We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great Resort Experience!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa
Ranked #5 of 22 Hotels in Palm Desert
Certificate of Excellence
Walnut Creek, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Resort Experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2012

We recently stayed in Palm Desert at the JW for 5 nights for a family Spring break. The hotel had lots of family activites for a sports minded family. My husband and son played the 18 hole putting course each morning, we had lattes from Starbucks in the lobby each day, took a ride on the boat around the lake area and played with the motorized boats and they even played golf one afternoon after 3pm for the family special rate of $59 for an adult and the child plays free. The tennis facilities too with all of the outdoor games were awesome!! The pools were plentiful too. The only drawbacks were that the pool didn't have any water slides for kids and the guest room are small. The bathroom is fairly large but only had one sink. The bottom line is that you don't spend too much time in your room so I woudl definately stay here again.

Room Tip: I would try for a room with a lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy6963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,984 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    846
    605
    284
    155
    94
See reviews for
439
566
43
523
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (551)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
ny
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2012

Facilities were nice but the service from the front desk, to the pool, to the concierge service was horrible. Check-in was a mad house -- first promising that our rooms would be available by 2, then 4, then 5 without as much as a telephone call to us. Only after we contacted them for a 5th time did they finally track down rooms for us which ended up being spread throughout the hotel. The restaurant choices were limited since some of them were closed for renovation (a fact not shared with us in advance). The concierge recommended an on site restaurant Tuscany Grill and existing signage directed us to the "Tuscany Grill" .... the problem is the restaurant no longer exists and we were told had been closed for over a year. Poolside food service as well as the poolside food itself was horrible, The pool has red shirted pool security who act like over hormoned bouncers at a college bar. They are more focused on monitoring guests bags, drinks and snacks for outside food and beverages. We witnessed the red bouncers sniff drinks of a thirty-ish couple followed by a bag search to confiscate and dump 3 outside beers. We were also confronted by the red shirts with our doggy bag from the poolside grill demanding to know where we got the food. Agee with other comments that the resort fee covers limited activities. The resort is more interested in getting additional charges out of you then assuring you enjoy yourself as a high cost guest. Overall the hotel is in need of additional staffing and enhanced staff training to ensure guest comforts and enjoyment.

Room Tip: Get a poolside view and ensure you are not too far from the scarce elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Per P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coronado, California
Level Contributor
84 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2012

We are staying here for the coachella music festival. The package deal was very reasonable.
Pros
• amazing mountain views
• lots of hotel restaurants to choose from
• golf, mini golf, tennis
• ralphs and CVS are across the street
• rooms have mini bar. No microwave

Cons
• poor reception/service on cellphones
• Internet is not free

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaViajeraSolitaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2012

Although it is a nice property, it is very expensive and amenities are extra. They charge a daily "resort fee" which doesn't really include much of anything (tennis and golf costs extra). The resort fee does include the fitness center, which is typically included in standard room rates at lesser hotels. There were long lines for almost all services (breakfast, Starbucks, and check-in). Only one restaurant serves breakfast in the entire complex, which makes breakfast very crowded.
The pool was over crowded and noisy and the rooms were average but very expensive. Would not stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeffrey O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2012

My boyfriend took me here to celebrate my birthday. This place has everything. Once there, there is no need to leave unless you want to sight see or go gambling. Lovely restaurants (3) with a Sushi Bar in the lobby and a full bar also in the lobby. The uniqueness is the water area in the lower lobby of the hotel, where small boats pick you up and take you around the property or stop at each restaurant offered by the hotel. There are white swans, black swans, flamingos - just peaceful and gorgeous. The rooms have all just recently been remodeled. There isn't a bad view in the place. The service was divine You are treated like royalty whether you are or not. The weather in Palm Springs/Palm Desert in March is gorgeous. After all, this is where the snow birds come to get away from the winter.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2012

We stayed at the JW for three night early April. We are a family of five, two adults, 3 kids (8,5 2 years old) This was a fantastic family friendly property. The rooms were spacious and very up to date with tasteful decor. The bathrooms are large and elegant. (Separate soaking tub and tiled shower) The room had a coffee maker with coffee and tea on hand and a mini refrigerator. The balcony was fantastic, a great place to relax after we put the kids to bed. The property itself is beautifully landscaped and the service is incredible. The boat rides were great for the kids and the birds were a fun added attraction. We had a minor noise issue one night of an event going on outside the staff went above and beyond to rectify the situation. We travel a great deal with the kids and this was a wonderful relaxing property close to great shopping and restaurants.We wished we could have stayed a couple more nights to take advantage of all the activities.

Room Tip: All rooms have a great balcony, if you are traveling with kids it is great to be near the kids pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank P T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2012

DON'T STAY HERE - GO ACROSS THE STREET TO THE INTRAWEST TIME SHARE CONDO ( WESTIN ?)
I have been elite platinum with Marriott for many years. I have never complained. But I am making an exception for the Palm Desert as it is a hell hole. I always get an upgrade to a suite but not here. I had to buy an adjoining room for the kids. But here is the kicker, I asked for a early check in. At 4:30 P when I arrived neither of my rooms were available. I asked them to call or text me when the rooms were available. I speak to MI daily so they have all my contact information. No call , no email, no text. At 8:30 PM when I returned NO ROOM was ready. The one cleaning guy was on the patio smoking. . THey did not have both rooms for us until 10 PM that night.
The sevice is the worst I have seen, even in the 3rd world and eastern block I have had better service.
So you think that as the guy who spends one out of every 3 nights in a Marriott and more than $100k a year with them that some one at the front desk would apologize, or at least call me. No nothing. I even emailed the GM directly, and the officers in Va & D.C..
This resort is OWNED by Marriott. They are the flag and the owner. Yet is violates most of the JW Brand standards on amenities. The rooms and common areas are old crappy and in disrepair. I have clients that are investors in properties that fly the JW flag. I am going to make sure that they know abut this.

IF THEY TREAT ME THIS WAY- HOW WILL THEY TREAT YOU ?

As a very frequent MI guest you often hear that MI is abandoning the JW Brand and pushing properties to be Courtyards or Ritz's Since this is an MI owned property I am convinced that this is true. DON'T STAY HERE - GO ACROSS THE STREET TO THE INTRAWEST TIME SHARE CONDO ( WESTIN ?)

Room Tip: Choose a room in an other hotel the Intrawest condo hotel across the street is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank HurleyG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palm Desert
0.8 mi away
The Westin Desert Willow Villas
0.3 mi away
Marriott's Desert Springs Villas II
2.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency Indian Wells Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Omni Rancho Las Palmas Resort & Spa
5.5 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Rancho Mirage
The Ritz-Carlton, Rancho Mirage
#2 of 8 in Rancho Mirage
4.5 of 5 bubbles 818 reviews
5.5 mi away
La Quinta Resort & Club, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa

Property: JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa
Address: 74855 Country Club Dr, Palm Desert, CA 92260-1961
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Desert
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Palm Desert
#4 Business Hotel in Palm Desert
#7 Family Hotel in Palm Desert
#9 Romantic Hotel in Palm Desert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 884
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to your go-to desert playground. From the moment you approach the palm-lined path leading to JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa, the excitement begins. Our Palm Desert hotel has it all, including an active lobby complete with gondolas and meandering waterways, six restaurants serving everything from fresh sushi to locally sourced culinary delights, two championship golf courses, and spacious guest rooms. After an exhilarating day of playing and exploring, you may recharge at Spa Desert Springs, or soak up the sun at any of our four pools with gorgeous views of the nearby mountains. Adding to your options are an onsite fitness center, extensive tennis center and volleyball courts, and a nearby jogging path. Our JW Marriott also features 210,000 square feet of dazzling event space for weddings and conferences. Play in style, experience JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Springs Jw Marriott Resort And Spa
Desert Springs Jw Marriott Hotel Palm Desert
Jw Marriott Palm Desert
Marriott Palm Desert
Palm Desert Marriott
Jw Marriott Desert Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing