We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$117
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Suites Palm Desert I-10(Palm Desert)(Great Value!)
$148
$119
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$179
Homewood
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plus Palm Desert Resort(Palm Desert)(Great Value!)
$150
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Marriott's Shadow Ridge II- The Enclaves(Palm Desert)(Great Value!)
$225
$209
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Marriott's Shadow Ridge I-The Villages(Palm Desert)(Great Value!)
$209
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Marriott's Desert Springs Villas II(Palm Desert)(Great Value!)
$225
$209
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Residence Inn Palm Desert(Palm Desert)(Great Value!)
$289
$229
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Westin Desert Willow Villas(Palm Desert)(Great Value!)
$500
$189
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (2,489)
Filter reviews
2,489 results
Traveler rating
1,095
745
350
184
115
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,095
745
350
184
115
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrockwood grilllobby barsushi bargolf courseboat rideexotic birdspink flamingosbusiness conferenceself parkingfisherman's landingpalm springsdesert springsmini golfpool areabeautiful groundsfitness centerspring break
Filter
Updating list...
1,859 - 1,864 of 2,489 reviews
Reviewed June 1, 2012

Gorgeous hotel, lobby, grounds, flowers. Room was beautiful. Food and drinks in lobby bar were excellent! Service was excellent, except at the pool, drinks at the pool were pretty weak and expensive also. A real party atmosphere for the 30ish crowd. A really beautiful place, but more for partying then relaxing or romance.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CynthiaOregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2012

This place is unbelieveable. Everything is perfect. From check in to check out the staff was great. Nothing bad to say.

Room Tip: Try to find a room with a balcony facing the pool, it's the best view.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nmarcucci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the JW for Memorial Day Weekend hoping for some relaxation. This is the wrong place for that type of vacation. It may just have been the fact that it was Memorial Day Weekend but things were completely out of control. The hotel itself is nice and well kept. Our room was fine and clean. The problem is all the noise. The pool is like a Vegas pool but instead of the 21 year old crowd there is a 35-45 year old crowd acting like they are 21. When you don't have 15 bachelorette parties blocking the pool you have 5 year olds running wild splashing everyone while their parents don't care. The "bouncers" at the pool don't seem to keep any order as people are throwing eachother in the pool and throwing drinks. If it was just the pool scene we could have thought it was still a nice stay but then the night time is even worse. There is a bar in the middle of the hotel that is very loud until 2:30 in the morning. You finally get to sleep and are woken up by the kids running up and down the hall at 7 p.m. At least in Vegas they have sound proof walls for the most part. Overall we were pretty disappointed with our experience because it wasn't the type of vacation we were looking for. I can see how others might like it.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room not inside the attrium where the bar is, it is too loud.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SeattleTraveler1_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Just got back from Memorial Day weekend at the JW. Took our 2 kids ages 8 and 10. Had not stayed at this Marriott before, but decided to try it based on reviews.
Positives:
1. Gorgeous hotel and lobby. Lobby bar/and view is amazing.
2. Kids loved the boat rides to the Mikado Restaurant and around.
3. Mikado Restaurant fantastic. Great service and really good food.
4. Sushi in lobby bar is really, really good. The lobby bar is HUGE and was constantly THE spot for everyone to hang out.
5. The service is really really top notch. Had a problem with our room key not working. Quickly found out it was the battery in the door sensor and not the key. Taken care of in no time.
6. Bellmen and car valet efficient and friendly.
Negatives:
1. If you are a family, this probably isn't the hotel for you on a busy holiday weekend. This really is a hotel for the bachelorette party (which we saw several), the partying college students and singles. The main pools were pretty much ruled by these groups. As well they should be.
2. There is a family pool behind one of the room towers, but it is smaller. More for younger kids. My 8 and 10 year old were asking to go back to the Rancho Las Palmas with the giant waterslides! But the hotel did set up some really fun inflatable slip and slides and a water slide for the holiday weekend which the kids liked. Plus, we spent one day at soak city.
3. It was a lonnnnnnnng walk and I mean longgggg walk to our room. the price you pay for the quiet tower and not a room over the nightclub. So we were thankful.
4. A busy holiday weekend means lots of drunk party goers going back to their rooms every single nite at 3am. We could set our watches by them.
5. Only double beds, no queen size beds. Need more room!

Room service was wonderful. My daugher loved the chocoloate chip pancakes.
Overall, a very nice stay...but for this family...we'll try someplace else.

Room Tip: If you are single or want to party, book your room overlooking the main pools. Close to the bar and restaurants.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank petesmom1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

From Check-In to Room Service to practically every employee we encountered, this hotel excelled in all area's, and every employee was happy and friendly despite a very busy sold out hotel. (We were there for Stagecoach weekend.) The ONLY thing that wasn't perfect about our stay was cocktail service at the pool, we had to get out to the pools early to secure spots on lounge chairs, and you'd think at $6 a pop they'd want to sell as many Bud Lights as they could, but without fail we had to walk up to the bar to get our own drinks every single time; despite having the little blue flag up requesting service, and actively trying to get their attention. But again, it was a busy weekend, I'll cut them some slack. Our room was fantastic, the pool was the absolute best thing ever, and on hot Palm Desert afternoons I couldn't be anywhere else after enjoying this pool.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms are WAY away from the lobby, I'm sure it's quieter, but it's a bit of a hike to get to your room.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Will-UofU-Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews