an incredible property. I would highly recommend this hotel for a weekend getaway or a large conference. This staff are really outstanding and make a point to say hi when simply walking by. The pool is fantastic and very large. The rooms are great and well taken care of. I went for a run around the complex and came back to the valet guy handing me a cold bottle of water as I walked up. That is the kind of service that separates the good from great! There is also a few shops on the grounds and a starbucks. There are even exotic birds in the atrium that whistle at you as you walk by pretty entertaining. The food was outstanding and over the top.

Room Tip: This is a very large complex so you can decide if you want a room close or far from the main happeni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jason1051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

The spa was perfect and well worth the $35/day/person price. There is an 18+ saltwater pool and a common area, as well as sauna, jacuzzi and 2 steam rooms for each side of men and women.

The room was a bit small, but we weren't there to sit in our room, we really wanted to lounge.

The food was great! The service was second to none, and the free Duffy boat tour was only ten minutes, but well worth the wait.

I even tried the driving range and for $15, I got unlimited balls, a set of clubs and a golf cart.

Room Tip: I saw a room priced around $300 and called the hotel to ask for AAA discounts. They had one. Same ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nima_kharrazi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Just got back from the Desert Springs Marriott. It is a beautiful hotel and the grounds are amazing. You would think you were in Hawaii as you look out over the view of the pool, palm trees and golf course. The rooms were a nice size and includes robes in the closet. The only negative is the shower is so small you can hardly turn around. It reminded me of the showers on a cruise ship. I thought it was odd because the room is a good size and we had a balcony overlooking the lagoon and pool. There is a boat that will take you around for a ride, corny but fun. The boat leaves from a dock in the lobby and you go out through huge glass doors. There is a Starbuck coffee concession in the lobby, but when I went there in the morning the line was about 20 minutes long. Roomservice was good and prompt, food was average. There are serveral pools, so there was no lack of lounge chairs. Golf was great and the course is in good shape. Not too much water or sand. Overall, one of the nicest hotels in Palm Desert.

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the lagoon or pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beachlfe4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014

From the first experience checking, getting a fabulous room view (over the lake, pools and seeing the mountains), to my spa (best facial ever), to how the catering people were so attentive during an event dinner, this Marriott is one of the best for conference work and for relaxing.

Room Tip: Mountain and lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leslie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palm Desert
0.9 mi away
The Westin Desert Willow Villas
2.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Indian Wells Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Marriott's Desert Springs Villas II
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Omni Rancho Las Palmas Resort & Spa
5.5 mi away
La Quinta Resort & Club, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
5.5 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Rancho Mirage
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa

Address: 74855 Country Club Dr, Palm Desert, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92260
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Desert
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Palm Desert
#4 Business Hotel in Palm Desert
#6 Family Hotel in Palm Desert
#9 Romantic Hotel in Palm Desert
Price Range: $224 - $581 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 884
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to your go-to desert playground at JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa. From the moment you approach the palm-lined path leading to our resort in Palm Desert, California, the excitement begins. Our hotel near Palm Springs has it all, including an active lobby complete with gondolas and meandering waterways, six restaurants serving everything from fresh sushi to locally sourced culinary delights, two championship golf courses, and spacious guest rooms. After an exhilarating day of playing and exploring, you may recharge at Spa Desert Springs, or soak up the sun at any of our four pools with gorgeous views of the nearby mountains. Adding to your options are an onsite fitness center, extensive tennis center and volleyball courts, and a nearby jogging path. JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa also features 210,000 square feet of dazzling event space for weddings and conferences. Play in style, experience our resort today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Springs Jw Marriott Resort And Spa
Desert Springs Jw Marriott Hotel Palm Desert
Jw Marriott Palm Desert
Marriott Palm Desert
Palm Desert Marriott
Jw Marriott Desert Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing