We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun and Classy place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Palm Desert
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is an excellent hotel complex. One could stay on the grounds and have just about everything one needs to have an enjoyable experience. Great rooms, restaurants, night club,spa,excersize room, great pool area, shopping mall, 2 golf courses and of course great winter weather.

Room Tip: Nothing really - unless you would like to look down on the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greek4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,360)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,643 - 1,649 of 2,360 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed here for a weekend at start of November with my partner. Enjoyed our time and found the staff to be very good.

Good-
Descent sized rooms.
Great pool area, plenty of room.
Good choice for breakfast.
Ate at the fish bar which was quick and good for a lunch snack.
Amazing views
The Spa- we went for a couples massage on the Saturday afternoon which was very good. The ladies who looked after us very kindly set up passes for the next day as we didnt get full use of the spa facilities that day. On the Sunday we had breakfast, checked out at 9am then went along to the Spa where we used their pool for the morning, had lunch then showered and drove home. A fantastic end to the trip.

Bad
The location of our room- we were in 8211 which was a top floor over looking the pool which we had asked for. Unfortunately when we got back to our room on the Friday night we realised that we were above Costas nightclub so had the bass vibrating through our room till around 1 /2 in the morning. I can't imagine what it was like for people staying below us. As we were unpacked and only there for 2 nights we put up with it. If we came again we would ensure we were not in this section of the hotel.
Rockwood grill at night was a bit hit and miss. Service was a bit scatty and all over the place and the food was OK.

We would come again but we would insist on a different room location.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Batfink12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Perfect getaway from LA spot. Great for kids & families, tons of activities, close to shops & restaurants, beautiful rooms w/full kitchen, washer/dryer, etc. We booked two rooms, one with a king bed, living room w/sofa bed, & full kitchen, the adjoining room had a queen bed and a sofa bed with a kitchenette. We're a family of 6 and had more than enough space for everyone.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1234takemeaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This resort has it all. The grounds are beautiful and spacious. The pool area is huge. The waterways are so peaceful and there are so many sitting areas to just relax and enjoy. A great place to golf, jog, walk, whatever exercise you like to do. We took the Pilates class and it was a wonderful workout. Plenty of restaurants to choose from as well, with delicious food. You can arrive for the weekend and never leave, with plenty to do. We love it here and continue to return, year after year.

Room Tip: We have always stayed on the back side facing the mountain range, overlooking the water. I think ev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I think the hotel campus was very beautiful. The lobby was gorgeous and quite busy. The shops close awfully early, so if you are interested in shopping best to come by early in the day. The inside bar got extremely loud at night. The rooms along the inside could hear noises, laughter and music til almost midnight. I understand it was a good place to meet people but really took away from the sleeping experience. I am not sure how anyone can sleep well with that noise. It would have been helpful for them to shut the noise down at 10 pm and maybe move outside where the noise would have been less obvious. Beds were very comfortable. The room was clean and the bathrooms were a very nice size.

Room Tip: Not anywhere near the bar in the lobby. The noise will keep you up especially on weekend nights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coriander82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Just got back from a retreat at this JW facility, and was blown away by the entire experience! You are greeted with warm hospitality from the time you pull up front, to the housekeeping staff, to all the staff trying to make your day better. What wonderful people! And the facility is expansive. Food truly delicious, and different. The bar in the lobby is welcoming, with small "living room" type areas for as big or small a group as you'd like. The pool(s) provide all kinds of space for lounging, and with 350 days of sun in this city, what's not to like? Sleeping rooms are spacious and have all kinds of amenities to make your room like home. The bathroom was nicely appointed with a welcoming soaking tub, as well as a separate tub, nice vanity, plush robes and towels, and great shampoos/soaps. The spa was well worth the visit, with a complete locker room, sauna, jacuzzi, and 48! treatment rooms so they can deal with crowds efficiently and without stress. The gym was also nicely appointed, with a variety of aerobic machines, Life Fitness equipment, and free weights, as well as a separate yoga room. I'm not sure how, but the elevator on our floor was always waiting for us, and was quick to get you down to the lobby. The meeting rooms were nicely appointed, and catering was superb. I would recommend this for a couples weekend retreat or a big corporate meeting. Really great service, facility, food, and people! Thank you!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marylander44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

We had a great time here, very relaxing. The hotel was very quiet during our time here and as a consequence was slightly lacking in atmosphere. We travelled with our 11 year old son and it would have been nice if there had been a few more children around, but this is not the fault of the hotel. Our room was spacious and very clean, our bed was comfortable and we had a good view from our balcony. It was in a good location and we had a great day out at Joshua national park. Would recommend this hotel for adults wanting a bit of luxury but probably wouldn't be my first choice next time as a family hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LondonFin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palm Desert
0.9 mi away
The Westin Desert Willow Villas
0.2 mi away
Marriott's Desert Springs Villas II
2.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Indian Wells Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Omni Rancho Las Palmas Resort & Spa
5.5 mi away
La Quinta Resort & Club, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
5.5 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Rancho Mirage
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa

Address: 74855 Country Club Dr, Palm Desert, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92260
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Desert
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Palm Desert
#2 Luxury Hotel in Palm Desert
#4 Business Hotel in Palm Desert
#6 Family Hotel in Palm Desert
#9 Romantic Hotel in Palm Desert
Price Range: $238 - $775 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 884
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to your go-to desert playground at JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa. From the moment you approach the palm-lined path leading to our resort in Palm Desert, California, the excitement begins. Our hotel near Palm Springs has it all, including an active lobby complete with gondolas and meandering waterways, six restaurants serving everything from fresh sushi to locally sourced culinary delights, two championship golf courses, and spacious guest rooms. After an exhilarating day of playing and exploring, you may recharge at Spa Desert Springs, or soak up the sun at any of our four pools with gorgeous views of the nearby mountains. Adding to your options are an onsite fitness center, extensive tennis center and volleyball courts, and a nearby jogging path. JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa also features 210,000 square feet of dazzling event space for weddings and conferences. Play in style, experience our resort today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Springs Jw Marriott Resort And Spa
Desert Springs Jw Marriott Hotel Palm Desert
Jw Marriott Palm Desert
Marriott Palm Desert
Palm Desert Marriott
Jw Marriott Desert Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing