We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa
Ranked #6 of 22 Hotels in Palm Desert
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good Hotel”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Been twice to this hotel in Palm Springs. Good hotel would recommend and would go back again. Stayed in a Suite for 5 days twice...
Drove from LA . Don't think there's any other way to get to Palm Springs got to be quicker than Flying from LAX.
Good Golf Course on Complex that friends enjoyed was too hot for me to play Golf 3rd time in Palm Springs in August though.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Londoner18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    939
    664
    317
    161
    104
See reviews for
492
632
47
575
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (617)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Murrieta, CA
Level Contributor
63 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Recently stayed at this property for a guys golf weekend. Hotel rooms were very nice and even the "basic" room was large and well appointed. There are two golf courses attached to this resort and both are very good. Although "resort" courses both provided enough challenge to be really fun. Choice of restaurants was a little limited. Also, there are NO vending machines on any of the floors. If you want a late night soda or snack only choice is very expensive room service or the hotel gift shop.....a LONG walk away.

Room Tip: Request a room near the elevators. Rooms at end of hall are a LONG walk away. I actually passed 3...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nkdgolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

I booked a room here through Priceline Name Your Own Price. They did not honor the price I named, but charged a mandatory $27 per night "resort fee" for amenities I did not use. This should have been included in the price of the room, since you cannot get out of it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
Helpful?
2 Thank Pixel277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheyenne Wells, Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

As of February 2013, the resort is in the middle of construction at one of the pool areas. And, of course, our rooms were right above this area and the workers worked starting at 6:48 am until almost 7PM every night we were there - even on Saturday, Sunday and President's Day holiday. In this back area there are also HUMONGOUS air handlers that are very noisy and disruptive to sleep and forget about quiet conversation on the balconies. Word of caution, this back area (near the ballrooms), will also have a "kid zone" play area and building - so if you're looking for peace and quiet, make sure you request rooms away from this area altogether.

The resort itself is spacious and beautiful. It is, of course, hugely expensive. The service was good, no complaints really, but if you are thinking you'll be fauned over because of the prices you pay to get here...think again. The service is just like you would get at any 3 or 4 star hotel/resort - in short, nothing special.

The spa experience was good - but not great. The attendants gave you a brief rush through of the layout and showed you to your locker and you were on your own from there - again nothing that makes you feel special or even welcomed really. Unfortunately, I also had a bad masseuse with whimpy hands, BUT the other three people in the party had excellent reviews for theirs! The steam rooms and jacuzzi are WONDERFUL! But you need to know that they are not available after 7 pm when the spa closes :(

The rooms are also okay. I'm sure if we wanted the suites or villas they would be spectacular, but again, we did not pay for that service. Overall I was disappointed with what I felt was mediocre service and walked away feeling like I would have been treated better or just as good for a LOT less money somewhere else.

Room Tip: Stay away from the Springs Pool area - the noise is terrible out back and it's a really long wal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MaryFSnyder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

I just spent a 3 day weekend here with my husband. The hotel is very nice, with very friendly and helpful staff. The rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable. There is a daily $27 resort fee, which includes the parking, use of the fitness center & internet access. The beds were very comfortable and we slept very well. There is a Starbucks in the lobby (very convenient, as I must have my morning coffee), however there is a coffee maker in the room with OK tasting coffee and two tea bags! For those with kids, there is a large pool and plenty of pool chairs. I am not sure how else you can entertain kids at this hotel though. I am glad I didn't bring my teens, and hear them complain about being bored all weekend. There is a large outlet mall & a Casino 33 miles away, with lots of great shopping and high end stores (Gucci, Armani Exchange, Elie Tahari, St. John, Salvatore Ferragamo, Kate Spade, etc.) We didn't go to the Casino, however I heard it's not bad to check out for one night if you like gambling. All in all, a nice weekend stay for couples.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4LoveofTraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Paul, MN
Level Contributor
45 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

I stayed here for 5 days for a business meeting and conference. EVERY employee encountered was so friendly it was amazing! From housekeeping, to servers, to a random employee you would meet walking thru the hallway, it was really something. The training and employee culture is really first rate.
When I first checked in, I was provided a room far down a hall overlooking the back side and spa. I asked the front desk if I could be moved to a closer, centrally located room, and no questions asked, done. Even though the room type changed, it was much more convenient and the view overlooking the pool area and sunrise was wonderful.

Even though we were having food set up for large groups, the food was also really good. Breakfast, lunch, dinner, all the food quality and attention to detail was great. Unusual items like oatmeal brulee whch was like a small cream brulee with oatmeal for breakfast. Everyone commented on the bacon for breakfast which was smoked and crispy and soooo good. Fresh fruit and many great choices.

Enjoyed the spa one day and had one of the best massages of my entire life! Again, super friendly, and they treat you like it's your once in a lifetime vacation experience which is so nice.
The spa has great accommodations, a small salt water private pool with padded loungers, 2 steam rooms, whirlpool and showers with muliple spigots for the ultimate in comfort. Worth it.

This is a property that I will come back to visit as soon as possible! for fun this time!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the beautiful and expansive pool area
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StPaulygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

I happen to have a soft spot for the Marriott brand. Yes, it can get pricey but the experience for those who can afford it is pretty much worth it. I had seen the professional photos of the hotel and was curious as to what it would look like in person. The outside of the hotel was well landscaped and had some lovely touches such as pink flamingos feeding along the drive into the hotel. A family of ducks swimming and waddling across a bridge and into the next pond. All quite entertaining. The lobby area of the hotel was huge with high ceilings and a very active bar/lounge area. If you are in a large crowd or meeting noisy friends I would imagine it could be a fun gathering place. I had seen the picture of the boat in previous photos and wondered why anyone would need a boat and wondered where it would take you. Evidently it takes you to the Japanese restaurant. I walked around a bit and ended up going to the spa and taking a tour of the facilities and then walked over to the Japanese restaurant along the way. I wasn't very hungry so I just had an excellent eel appetizer with some saki. Service was attentive. There was a couple there with their child and ordered a glass of chocolate milk which was readily available. The next morning I took advantage of the spa which had two different steam rooms, both with different kinds of aromatherapy. Very nice! A small shop near the spa is definitely worth checking out. I purchased some skin care products that I will be buying more of. Everything was pretty much what I expect of a Marriott experience. The one surprise was the Harley rentals available just outside. Check out the photos, if you please, and you'll know what I mean!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria-Lis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palm Desert
0.9 mi away
The Westin Desert Willow Villas
2.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Indian Wells Resort & Spa
2.7 mi away
Omni Rancho Las Palmas Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Marriott's Desert Springs Villas II
5.5 mi away
La Quinta Resort & Club, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
5.5 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Rancho Mirage
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa

Property: JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa
Address: 74855 Country Club Dr, Palm Desert, CA 92260-1961
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Desert
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Palm Desert
#4 Business Hotel in Palm Desert
#7 Family Hotel in Palm Desert
#9 Romantic Hotel in Palm Desert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 884
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to your go-to desert playground. From the moment you approach the palm-lined path leading to JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa, the excitement begins. Our Palm Desert hotel has it all, including an active lobby complete with gondolas and meandering waterways, six restaurants serving everything from fresh sushi to locally sourced culinary delights, two championship golf courses, and spacious guest rooms. After an exhilarating day of playing and exploring, you may recharge at Spa Desert Springs, or soak up the sun at any of our four pools with gorgeous views of the nearby mountains. Adding to your options are an onsite fitness center, extensive tennis center and volleyball courts, and a nearby jogging path. Our JW Marriott also features 210,000 square feet of dazzling event space for weddings and conferences. Play in style, experience JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Marriott, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotel.de, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Springs Jw Marriott Resort And Spa
Desert Springs Jw Marriott Hotel Palm Desert
Jw Marriott Palm Desert
Marriott Palm Desert
Palm Desert Marriott
Jw Marriott Desert Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing