We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Big hotel, nice grounds” 3 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa to your Saves list
JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   74855 Country Club Dr, Palm Desert, CA 92260   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$50 NIGHTLY RESORT CREDIT
Ranked #5 of 22 Hotels in Palm Desert
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Big hotel, nice grounds”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

A nice hotel, but really, really big, which has it's drawbacks. While it's been renovated, it still has many older attributes. As many other posters have commented, there is only one elevator for each wing, which means a very long walk each time you leave/go to your room. There's a Starbucks in the lobby, which is a plus.

There's a huge pool area with three pools and two hot tubs. But there are also a lot of guests (1,000 rooms?), so it gets really full on the weekends! It's not really a relaxing spot b/c of kids playing in the pools, music being pumped around, etc.

Hotel rooms are very spacious, but the walk-in shower was really small. I imagine it would be a tight squeeze for most men. Rooms have large balcony's, so try to get one that faces south or west to take advantage of the sun.

Note: there's also a $27/night resort fee for parking/wireless internet/fitness access.We enjoyed playing on the 18-hole putting course, which is also included.

Room Tip: Take advantage of the large balcony's by requesting/booking a room that faces south or west for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ihearttravel30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,857 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    788
    566
    262
    150
    91
See reviews for
406
541
39
476
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (522)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
330 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

This is a nice hotel on a beautiful site, however it's a large resort and it feels like a Marriott not a JW. If I was JW Marriott, I would reconsider the designation.

This was not our best travel experience and frankly one that should be shared. We checked in after dinner. We were asked if we wanted a king or two queens. We choose the king room.

We had to walk to the other end of the hotel for our room. It was a long walk. My wife reminded me we would be in the gym early the next morning and to stop griping about the walk. She was correct.

It was 10 PM. We arrived in our room, it was a comfortable size with king bed, couch , desk and a nice bathroom in the typical Marriott decor. We up packed, prepared for bed and laid down. When we settled we heard this thumping and music. I called the front desk and was told we were over the night club - room 4210 for all who are interested.

What I did not appreciate was when the young lady in the phone told me that they were almost full and because I wanted a king bed, that was all they had and so that is what I got. She positioned it as thought it was my fault.

I responded with why do you not ask your customers if it will be ok to be over the loud night club. Given a choice between a king over the night club or a queen I would have chosen the Queen room. She asked if she could give me some bonus Marriott points and I said no. The she asked if I wanted to move. It was not a comforting call so I hung up.

Still upset, I called the manager on duty. We renegotiated the rate and I wanted the option to move if I could not sleep. He agreed in full. It took the night manager to resolve my issue.

Fortunately I was exhausted, fell asleep quickly and frankly only remember waking a couple of times as the music volume increased. Frankly I had a pretty good nights sleep.

We woke in the morning, had coffee at Starbucks, worked out in their very nice gym and left.

I prefer smaller hotels for short and business stays. Resort hotels are best to enjoy.

Oh by the way. They charge you a $27 resort fee per day which does not include valet parking. Again, had we not used the gym I would have felt coerced into a fee which didn't apply to my visit.

Room Tip: You are going to need a taxi to get to many rooms at this place. If you don't want to walk a mi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clinton S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DesertSpringsJW, General Manager at JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our resort. I’m sorry it took several efforts for you to get this issue resolved, as that is not the JW Marriott standard.

I hope that you will visit us again soon so that we can make sure that you have a GREAT experience.

If you have the time and would like to discuss your stay with us directly, please do not hesitate to contact us at 760-862-1586.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013 via mobile

The service is amazing here. Every employee I interacted with was very helpful and professional. There are plenty of dining options, both on the property and in the surrounding areas. Room service was tasty as well. There are activities thoughout the day, such as golf and lawn sports. Many of the guests are retired and enjoying a relaxing vacation. The only negative was the layout of the rooms. The noise from the lobby bar is heard from the rooms that surround the center lobby. There are also birds kept in the lobby which at times are noisy. Overall, I surely recommend this resort!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelsHereNthere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pollock Pines
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

I have not stayed the night here as of yet, which I believe makes this review even better. I had a lumcheon meeting here several times. The beauty is breathe taking and the service is off the charts, Thank you Marriott so much, I will be back

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank csignor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Been twice to this hotel in Palm Springs. Good hotel would recommend and would go back again. Stayed in a Suite for 5 days twice...
Drove from LA . Don't think there's any other way to get to Palm Springs got to be quicker than Flying from LAX.
Good Golf Course on Complex that friends enjoyed was too hot for me to play Golf 3rd time in Palm Springs in August though.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Londoner18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrieta, CA
Level Contributor
57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Recently stayed at this property for a guys golf weekend. Hotel rooms were very nice and even the "basic" room was large and well appointed. There are two golf courses attached to this resort and both are very good. Although "resort" courses both provided enough challenge to be really fun. Choice of restaurants was a little limited. Also, there are NO vending machines on any of the floors. If you want a late night soda or snack only choice is very expensive room service or the hotel gift shop.....a LONG walk away.

Room Tip: Request a room near the elevators. Rooms at end of hall are a LONG walk away. I actually passed 3...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nkdgolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

I booked a room here through Priceline Name Your Own Price. They did not honor the price I named, but charged a mandatory $27 per night "resort fee" for amenities I did not use. This should have been included in the price of the room, since you cannot get out of it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
Helpful?
2 Thank Pixel277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palm Desert
0.8 mi away
The Westin Desert Willow Villas
0.3 mi away
Marriott's Desert Springs Villas II
2.8 mi away
Omni Rancho Las Palmas Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency Indian Wells Resort & Spa
5.5 mi away
La Quinta Resort & Club, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
3.1 mi away
Renaissance Indian Wells Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa

Property: JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa
Address: 74855 Country Club Dr, Palm Desert, CA 92260
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Desert
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Palm Desert
#4 Business Hotel in Palm Desert
#7 Family Hotel in Palm Desert
#9 Romantic Hotel in Palm Desert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 884
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to your go-to desert playground. From the moment you approach the palm-lined path leading to JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa, the excitement begins. Our Palm Desert hotel has it all, including an active lobby complete with gondolas and meandering waterways, six restaurants serving everything from fresh sushi to locally sourced culinary delights, two championship golf courses, and spacious guest rooms. After an exhilarating day of playing and exploring, you may recharge at Spa Desert Springs, or soak up the sun at any of our four pools with gorgeous views of the nearby mountains. Adding to your options are an onsite fitness center, extensive tennis center and volleyball courts, and a nearby jogging path. Our JW Marriott also features 210,000 square feet of dazzling event space for weddings and conferences. Play in style, experience JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort today. #DesertPlayground #DesertSprings ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Springs Jw Marriott Hotel Palm Desert
Desert Springs Jw Marriott Resort And Spa
Jw Marriott Palm Desert
Marriott Palm Desert
Palm Desert Marriott
Jw Marriott Desert Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing