We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“JW with great staff and well rounded resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa
Ranked #5 of 22 Hotels in Palm Desert
Certificate of Excellence
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
35 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“JW with great staff and well rounded resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

The staff at this place are great. Erin at the front desk that checked me in made my day. Also from the moment I drove in it seemed that all the staff are ready to meet your needs right away. They have a few different restaurants on property so if you dont want to drive you dont have to leave for food, and they are reasonably priced. I was lucky enough to play golf at their course as well, very well maintained. My wife and I decided it was best to just relax and use their spa as well. she got a massage. Their lobby has a bar and you can get some appetizers and snacks which are great. the only draw back was they do not have draft beer at the location at all. Also their rooms come with a baloncy which we loved sitting outside and looking at the montains. The room is well decorated, and the pillows made me not want to get up in the morning for check out. The only thing they need to improve on their rooms are but probably impossible because of design is the toilets are small and awkard, and the shower heads need to be replaced badly.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank GlobalSShoper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,889 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    799
    579
    266
    153
    92
See reviews for
421
546
40
482
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (523)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Louisiana
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

My wife and I stayed three nights due to my business trip. We encountered very friendly staff and great service throughout the facility. The facility was in very good shape for older property. T
We ate at the rock wood grill one night and really enjoyed it. I had a ribeye steak that was one of the better ones that I have eaten.
The choices for breakfast were $25 Buffett or $12-15 continental. I opted for the $3 oatmeal from Starbucks. The $7 beers and $11 house wines got to be a bit expensive. There is a supermarket across the street from the property. Hint, hint

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BayouPlaquemine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
137 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

3.5 star.

When I looked for a weekend escape, this hotel attracted me with it's lake and boat ride. THe resort entrance was very nice with tall palm trees and beautiful flowers. But the hotel looked old. After I checked-in and took a look of the lobby with its indoor boat docks (this was the stunning part), I thought I picked the right hotel.

We were given a bigger than usual room with a large sun deck facing the entrance with nice amenties. But the room and the building are old. The turn-down service came around 9:30 which is later than usual.

There were several big swim pools and Jacuzzi. Since we didn't play golf, the swim pool was the place to go because there wasn't anything else we could do.

We took boat ride in a very small lake (a pond?) at night. That added some thrill. The lake side fire pits in Rockwood Grill restaurant were very nice. We had dessert there. They were very good.

Because it was hot and the building was old, the AC was fully turned on and shook the floor.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces the pool. The view is better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sophie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, CA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Stayed here recently (or should I say didn't stay here recently). Upon arrival, was amazed by the truly fabulous lobby. A really marvelous creation. The fun ended there. We then went up to our room, which you could tell me hadn't been updated since before the hotel was built! Our room was in dire need of renovation -- it was quite bleak and didn't even have sliding glass doors (in Palm Springs!!). When we went to the front desk (after trying to reach them by telephone for 20 minutes), we were told that all of the rooms were basically the same.

This was simply below my standards, and even though we had pre-paid for the room through Priceline, we checked out and looked for a different hotel. We were thrilled to be out of there. And as we were leaving our pre-paid room, the front desk clerk, who was perfectly pleasant, asked if we wanted to pay for the hotel resort fee with the credit card we had used upon check-in. We were there for approximately 1/2 hour and were leaving yet they still wanted to charge us a resort fee! We moved to a much more pleasant hotel nearby and it was worth eating the cost of this hotel not to stay there. Don't be fooled by the glamour of the lobby -- the rooms basically stink.

Room Tip: Select a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HotelFreak222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, CA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is an excellent hotel complex. One could stay on the grounds and have just about everything one needs to have an enjoyable experience. Great rooms, restaurants, night club,spa,excersize room, great pool area, shopping mall, 2 golf courses and of course great winter weather.

Room Tip: Nothing really - unless you would like to look down on the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank greek4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed here for a weekend at start of November with my partner. Enjoyed our time and found the staff to be very good.

Good-
Descent sized rooms.
Great pool area, plenty of room.
Good choice for breakfast.
Ate at the fish bar which was quick and good for a lunch snack.
Amazing views
The Spa- we went for a couples massage on the Saturday afternoon which was very good. The ladies who looked after us very kindly set up passes for the next day as we didnt get full use of the spa facilities that day. On the Sunday we had breakfast, checked out at 9am then went along to the Spa where we used their pool for the morning, had lunch then showered and drove home. A fantastic end to the trip.

Bad
The location of our room- we were in 8211 which was a top floor over looking the pool which we had asked for. Unfortunately when we got back to our room on the Friday night we realised that we were above Costas nightclub so had the bass vibrating through our room till around 1 /2 in the morning. I can't imagine what it was like for people staying below us. As we were unpacked and only there for 2 nights we put up with it. If we came again we would ensure we were not in this section of the hotel.
Rockwood grill at night was a bit hit and miss. Service was a bit scatty and all over the place and the food was OK.

We would come again but we would insist on a different room location.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Batfink12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Perfect getaway from LA spot. Great for kids & families, tons of activities, close to shops & restaurants, beautiful rooms w/full kitchen, washer/dryer, etc. We booked two rooms, one with a king bed, living room w/sofa bed, & full kitchen, the adjoining room had a queen bed and a sofa bed with a kitchenette. We're a family of 6 and had more than enough space for everyone.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1234takemeaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palm Desert
0.8 mi away
The Westin Desert Willow Villas
0.3 mi away
Marriott's Desert Springs Villas II
2.8 mi away
Omni Rancho Las Palmas Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency Indian Wells Resort & Spa
5.5 mi away
La Quinta Resort & Club, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
2.1 mi away
Marriott's Shadow Ridge I-The Villages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa

Property: JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa
Address: 74855 Country Club Dr, Palm Desert, CA 92260-1961
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Desert
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Palm Desert
#4 Business Hotel in Palm Desert
#7 Family Hotel in Palm Desert
#9 Romantic Hotel in Palm Desert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 884
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to your go-to desert playground. From the moment you approach the palm-lined path leading to JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa, the excitement begins. Our Palm Desert hotel has it all, including an active lobby complete with gondolas and meandering waterways, six restaurants serving everything from fresh sushi to locally sourced culinary delights, two championship golf courses, and spacious guest rooms. After an exhilarating day of playing and exploring, you may recharge at Spa Desert Springs, or soak up the sun at any of our four pools with gorgeous views of the nearby mountains. Adding to your options are an onsite fitness center, extensive tennis center and volleyball courts, and a nearby jogging path. Our JW Marriott also features 210,000 square feet of dazzling event space for weddings and conferences. Play in style, experience JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Springs Jw Marriott Hotel Palm Desert
Desert Springs Jw Marriott Resort And Spa
Jw Marriott Palm Desert
Marriott Palm Desert
Palm Desert Marriott
Jw Marriott Desert Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing