We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful gem in the desert” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa
Ranked #6 of 22 Hotels in Palm Desert
Certificate of Excellence
Redlands, California, United States
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful gem in the desert”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

The Desert Springs JW Marriott Resort is a hidden oasis in the desert. It's a total surprise and beautifully designed. They treated my wife and I so nicely on our wedding anniversary! The hotel staff are very welcoming, helpful and friendly. The Mikado restaurant is highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,084 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    896
    638
    295
    157
    98
See reviews for
462
599
47
550
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (582)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sunny Southern California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

This expansive resort is one of Marriott’s finest creation’s with Golf on the premises, shopping and great restaurants nearby.

One of my pet peeves with Marriot in general is the “parking fee” (not valet, where you park your own vehicle) and Wi-Fi fees. Neither one of these fees cost the hotel anything and in fact at least one of them were free up until recently. The new “resort fee” now encompasses these made up charges and are bundled into that. I guess I can live with that since it wasn’t long ago that the resort fee was added to those other charges too! I still contend that Marriott should consider that there are a lot a fabulous hotels in the area that include those features at no charge.

Enough of my high horse. Our stay was fabulous (typical for this hotel) with great rooms, quite stays and excellent customer service. One thing to consider is that this is what I would consider a mega resort and as such, children, especially small children, can get lost here very easily.

There are multiple pools, multiple hot tubs (Jacuzzi’s), multiple restaurants on site. Many Major high end restaurants (like LG’s, Ruth’s Chris Steak house, etc.) are within a 10-15 minute drive. Even Morton’s is across the street but don’t get me wrong. There are plenty of nice restaurants on the premises.

Beds are firm, rooms are large, bathrooms are big enough for two comfortably. I would definitely stay here again, especially at the 2.5 star price I paid (plus the resort fee).

Room Tip: We stayed in the Atrium, which we expected to be very loud. Turned out it was not. I would assume an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nativecal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DesertSpringsJW, General Manager at JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you for taking time to review your stay at our resort. I am thrilled to hear that your experience was so positive! We are pleased to be able to offer amenities like our 18-hole mini golf course as part of the resort fee to increase its value, and we appreciate your feedback in regards to this fee, as well. Customer service is a primary focus of the JW Marriott brand, so I am very happy to hear you felt you received excellent customer service. We look forward to welcoming you back sometime in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moreno Valley, California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

There is a difference between a regular Marriott and a JW Marriott. This is my 3rd JW I have stayed at in my travels and the experience and service is just wonderful. You can see and feel the difference. All the rooms here have large size balconies with great views. This very large resort spans over lakes and gardens and golf courses. With four pools spread out through out the resort so you can always find room to relax and swim. All the food at the restaurants on site was top notch. They have a daily schedule of activites to keep you busy and movies and snacks poolside some nights. No complaints here, can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

The JW Marriott is the perfect weekend getaway! From the moment we drove up to valet park our car and the valet offered us ice cold water we found the staff friendly, professional and very attentive. The lobby of the hotel is impressive and offers a Starbucks, a sushi bar, and a spacious lounge and bar area. Our room was nicely decorated and had a comfortable sitting area with a couch and table. The only slight negative we had about the resort was due to the high heat (nearly 110 degrees during the day) our air conditioner was sufficient, but could have kept the room a little colder. There are several large, gorgeous swimming pools and we liked that one was called the "tranquility pool" for a quieter atmosphere. I would highly recommend this hotel for outstanding service and amenities!

Room Tip: If you go during the hot, summer months I would recommend you request a room on one of the lower flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MZTTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Desert
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

Horrible. Lies, bad service & unwillingness to accept being wrong are the reasons this place gets slammed. It's a Marriott and an old dated one at that. The rooms haven't been remodeled since the 80's, the property is disgusting at best and management doesn't even have a GED mentality. Sorry,but this place will rip you off & laugh while doing it, then call the cops. Like I said, horrible. Don't stay here. Hyatt & Esmerelda much better.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matthew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DesertSpringsJW, General Manager at JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback about our property. The rooms were actually renovated last year, so I’m disappointed to hear you felt they were substandard. We strive to provide a premier luxury experience with top-notch customer service. If there was some way specifically you would like to share with me about why you felt you did not receive value in your stay, please call me at 760-862-1586. We continually look to serve both locals and visitors with the best possible experience in hospitality, spa services and dining!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

Loved the place from the moment we pulled in. The entire staff, and we mean entire staff, was professional yet so friendly. Check in was great. We golfed, enjoyed the pool and lots of quiet time relaxing in the gorgeous Lobby Bar. Beautiful place.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arizona828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
302 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

This property used to be grand. Location awesome, grounds nice. Many restaurants. Used to be the grand dame of Palm Springs, now is getting very old. Needs a facelift, some implants and lots of service.
Stayed there over the Memorial Day weekend and I would say that service was lacking big time. On a busy weekend service was absent

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TonicTravelAmeniti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DesertSpringsJW, General Manager at JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you for taking time to review your stay at our property. The resort underwent a $25 million renovation last year, so I am sorry to hear you felt it is outdated. As a Senior Contributor with TripAdvisor, we know you are a seasoned traveler and appreciate your feedback. Customer service is at the core of the JW Marriott brand, so your experience certainly is atypical of what we strive to offer our guests. If you wish to further discuss your experience, please do not hesitate to call me at 760-862-1586. We hope to welcome you back sometime and offer you the type of 5-star experience we are known for in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palm Desert
0.8 mi away
The Westin Desert Willow Villas
0.3 mi away
Marriott's Desert Springs Villas II
2.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency Indian Wells Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Rancho Mirage
The Ritz-Carlton, Rancho Mirage
#2 of 8 in Rancho Mirage
4.5 of 5 bubbles 981 reviews
5.5 mi away
La Quinta Resort & Club, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
2.8 mi away
Omni Rancho Las Palmas Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa

Property: JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa
Address: 74855 Country Club Dr, Palm Desert, CA 92260
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Desert
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Palm Desert
#4 Business Hotel in Palm Desert
#7 Family Hotel in Palm Desert
#9 Romantic Hotel in Palm Desert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 884
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to your go-to desert playground. From the moment you approach the palm-lined path leading to JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa, the excitement begins. Our Palm Desert hotel has it all, including an active lobby complete with gondolas and meandering waterways, six restaurants serving everything from fresh sushi to locally sourced culinary delights, two championship golf courses, and spacious guest rooms. After an exhilarating day of playing and exploring, you may recharge at Spa Desert Springs, or soak up the sun at any of our four pools with gorgeous views of the nearby mountains. Adding to your options are an onsite fitness center, extensive tennis center and volleyball courts, and a nearby jogging path. Our JW Marriott also features 210,000 square feet of dazzling event space for weddings and conferences. Play in style, experience JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Springs Jw Marriott Resort And Spa
Desert Springs Jw Marriott Hotel Palm Desert
Jw Marriott Palm Desert
Marriott Palm Desert
Palm Desert Marriott
Jw Marriott Desert Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing