We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great facility, excellent customer service.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Palm Desert
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 31, 2013

We attended a software conference May 19-24. Total attendance at the conference was in excess of 1,200 people (plus many who brought children). The check in was very easy even though there were long lines. The staff was quick, friendly, and kept the lines moving. Rooms were a little dated but very clean. The broad-bank internet was fantastic, no problems at all. Free wi-fi throughout the facility was a bonus.

The food for the conference was excellent. Food was at the correct temperature and the selection was aways varied and fresh. Meals were on time and plentiful.

Meeting rooms were setup on time and the audio/visual services were great. We had numerous workshops and power sessions and everyone was complimenting the event staff for a job well done.

There are several restaurants at the facility. While folks may think the food is overpriced, when you consider that you don't have to leave to eat and the servers aim to please no matter what.. After 4 days of over the top food at the conference, our last night we just wanted a hamburger and it wasn't on the menu at the place we selected. Our server said no problem and she delivered big time with the best bacon-cheeseburger we ever had. No problem to us but she made our last evening at the resort memorable.

If you bring children (or if you want to just enjoy a boat ride), there are motor launches that will take you around to see the flamingos, swans, ducks, and other water birds. Between 5 and 6 in the evening, you can get complimentary tours.

We look forward to returning for another conference.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MangoRita80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DesertSpringsJW, General Manager at JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

Thank you for taking time to share so many aspects of your stay with us! We are thrilled to hear your experience was so positive. As a Top Contributor with TripAdvisor, you are certainly a seasoned traveler and have quite a spectrum of experiences which set the bar for your reviews. It’s so very nice to hear that you enjoyed all the resort’s amenities as well as exceptional customer service during your conference stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,294)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,412 - 1,418 of 2,294 reviews

Reviewed May 31, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for a long weekend getaway. As a Marriott Platinum, I have high standards when it comes to hotels. Staff was fabulous. Pool makes you feel like your in Vegas. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone coming to the area. The grounds are beautiful and there is enough at the hotel that if you want you don't need to leave. However, Palm Desert itself is a great destination. As an east coast person, it reminds me of a west coast Naples, FL. This is the place to get away for a few days if you want to stay at a place that gets it right.

Room Tip: All rooms are nice. Some are far away, I got one near the atrium. More seclusion down the hall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SNG55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Thehotel is excellent. Clean, friendly, great ammenities, but the real catch here is the staff. They go out of their way to greet you, offer assistance, etc. Never do they look away or look at the floor as you pass them in the halls and lobby's. They always greet you and often anticipate what you may need (was offered a bottled water by the bell hop when I got back from a 4 mile morning walk) Hat's off to the staff -- YOU make this place special.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JFSoccerCoach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DesertSpringsJW, General Manager at JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

Thank you for taking time to share about your exceptional experience at our property! Customer service is a top priority for us here at JW Marriott Desert Springs, and we are so thrilled to hear when that is truly resonating with guests and making their stay so pleasant. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

The hotel is clean and well maintained, with nice rooms of slightly larger than average size and standard amenities. The pools are great- clean, large, well staffed. The spa is a delight, the services are well priced, the staff is professional and getting full day use of the spa pool further validates the price of services.
The property is large and fairly isolated from downtown Palm Springs making dining in the hotel the most convenient option, though after one night we quickly decided it was worth the price of a cab to venture further afield. The restaurants are overpriced and the food is average.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a view of the pools- you'll also have a mountain view that way.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mcgoldrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

Palm Desert is a magnificent location for this resort. The valley is surrounded by mountains and the grounds are breathtaking. The lagoon is full of swans and geese and the pool is immense with two hot tubs. The food at breakfast and dinner was excellent and we attended a massive barbecue one night. The trip up the tram to the top of the mountain is great. Downtown Palm Springs is a great place to eat and shop.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DickSNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

I was kind of nervous bringing my three young children on memorial day weekend here since it is definitely a high-end hotel and read that it gets packed on holiday weekends but we really enjoyed our stay here. The staff was incredibly family-friendly and courteous. We actually received one of the best compliments here from a staff-member. When my husband complimented him on the wonderful hospitality, the staff member replied that without us they were nothing... and he was genuine.

It's tricky to have both party-minded singles and kid-oriented families in one hotel and have everyone be happy- but they managed it. From the signs on the hotel floors to be considerate of sleeping guests, to the carefully orchestrated music playing at the pool. They also have a family pool next to a kid's club and kid drop-off which I thought was really nice although pricey ($25 per child, siblings $15 for two-hours). It's nice to have it there so parents can get a break.

The grounds are absolutely beautiful and there is so much to do- from riding the gondola, to hanging out in the lobby or outdoor shops. You really don't need to leave. We ate at the Fisherman's landing which was ok, but it's probably the most affordable meal around. They have snack bars both at the main pool and family pool which were reasonably priced.

Overall, this hotel completely sold me on JW's even though we are Marriott timeshare owners. I would definitely do this again- we were only here for one night and that was enough for us since the rooms are small and uncomfortable for five of us. But really, there are so many places to hang out at the hotel that you don't really want to be in your room. Great place.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angellovestotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

It’s an overpriced three star hotel. I expected way more for $300 per night plus resort fees and all other charges. You will not find any luxury in this resort. Our room (number 2010) had a Popcorn Ceiling, cracked molding and very dirty old carpet with an old room smell. The air-conditioning is outdated. I could hear it all night turning on and off. The hallways and a lot of common areas are old and outdated. Plastic broken chairs without cushions in the pool. The pool is overcrowded with heavily tattooed 20 year olds. You have to be in the pool before 8 AM to get a plastic broken chair. The people were standing in the pool with beers and drinks. I did not enjoy staying there and will not return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natasha332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palm Desert
0.9 mi away
The Westin Desert Willow Villas
2.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Indian Wells Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Marriott's Desert Springs Villas II
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Omni Rancho Las Palmas Resort & Spa
5.5 mi away
La Quinta Resort & Club, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
5.5 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Rancho Mirage
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa

Address: 74855 Country Club Dr, Palm Desert, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92260
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Desert
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Palm Desert
#4 Business Hotel in Palm Desert
#7 Family Hotel in Palm Desert
#9 Romantic Hotel in Palm Desert
Price Range: $237 - $552 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 884
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to your go-to desert playground at JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa. From the moment you approach the palm-lined path leading to our resort in Palm Desert, California, the excitement begins. Our hotel near Palm Springs has it all, including an active lobby complete with gondolas and meandering waterways, six restaurants serving everything from fresh sushi to locally sourced culinary delights, two championship golf courses, and spacious guest rooms. After an exhilarating day of playing and exploring, you may recharge at Spa Desert Springs, or soak up the sun at any of our four pools with gorgeous views of the nearby mountains. Adding to your options are an onsite fitness center, extensive tennis center and volleyball courts, and a nearby jogging path. JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa also features 210,000 square feet of dazzling event space for weddings and conferences. Play in style, experience our resort today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Springs Jw Marriott Resort And Spa
Desert Springs Jw Marriott Hotel Palm Desert
Jw Marriott Palm Desert
Marriott Palm Desert
Palm Desert Marriott
Jw Marriott Desert Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing