We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Resort. Great Overall Service and Facilities”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa
Ranked #6 of 22 Hotels in Palm Desert
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
684 reviews
159 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 249 helpful votes
“Nice Resort. Great Overall Service and Facilities”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Spent 3 nights here last week for a conference and I found the hotel to be excellent in almost every respect. The staff is wonderful from the Valet guys to the Room Service staff. During the week the hotel was filled with business people and had a very relaxing and calm feel. Come Friday the weekend crowd started checking in and the atmosphere changed dramatically with more party types at the pool and consequently much more noise both outside and in the hallways.
There is a Starbucks in the lobby and a very good sushi bar in the lobby as well. Nice selection of restaurants and a good fitness room round out this place. I enjoyed it and would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bccrab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    959
    669
    318
    163
    104
See reviews for
504
638
47
579
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (628)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 25, 2013

I am reviewing both Expedia and the JW Marriott-
- Expedia will pad their price by charging an absurd "fee" at the "taxes and fees" section. If you see that the tax charged is more than the ~9% CA tax, they are cheating and padding your fees.
Expedia told me that this is because the resort charges for 1) Air Conditioning and upkeep 2) State and city tax (of 20% really??).
Long story short, the hotel denies that they charge for AC and upkeep and say they are not responsible for what expedia charges ( the hotel also charges extra resort fee of $27/day by the way) I was aslo told by expedia that they block rooms at a discounted rate and if they buy a bunch of full bed rooms, you may think you are booking a King room, but you are in fact booking whatever rooms expedia bought from the hotel. Read the fine print on expedia before booking - apparently they state "based on availability" or something like that.
So, if you are planning on having a romantic getaway with a husband/wife, do not be surprised if you end up sleeping separately if you book with expedia. The hotel will always give first choice to guests who booked directly.
The resort itself - The staff of the hotel is mostly unprofessional, especially for a place that charges ~$300/night - "JW Marriott brand". The restaurants are OK, the pool is alright and honestly, this place needs to stop doing business with third-party shyster like Expedia, renovate its outdated and dirty rooms and offer training to its staff on hospitality and customer service. Such a disappointingly overrated place.

Room Tip: DO NOT BOOK WITH EXPEDIA - you will not get the room you booked. Your "taxes and fees" ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kebe1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We stayed for spring break. Great hotel with all the activities and amenities you could ask for. Very close to El Paseo shopping and dining too. The staff was fantastic; they really do cater to your every need and make you feel special. The dining options within the resort were great. I really appreciated the fridge in our room which allowed us to store our own items purchased from Ralph's across the street. We will most definitely be back again. Pure heaven, already thinking about when I can visit again.

Room Tip: Ask for mountain/golf course view. We stayed in the further reaches of hotel and it was absolute hea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MonicaEM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerrville, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Great service and amenities but everything is over priced. What the heck, I guess we all need to splurge a little. I was even able to rent a pair of size 14 golf shoes when I decided to add an unplanned round on the resort Valley Course. The Dessert area is a nice place to visit when it's cold everywhere else buy I could not live out here.

Room Tip: Ask for something within 100 yards of the elevators, the halls are surprisingly long
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simi Valley, California
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

This was just an overnight stay. But the service and the resort are what Marriott is about.

I highly recommend staying here. We a room overlooking the pool and a great view of the mountains. Marriott employees always make you feel at home where ever you go.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank daveandlidia070585
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Mi
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

This is a unique property. It has an on property lake that comes inside the property close to the inside of the center of the hotel where in the evening you can grab a small boat and go to one of the restaurants on property. Very nice eating on property of different types. Nightclub also. There are ducks, birds, and pink pelicans to enjoy. There are a few different pools with good service and we never had trouble getting a seat. It looked like a very nice golf course. There is a grocery across the street. Shopping is 4 miles away of all kinds. They have underground self parking for $15 for your car to keep it out of the heat. Staff is very kind. If you get a room in the center you can hear the bar noise a bit. Nice stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank justjoe2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedona, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

This is a very classy hotel, complete with water taxi to some of it's restaurants. The only downside was how far our room was from the lobby and Starbucks. It had a decent view of the black swans and mountains. Pools are great.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that's not so far from everything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bkseatridr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palm Desert
0.9 mi away
The Westin Desert Willow Villas
2.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Indian Wells Resort & Spa
2.7 mi away
Omni Rancho Las Palmas Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Marriott's Desert Springs Villas II
5.5 mi away
La Quinta Resort & Club, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
5.5 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Rancho Mirage
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa

Property: JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa
Address: 74-855 Country Club Dr, Palm Desert, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92260-1961
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Desert
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Palm Desert
#4 Business Hotel in Palm Desert
#7 Family Hotel in Palm Desert
#9 Romantic Hotel in Palm Desert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 884
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to your go-to desert playground. From the moment you approach the palm-lined path leading to JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa, the excitement begins. Our Palm Desert hotel has it all, including an active lobby complete with gondolas and meandering waterways, six restaurants serving everything from fresh sushi to locally sourced culinary delights, two championship golf courses, and spacious guest rooms. After an exhilarating day of playing and exploring, you may recharge at Spa Desert Springs, or soak up the sun at any of our four pools with gorgeous views of the nearby mountains. Adding to your options are an onsite fitness center, extensive tennis center and volleyball courts, and a nearby jogging path. Our JW Marriott also features 210,000 square feet of dazzling event space for weddings and conferences. Play in style, experience JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Springs Jw Marriott Resort And Spa
Desert Springs Jw Marriott Hotel Palm Desert
Jw Marriott Palm Desert
Marriott Palm Desert
Palm Desert Marriott
Jw Marriott Desert Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing