We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“mothers and daughters” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa
Ranked #6 of 22 Hotels in Palm Desert
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“mothers and daughters”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

Family members have Intrawest membership at the site and we were using it for a family get-together..3 generations!.. What a blast in a fabulous place.. we booked a 'mothers and daughters' spa date while the guys went golfing at the attached golf course all day. We were pampered and spoiled as we all enjoyed our 'treatments' and then the spa put on a fabulous lunch at a special reserved table for the 6 of us, 3 granddaughters, my daughter , daughter-in-law and myself.. The afternoon continued with luxurious poolside lounging overlooking the course for the rest of the afternoon. A very special day, as we all live in different cities, so it was wonderful to have the time to share

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marilee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DesertSpringsJW, General Manager at JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing your experience – we loved hearing about your generational family gathering at our property! It sounds like you were able to enjoy some of the top amenities the resort has to offer, and as a Senior TripAdvisor Contributor, we know you have high standards in your hospitality experiences. We are honored to have been able to host your family for this very special get-together, and that your expectations were exceeded during your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,984 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    846
    605
    284
    155
    94
See reviews for
439
566
43
523
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (551)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Forest, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stay almost exclusively with the Marriott chain, and this was our first stay at a JW Marriott resort. I read the reviews on this hotel, and I was a little concerned about it's "party" reputation. It seems that the worst reviews for this Resort occur around a holiday. I booked the "Spa Getaway" package for one night, and breakfast for two, and a king room with a "Signature View." We arrived over three hours early, on a Saturday, but Daniel as able to check us in early. He got us a room with a wonderful view of the resort and San Jacinto Mountain in the distance. We had the opportunity to have lunch in the Rockwood Grill, appetizers in the Lobby Bar, dinner at Mikado's, a teppan style restaurant, and then a buffet breakfast at Rockwood Grill.

Our stay exceeded our expectations! The grounds were well kept, the staff was friendly and helpful, the room was great, and the room view was to die for. Was the resort crowded? Yes. Was the young crowd there to have a good time? Yes. But, we were able to avoid the crowds when we wanted to. The night life definitely starts after sundown. If you wish a quiet stay, I suggest requesting a room away from the pool side of the hotel. That is where the "action" is, so to speak. The quieter side of the hotel is on the Rockwood Grill side. The covered parking structure is on that side as well.

Room Tip: If you wish a quiet stay, I suggest requesting a room away from the pool side of the hotel. That is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StevieB92630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dingle, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

Just back this evening from a one night stay with friends in their villa. Absolutely wonderful one-bedroom ground-floor villa with a studio 'lock-off'. Everything working perfectly from the fold-out sofa bed to the dishwasher. The lay-out and decor are well above standard - comfort and quality all around. The best impressions I got were from the hotel itself - the pool area is wonderful - and the staff are professional and genuinely friendly - especially a pool-side server, Kyle, who's sound character and welcoming manner made us smile (and order more haha) and Jonathan, a manager, who likewise enhanced the holiday and certainly increased my confidence in the resort as a whole.

Note: the guacamole was excellent - and the attractive ice-water dispensers placed within easy reach of any poolside position were a definite day-save factor - it was wicked hot today..

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank diana m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights, the first being a Saturday. Unfortunately, the Saturday we stayed the hotel was more like Las Vegas than Palm Desert. The hotel, which is big, was heaving. We had to wait 30 minutes for a room, which wasn't ideal. We were told our room only needed a final inspection and we could get our keys, and to check back in 15 mins. Went back after 20 and was told room still not ready and the receptionist pointed out that as we were trying to check in 45 minutes early (i.e. at 3.15pm) what do we expect!! As about 30 other people were checking in at the same time we were expecting a room in the same way that others were getting theirs. After politely reminding her that there were plenty of other hotels in the vicinity she miraculously found a room instantly. The rest of the day resembled being an extra in a Hangover film, mainly due to the numerous hen parties whose only purpose was to get as drunk as possible as quickly as possible in the bars and restaurants. I guess we're getting old! We were disturbed again when they staggered back to their rooms in the early hours.

Sunday was better, particularly in the morning when they were sleeping off the alcohol and we were left with a much smaller number of guests, other couples and families.

Monday was the best day as the resort was really quiet.

The food was OK, but considerably overpriced. We went on a package with $100 credit per night but this did not include alcohol and did not go far on their prices.

The grounds were immaculate, but the swimming pools and sun beds looked dated. The main pool area was also full of sunbeds such that there was very little space. The main pool also had music blaring out on the Saturday until 6pm.

The hotel, as said before, is really big and whilst they have tried to hide the fact it is just a cheap concrete construction, they didn't do as well as they could, because that's what it is.

We went for a peaceful get away from it all break, which we eventually got but the Saturday was very disappointing and I'm surprised this hotel wants to attract the party crowd.

If we had rated this on Sunday morning it would have been terrible. By Sunday night it was poor and the fact that Monday was quiet meant it got an average. We won't be returning.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Polargirl67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
448 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

I stay at JW marriotts all over the world . Thought this would be a great place to stop for the nite heading back to the airport .

Great grounds , location , etc but no executive suite for platinum members , and the room was a disappointment .

I had a "pull out from the wall " bed , no stocked refrigerator , and the room service dining was not good. Food was cold , they did not have many scotch's and it took over an hour to get .

I love the j w Marriott chain but I will not come back to this one . They should have paid me to stay here .

I would not recommend this location .

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DesertSpringsJW, General Manager at JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you for taking time to submit your review. As a Top Contributor with TripAdvisor and a frequent Marriott customer, we know you are an avid traveler and have high standards in your hospitality experiences. We strive to provide a premier experience for our guests, and all feedback helps us continue to work towards that goal. I will share your suggestions on how to improve the experience – particularly for Platinum members – with my team. I hope you will consider returning and giving us another opportunity to provide you with the type of experience we are typically known for centered on fabulous service and luxury!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California, USA
Level Contributor
72 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

A gargantuan sprawling resort with stunning mountain views. This is an Audubon sanctuary with diverse wildlife, which eased my conscience about the usage of water to create monumental surrounding lakes, greens, and foliage. Rooms are spacious but dull, so it is worth the effort or even money to get a higher-floor room with mountain views. Otherwise you are apt to feel trapped in a Dinah Shore tranquilizing chamber with annoyingly large popcorn nodes on the ceiling. With 12 days logged here, I testify to an outstandingly helpful staff for all needs. Fitness center closes at 6 pm most days. Four stars only because the resort is not worth it without a view.

Room Tip: Mountain side on the far wings, pool views even on upper floors are iffy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Biernacki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DesertSpringsJW, General Manager at JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you for taking time to submit your review. While we did update our rooms recently in a $25 million renovation, I’m sorry to hear they did not meet your expectations. I’m very pleased to hear you enjoyed the beauty of the resort during your extended stay with us, and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

A wonderful place to stay. Beautiful grounds. Very helpful staff. The only issue was that the pools are hot, feels more like a Jacuzzi tub. They could also use double the umbrellas in the pool area, especially since you can't cool down in the water. Other than this a great place!

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper choose the second floor. Also the only reason to give a lower rating o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alltraveler333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palm Desert
0.8 mi away
The Westin Desert Willow Villas
0.3 mi away
Marriott's Desert Springs Villas II
2.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency Indian Wells Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Omni Rancho Las Palmas Resort & Spa
5.5 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Rancho Mirage
The Ritz-Carlton, Rancho Mirage
#2 of 8 in Rancho Mirage
4.5 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
5.5 mi away
La Quinta Resort & Club, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa

Property: JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa
Address: 74855 Country Club Dr, Palm Desert, CA 92260-1961
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Desert
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Palm Desert
#4 Business Hotel in Palm Desert
#7 Family Hotel in Palm Desert
#9 Romantic Hotel in Palm Desert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 884
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to your go-to desert playground. From the moment you approach the palm-lined path leading to JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa, the excitement begins. Our Palm Desert hotel has it all, including an active lobby complete with gondolas and meandering waterways, six restaurants serving everything from fresh sushi to locally sourced culinary delights, two championship golf courses, and spacious guest rooms. After an exhilarating day of playing and exploring, you may recharge at Spa Desert Springs, or soak up the sun at any of our four pools with gorgeous views of the nearby mountains. Adding to your options are an onsite fitness center, extensive tennis center and volleyball courts, and a nearby jogging path. Our JW Marriott also features 210,000 square feet of dazzling event space for weddings and conferences. Play in style, experience JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Odigeo, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Springs Jw Marriott Resort And Spa
Desert Springs Jw Marriott Hotel Palm Desert
Jw Marriott Palm Desert
Marriott Palm Desert
Palm Desert Marriott
Jw Marriott Desert Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing