We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Residence Inn Palm Desert
Ranked #13 of 22 Hotels in Palm Desert
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We had stayed at a Residence Inn in Fullerton CA in Sept 2012 and enjoyed that stay. When we booked in Palm Dessert we expected similar facilities/service.
We stayed at a 2 bedroom unit with a kitchen. Check in was no issues.

We had our first issue when we reached the room; light outside the room was not working. First impression inside was ok. The rooms are decently sized, carpets looked clean. There’s was a nice balcony with 4 chairs.

Day 1: Within the first few mins of being in the room we started noticing “issues”;

Kitchen is dated – old appliances, old cabinets, super noisy dishwasher, fridge had a door shelf part broken; For the price of over $200 I expected a more updated room; I could ignore that one. It's not the dated setup that got me to knock down the rating to poor.

As we started unpacking I pulled out the glasses. Glasses in the kitchen were dirty! Yuck. We could see previous use lipstick stains on the wine glasses and cloudy film on the water glasses (I have photo’s). Wanted to wash them to use but there was no hand washing dish soap in the kitchen. Called the front desk and told them of the dirty glasses, missing hand dish soap, broken fridge part and the non-working outside light. Got a “sorry” for dirty glasses and a promise to have some sent out to fix. Someone showed up to fix the outside light, broken fridge part within the hour and also got our hand dish soap.

Bedroom number 2 -there was only 1 soap between the sink and shower.. really?
Body lotion bottle was used

Multiple TV channels not working – some work in one room but not other (there were 3 TV’s in the unit)

Day 2 morning I filled out the “How can we make your stay better” card and handed it to the front desk. Noted on the card was to provide separate bath/sink soap, unused body lotions/shampoo/conditioner, fix the TV channels and provide clean silverware and glasses for use.

After we came back in the evening – more soap in bathroom – yeah! TV channels looked like there had been some attempt to fix but still an issue – work in one room not in other and some didn’t work at all (no signal). There were 3 bottles of hand dish soap but now the automatic dish wash soap was missing. There were no kitchen towels anymore; the ones provided on day 1 were gone. Also gone were wash cloths in the bathrooms (they were there day 1). This time one of us went down to the lobby and got the kitchen towels, wash cloths. Asked to speak to the manager but was told he is not always on site and we will need to reach out separately.

Walls are paper thin – you can hear people talking next door and their shower was loud enough to wake up a light sleeper.

One thing we enjoyed on the grounds - They have tennis and basketball courts and provide equipment to borrow.
They could do better with the equipment though - One of the rackets hand the handle cover peeling off and there was a previous failed attempt to put tape on it. You have to get someone from the Lobby to turn on the lights after dark. We enjoyed using the courts.

This place is pet friendly so great for folks who travel with pets (we don't). But folks don't seem to clean up after their pets - there was plenty of "mess" we could see around the property grass areas and along walkways.

Breakfast – pretty much same everyday. Scrambled eggs, No choice of bread – only wheat bread; English muffin, 2 types of muffins/cakes (looked same every day for the 3 mornings we were there), waffle maker, couple of cereals, potatoes, coffee tea.

I was surprised after handing in my feedback card with what they could do better and bringing their attention to missing essentials, no one followed up later in the stay to see how it was going. We take 3 - 4 trips during the year so have stayed in a variety of hotels, motels, timeshare condos, extended stay hotels; I don’t remember ever having so many issues with basic housekeeping and maintenance. I would hesitate to stay at any Residence Inn property after this experience.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelingParty2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (347)
There are newer reviews for Residence Inn Palm Desert
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

236 - 242 of 347 reviews

Reviewed December 29, 2012

We stayed here in August and loved it so much, we returned for a week in November (2012). A great hot breakfast is included every morning, well-manicured grounds, and nice pool and hot tub.
Ground floor rooms have an outdoor patio, Second floor rooms have balconies. If you get in Building 2 or Building 3, you will have a golf course view with mountains in the distance.

Room Tip: We liked Building 2, Second Floor because of the view.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dave W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

The only thing that held this back from a five (for this category of hotel) is the dated room furnishings. If they have remodeled rooms, we did not get one. Old carpets, floor tile, furniture and kitchen/accoutrements, but absolutely spotless. Even with brown carpet, we never felt that it was at all dirty. A nice view of the desert tee box and mountains off the patio. The lobby was very nicely done, though, and a nice place for breakfast. And breakfast was great! We do a lot of similar hotel breakfasts, and it was great to have daily variety with meats (and even biscuits with sausage gravy!!), and scrambled eggs that didn't taste like they were made for an astronaut. And the chef and kitchen staff were friendly and concerned that they folks were enjoying it. Love the fact that they'll do your grocery shopping (without an extra fee): if you get them the list by 9am, they'll have it in your room by 5pm. There's not much in nearby walking distance, but driving in the area is not difficult. We stayed here with our Marriott points, choosing to be more conservative than splurging on the JW Marriott, and we're glad we did. Would do it again. But maybe would ask for a remodeled room.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank a-travelin-foodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

Hotel was really easy to find off Hwy 10, close to everything you want to be close to. I'm a regular Residence Inn guest, and I was totally impressed with the property. We had a 2 bedroom suite, which was a really nice size for 2 adults and 3 kids. I was most impressed that the property had a real resort feel, that I wasn't expecting. The rooms were really nicely decorated, the staff was friendly and outgoing without being obtrusive, the breakfast was really good, and the kids absolutely loved the pool and the hot tubs. We'd stay again for sure.

Room Tip: we had a room facing the pool, on the second floor, and it was really nice. We had a good view of t...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Easy access off I10. Parking good. Rooms spacious and renovated. Had a corner room so backed onto a green area. Being able to sit and watch the wild life from the balcony was great. Kitchen area clean with all necessary cooking utensils. Easy to prepare your own meals of which we took full advantage. Close to shopping centre to buy food items. Lovely pool. All new furniture. Pool area well maintained. Daily breakfast hot and ready to eat. Front desk very helpful and knowledgeable. Always addressed any stay issues or concerns promptly. Close to golf courses. So short drive access. Easy walking around the hotel.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Bonnie155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

A very nice hotel with very spacious and newly renovated rooms. Nice kitchen area which we didn't use but would be perfect for someone staying a few days. Kitchen has full size fridge, oven , stove, microwave... basically everything you need if you plan to prepare our own meals. Bathroom was very clean. Room has a good size (about 32" diag) flat panel TV. Good size pool area with 3 different jacuzzis. Small but well maintained gym. Tennis courts. Some rooms have view of the golf course next door. Nice breakfast with good selection... not just muffins & juice. The negatives were: Layout of room (smaller room with 1 bed) doesn't allow people sitting on bed and people on Sofa/bed to watch TV together...TV swings to face one or the other. Sofa folds into a bed but its too small for two teens or two adults. Hotel does allow pets which is good if you have a pet and bad if you don't. In our case, the room next door had two little dogs that started barking at 3AM. Overall, we were very satisfied with the hotel.

Room Tip: This hotel allows pets so if you are bothered by barking, ask for a room next to a non-pet room.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Almaden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012 via mobile

Was able to stay over thanksgiving holiday. The hotel was perfect. Patios, kitchens,and pet friendly. The suite was big enough for 5 or 6. Complimentary breakfast was very convenient. The location was close to Palm Springs and the surrounding areas.The pools were clean and very inviting. The hotel had wonderful grounds for walking my dog. Overall it was a great place for my family including our pet! Will stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elena C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm Desert hotels
1.0 mi away
The Westin Desert Willow Villas
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Palm Desert
0.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Palm Desert
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Palm Desert
Courtyard Palm Desert
#14 of 22 in Palm Desert
251 reviews
3.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Palm Desert Resort
0.9 mi away
Embarc Palm Desert
Embarc Palm Desert
#9 of 22 in Palm Desert
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Palm Desert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Palm Desert

Address: 38305 Cook St, Palm Desert, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92211-1794
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Desert
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Palm Desert
#10 Family Hotel in Palm Desert
Price Range: $97 - $247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Palm Desert 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 350 sunny days a year, guests at our Palm Desert hotel enjoy stunning views of the Santa Rosa Mountains and outdoor activities like golf (over 30 courses) or tennis (over 150 courts) all year long. Shop at over 1,050 retail establishments, venture to several premiere casinos, or take the Palm Springs Aerial Tramway up to Mt. San Jacinto. Our property specializes in extended stays, so you can expect finding home comforts, including a fully equipped kitchen, spas, complimentary buffet breakfast and evening social receptions. Leave your grocery list at the front desk and come back to a fully stocked kitchen at night at our suites in Palm Desert, California. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn Palm Desert reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Palm Desert Hotel Palm Desert
Palm Desert Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing