We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely loved this hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa
Ranked #6 of 22 Hotels in Palm Desert
Certificate of Excellence
Middlesex
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Absolutely loved this hotel.”
Reviewed June 6, 2008

What a wonderful hotel. From the minute you arrive at the hotel be prepared to be pampered and looked after. There is so much to see and do in the hotel alone. All the rooms are beautiful. The hotel is one of the best hotels I have stayed in for pampering and sheer luxury.

Be warned weekends are very busy and tend to be hen/stag weekends. Apart from the noise it was a lively and fun place to be at. The pools are beautiful and if you can get over the fact that it is very very hot in Palm Springs the pool is a very welcoming place to be. We tended to hide at the quiet pool where shade and peace was had by all. Waiter service is excellent and they cannot do enough for you. The restaurants and bars are all very friendly and we have not one complaint.

  • Liked — Beautiful grounds, amazing restaurants, great service, great staff, VIP service 100%
  • Disliked — Having to pay $20.00 a day for the use of the pool/ carpark. Should be part of your stay
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank FlowerGirl04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    939
    664
    317
    161
    104
See reviews for
492
632
47
575
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (617)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Irvine, CA
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2008

My wife and I went to the JW Marriott for our 1 year anniversary last weekend. We had such an amazing time from the time we walked through the door. We stayed there about 3 years ago and had a great time then as well. Since then they have completely remodled the lobby area, which was already very impressive. Right when you walk through the door there are fresh flowers in the lobby that smell wonderful. The staff was great, we were able to check in early and fully enjoy the property right away. The room was all remodled with flat screen TV and pillow top bed, really nice for a standard room. The pool area is a blast at the JW Palm Desert. It is a bit of a scene, if you are not ready for that there are two other pools that are much quieter. We has a blast at the pool everyday we were there, it really competes with any pool scene in Vegas. The spa has been remodled as well and had great treatments. Overall, we had such a great time and were sad to leave. We will be back with all of our friends very soon!

  • Liked — Great atmosphere and overall great stay
  • Disliked — leaving
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Darrin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2008

I had a great experience at this hotel for a business convention. I was upgraded to a nice room on the 7th floor overlooking the pool, with a dramatic view of the mountains. Most fluffy, comfortable bed EVER, with clean sheets. The largest hotel bathroom I've ever seen with separate bathtub and shower with the largest shower head ever. No noise from neighboring rooms. Dramatic lobby with friendly service. Attentive concierge. Lakeside Restaurant was pretty, but food was mediocre. I would come back here with my husband for a romantic getaway, but might avoid spring break, based on other review.

  • Liked — Great pool scene, comfortable room
  • Disliked — Need car to get to other attractions - nothing is walkable
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank AmieeandJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, CA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2008

I took my son for another one of our mini-vacations in the desert, and while he had a good time, and the bed was fantastic, overall I wasn't too thrilled with the value for the money. I paid full price for our room - $229 plus the resort fee and taxes. The room was at the far end of one of the buildings, and it was extremely quiet as opposed to some of the other reviewers' experiences. The room was quite nice, as was the patio. The flat screen tv was a nice touch but it had no kids channels so it was pretty useless for us.

We arrived on Friday night and wanted to go for a swim. I was kind of lost, and the signs were lousy, so ended up at the pool on the far side of the resort, where the Kids Kamp is located. This pool was old and badly in need of a resurfacing job. The hot tub within this area was lukewarm - I had to get out after awhile because I was too cold!

Dinner that night at the LakeView was very good, and I down a couple of decent martinis while my son enjoyed his kids meal.

Next morning we went for a swim at 7am in the main pool which was much nicer than the one from the previous night, but still nothing special compared to the Esmeralda or the Hyatt Grand Champions. Afterward we had breakfast, again in the LakeView, and the buffet was quite good.

My son really wanted to ride on a boat but they only run for a couple hours a day, later in the afternoon.

We didn't see too many hotel employees while we were there, and it was pretty empty being a non-holiday Friday night/Saturday morning.

This was a so-so experience. We won't stay here again.

  • Liked — Close to the Living Desert
  • Disliked — Marriott tried to sell you something (time shares, houses, artwork) around every corner!
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank sherimba03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 28, 2008

My wife and I stayed at this resort over Memorial Day weekend- big mistake. Its an enormous, beautiful hotel but absolutely packed with people. There were security guards at every entrance and half-dozen Palm Desert police officers patrolling the grounds for the whole weekend. In fact, after having been there for only a couple of hours, we saw two twenty-something year olds being taken away in handcuffs courtesy of local police. The night club, Costas, keeps the action going late night also so be prepared for a raucous night that keeps the noise in the hallways and outside going until 2am. and good luck getting any poolside chairs either of these weekend days -we ended up on a second tier piece of pavement (away fm the pool) with a view of the lucky ones who were sitting poolside.

  • Liked — views
  • Disliked — noise
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank seeker1California
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach/Los Angeles
Level Contributor
119 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2008

I was a winner on a radio contest and received a free four day/three night stay. I arrived for this trip with two other friends and we all shared a room. Since I had won the free stay we couldn't be picky about our room. We were on the fourth floor in the area overlooking the lake between the spa area and the main pool complex (the building that houses the Japanese reataurant). It was very nice. Yes it's a long walk from the lobby, but tis is a mega-resort, not a basic hotel. The lobby is not to be missed. A five story tall atrium full of tall troical plants, birds and an indoor/outdoor lake. A bost/shuttle can transoprt you between the lobby and the Japanese restaurant, nearest to our room at one end, and the other end which features the Italian restaurant. The room itself was very nice and all we needed, who spends all their time in the room anyway. The main pool complex is fun and I believe has three pools, a very large abstact main pool, a lap pool, and a third. Plus there are a couple of large hottubs. During the day there was a calypso band/dj playing and a walk-up bar area. The other pools are more secluded in the other wing of the hotel and much more quiet. We enjoyed a lot of time between the two. My only problem the entire stay was I had a distinctive beach towel I loved and after hanging it over our balcony railing to dry one day it vanished. I reported it but it was never found. Dining was never a problem as you can choose from ither the finer restaurants or the many other casual eateries available. There are many pleasant "misters" used in the patio areas for the hot summer days. Upon first arriving the deak staff was very helpful in helping you find, or even taking you to your room since this place is the size of a mall. Once there and settled we never were lost. On-site the amenenties do cost you a bit, like most hotels do. The spacharges various rates depending on what you want. As does the nightly disco/club. We were near the club as well as a boat dock but never were disturbed by noise. Golf, for those of you who do, can be arranged directly through the hotel and the nearest couse is right across the lake. The PS aerial tramway and other sightseeing are short drives. Overall we found it a great getaway and almost hated to leave.

  • Liked — Overall scope, pool areas, ambience
  • Disliked — Pay-as-you-go for some ammenities
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beachkidboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2008

Me and my DH visited this resort for a weekend getaway. Let me start by saying we travel a lot and are not very picky, however, we felt that were just too many things that we were dissapointed with at the JW that we had decided that we wouldn't return.
First I'll start with the Pros:
Lobby is beautiful! We thought that the boats that took you from/to the restaurants and gave you hotel tours was a nice touch. For some reason we weren't charged the resort fee, or for parking (definately didn't ask, didn't complain about that)! Great variety of restaurants/bars to choose from. We ate at the sushi bar and at Tuscany, both which we thought were great! The bathrooms in the rooms were very nice and updated, and the water pressure was AWESOME! Housekeeping did a good job and showed up early every morning. Pool service was good and timely with food and drinks! Service was generally great in all aspects of the hotel.

Now the Cons:
Our room was very musty and smelled of smoke. We couldn't leave the sliding door open to air it out because we'd get more moths then we already had in the room! The room was what felt like a MILE from the elevators - everything seems to be a long walk. Opened up our sheets on our first night to find fresh lipstick and makeup all over the pillows, shams, and bedsheets! This just told us that they never bothered to change the sheets which was disgusting, but they responded very quickly with our phone call and we had fresh bed linens within 15 mins of our complaint. The rooms are veryyy dated, apart from the bathrooms and the bed itself, all of the furniture and wall art seems like it's there from when they built the hotel in the 1800's! Turndown was non-exsistant, they would leave 2 bottles of water in the room and not TOUCH anything else - didn't take our dirty towels, didn't fix up the bed, we really wouldn't even know they had been in there had we not seen the water and daily schedule they'd left on top of the messy bed. No wireless internet in the room - you have to plug in. Very few channels on the TV. You can hear EVERYTHING through the walls, we were on the 6th floor and could hear the drunks in the pools at 2am as if they were sitting right next to us. We were up an entire night with a mixture of that and security walking our halls with their walkie-talkies constantly going off. The walls are VERY thin and not good for the light sleeper.

All in all we were lucky we were there on a significantly discounted associate rate - because I can't imagine paying full price for a hotel like that. If your plans are to just enjoy the resort and resort amenities and stay out of your room then it could be okay. I still wouldn't say it's up to par from what you'd expect at a JW!

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank poonie1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palm Desert
0.9 mi away
The Westin Desert Willow Villas
2.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Indian Wells Resort & Spa
2.7 mi away
Omni Rancho Las Palmas Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Marriott's Desert Springs Villas II
5.5 mi away
La Quinta Resort & Club, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
5.5 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Rancho Mirage
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa

Property: JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa
Address: 74855 Country Club Dr, Palm Desert, CA 92260-1961
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Desert
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Palm Desert
#4 Business Hotel in Palm Desert
#7 Family Hotel in Palm Desert
#9 Romantic Hotel in Palm Desert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 884
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to your go-to desert playground. From the moment you approach the palm-lined path leading to JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa, the excitement begins. Our Palm Desert hotel has it all, including an active lobby complete with gondolas and meandering waterways, six restaurants serving everything from fresh sushi to locally sourced culinary delights, two championship golf courses, and spacious guest rooms. After an exhilarating day of playing and exploring, you may recharge at Spa Desert Springs, or soak up the sun at any of our four pools with gorgeous views of the nearby mountains. Adding to your options are an onsite fitness center, extensive tennis center and volleyball courts, and a nearby jogging path. Our JW Marriott also features 210,000 square feet of dazzling event space for weddings and conferences. Play in style, experience JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Marriott, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotel.de, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Springs Jw Marriott Hotel Palm Desert
Desert Springs Jw Marriott Resort And Spa
Jw Marriott Palm Desert
Marriott Palm Desert
Palm Desert Marriott
Jw Marriott Desert Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing