We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large resort, nice room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa
Ranked #6 of 22 Hotels in Palm Desert
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Large resort, nice room”
Reviewed October 28, 2007

My company held a recent meeting at this hotel. I was pleased with my room and my experience. This resort is quite large; I had to stop for directions on the way to my room. Our rooms were $199 each when booked as a group. There was also an optional $20 resort fee for high speed Internet, 2 bottles of water and turn down service. My room was very nice and was well stocked with bathrobes, nice toiletries, a mini-bar, good magazines, etc. The bathroom had a separate tub and shower and featured natural stone tiles. The linens and bed were soft and comfortable. My room had a nice deck with 4-person table and chase lounge that overlooked the golf course. All in all I was happy with my stay, and the $199 price was a good value in this market. I didn't have time to use the pools but they looked great and there were ponds, fountains and birds (swans, flamingos & ducks) throughout the property. Those that ate at the resort reported that the food was good at the Japanese steak house. I went downtown for a date shake instead.

  • Liked — Nice rooms, big resort, very self contained...you don't have to leave
  • Disliked — Quite a drive from dowtown Palm Springs
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank BusinessGirlOnTheGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    929
    659
    313
    160
    104
See reviews for
487
624
47
571
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (608)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orange, California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2007

I have stayed in over a dozen Marriott hotels and one thing I found in common was they all had impressive lobbies and not so great rooms.
We tried 3 different rooms, just to go from bad to worse. All rooms were too small, furniture too old and boring, lightning inadequate, bathrooms not as good or clean as they should be.

Frontdesk people were not as friendly as you would expect, so was the case with vallet staff.
There was another family who had the same troubles as we did at check-in.

I absolutely do not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank amuzed2death
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, ME
Level Contributor
54 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2007

We were passing through Palm Springs during our honeymoon on our way to San Diego and we stopped into this resort on the way through, we liked it so much, we decided to stay for 2 nights. I was really impressed w/ the lobby atrium and pool area. This is a very large resort and we found the grounds to be beautiful (w/ plenty of birds and bunnies) and the staff to be friendly. We had dinner one night at the Italian restaurant on site and enjoyed sitting outside by the fires w/ a cocktail afterwards. Very romantic. Also, the lobby bar in the hotel atrium was quite busy and entertaining as well, plenty of TVs around too to check out the sports on. The front desk clerk even upgraded us to one of their executive suites, since it was our honeymoon. All in all, we thought this was a nice place to hang out in the middle of the desert, everything was very green and the resort is surrounded by their golf course. Would definately go back someday!!!

  • Liked — Nice Pool Area, Good Restaurants
  • Disliked — They Charge for Parking?
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank mainetoday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2007

I love love love the Desert Springs hotel. I've been coming here ever since it opened up(about 20+ years) and saw the new changes they did to the lobby which is gorgeous. Check in was a breeze and after checking into our room we headed down to the sushi bar in the lobby. Can we say scrumptious? Yum! Yum!. The pool grounds were amazing with 4 pools to choose from although they needed more security for those lazy butts that leave their towels on their chairs and don't come down until hours later. The grounds were well kept and i loved all the different animals around the hotel such as flamingo's, ducks, swans, parrots and fishes. it is a well relaxed area and you feel like your treated like royalty. the resturants are also very good.for a relaxing/romantic getaway this is a place for you or even for the kids.

  • Liked — the sunset and sunrises
  • Disliked — the expensive valet although the valet drivers were super nice
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Krazygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana Point, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 1, 2007

This is a great hotel for people of all ages. Activities for everyone, beautiful scenery, very helpful and friendly staff, clean facilities, delicious food, etc, etc, etc. The 6 restaraunts provide a great variety of choices with good pricing options. Opt of the Lake View Sunday buffet over the Sea Grille and save yourself $20 a person. There is even great nightlife within the resort. Ask for a room facing the west (pool and mountains), it is well worth it. Make sure to take the gondola to your dinner reservation.

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank Scottruff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2007

I booked this hotel for my husband and myself for a getaway golf weekend without the kids. Having never stayed at this property before, we had no idea it was going to be so loud at night. Beyond the exceedingly high noise level from the club until 2:00 a.m., it was an enjoyable stay, but it is definitely no Hyatt Grand Champions (my first recommendation to anyone visiting this area). My husband enjoyed the golf courses, and the convenience of the on-site restaurants is a plus. If you want to party and dance and see and be seen at the pool and in the club, this is the hotel for you (although service around the pool was slow, taking almost 45 minutes to receive one drink). If you want a quiet and relaxing get-away for romance or your family, I would probably look elsewhere. The resort fee and the parking fees are absurd, but it seems to be the norm nowawadays. I believe you get what you pay for, but I certainly would not choose this hotel again unless I got a serious price break. Oh, and the gondola has a motor on it, in case you had visions of a romantic serenading gondolier. It is instead a speedy, mess-up-your-hair kind of ride. Not exactly the perfect, romantic weekend getaway I had been hoping for but nothing to really complain too much about either.

  • Liked — on-site restaurants and golf
  • Disliked — small rooms and shower enclosures
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank CRTRPTR1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark
Level Contributor
58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2007

We stayed at the Desert Springs from September 15 - 18 for a buyers' group meeting/convention. I had read the reviews on the property before we arrived just to see what to expect. There is a night and day difference between what occurs Saturday/ Sunday and weekdays at this place! A family with young children should steer clear on the weekends - they are pretty wild - especially in the pool area. Everyone has a right to a good time but the Marriott needs to set some kind of rules for activities in the pool just for safety's sake. There are no lifeguards and I saw a small child swamped by 2 guys playing football in the pool on Sunday. In contrast the weekdays were more low-key and pleasant everywhere in the hotel.
I don't understand the reviews that mentioned the hotel is showing its age - our room was spacious and beautiful. Right, the TV is not flat-screen but the views from the balcony more then make up for it. The bathroom has a tub and a shower and is very large. If you rent a car you might as well pay the $20/day resort fee since self-park is $11/day anyway and it's included in the resort fee. My husband and son used the fitness center and said it was OK.
Food at breakfast and lunch and the evening reception for the convention was very good. However we ate at Lakeside one night and, although we sat outside and the view was beautiful, we did not care for the entrees we had - everything seemed very 'heavy.'
Everyone we came in contact with on the staff was pleasant.
Since we live on the East coast we would never go back just for a vacation but if the convention is ever held there again we will certainly attend.

  • Liked — the beautiful views from the balcony
  • Disliked — crazy pool scene on the weekend
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank retired605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palm Desert
0.9 mi away
The Westin Desert Willow Villas
0.3 mi away
Marriott's Desert Springs Villas II
2.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Indian Wells Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Omni Rancho Las Palmas Resort & Spa
5.5 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Rancho Mirage
5.5 mi away
La Quinta Resort & Club, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa

Property: JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa
Address: 74855 Country Club Dr, Palm Desert, CA 92260-1961
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Desert
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Palm Desert
#4 Business Hotel in Palm Desert
#7 Family Hotel in Palm Desert
#9 Romantic Hotel in Palm Desert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 884
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to your go-to desert playground. From the moment you approach the palm-lined path leading to JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa, the excitement begins. Our Palm Desert hotel has it all, including an active lobby complete with gondolas and meandering waterways, six restaurants serving everything from fresh sushi to locally sourced culinary delights, two championship golf courses, and spacious guest rooms. After an exhilarating day of playing and exploring, you may recharge at Spa Desert Springs, or soak up the sun at any of our four pools with gorgeous views of the nearby mountains. Adding to your options are an onsite fitness center, extensive tennis center and volleyball courts, and a nearby jogging path. Our JW Marriott also features 210,000 square feet of dazzling event space for weddings and conferences. Play in style, experience JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and Hotel.de so you can book your JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Springs Jw Marriott Resort And Spa
Desert Springs Jw Marriott Hotel Palm Desert
Jw Marriott Palm Desert
Marriott Palm Desert
Palm Desert Marriott
Jw Marriott Desert Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing