We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay, some reservations for business travelers”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Residence Inn Palm Desert
Ranked #13 of 22 Hotels in Palm Desert
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good stay, some reservations for business travelers”
Reviewed May 7, 2012

This is a very nice hotel. The rooms are large and the price is reasonable. The front desk was very friendly and helpful, the happy hour had wine and beer as well as sodas, and the salad was a more substantial food item than I normally see at these things. However, there are no elevators, so be ready to haul your things upstairs in the heat, the internet is wired-only, and even that is very, very slow. If you need to work, this probably isn't the hotel for you, but I would recommend it for a vacation, especially if you have kids--there's a pull out sofa they can sleep on so you are all in one room.

Room Tip: Upstairs for quiet (but no elevator), Building three was quiet and had nice view of the golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cmbtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    128
    57
    27
    12
See reviews for
96
135
17
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Orange County, CA
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2012

My stay at the Residence Inn in Palm Desert was pleasant, but it's easy to see why this property gets mixed reviews.

The Good: I booked a 2-bedroom unit. The price was right, and far less expensive than getting two rooms. Our unit, upstairs in building 3, was quiet and had a balcony over the dogwalk, facing an adjacent golf course. Parking was easy, even though the place seemed packed. Checkin was my only contact with hotel staff, and that went fine. Another bonus is that every unit has a balcony or patio. The patio on the unit I had was off the living room and had seating for 4.

The Bad: The property shows lots of wear. Doors to units need painting, as does the balcony area. The door to my bedroom, inside the unit, had a split at the bottom. A lot of guests were smoking in the outdoor area outside the Gatehouse. That was unfortunate because it is a common sitting area, and a nice area to have breakfast - if there weren't people next to you smoking. Smoking is encouraged in the area because there are stands for cigarette ashes and butts. That's unfortunate for those of us who do not smoke. The smoking area should be elsewhere.

Overall: While my unit was quiet and offered privacy, some first floor units are right along the walking path - such as Building 6. Building 1 is along a busy street, which I imagine would be noisy. I don't think that I'd accept a downstairs unit along the roadway or walking path.

I'd stay here again, if the price is right. I felt that this could be a nice alternative to the mega-resorts in Palm Desert.

Room Tip: Stay on the second floor. Avoid buidlings 1 and 6. Do not stay along the drive way.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RMA626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 10, 2012

We stayed here for 1 night early April. We are a family of five, 3 kids & adults. The grounds are nice but the rooms need some updating. The studio was semi clean, the king bed was missing a mattress pad and it took 3 calls to get it. Once it arrived it only covered 1/4th of the king size bed. The fold out couch was not in great shape either. The mattress was old and worn. Again the bedding was below average. I requested a crib when I made the reservation and asked for it again at check in. It took several more phone calls and another 2 hours before it arrived. I spent a great deal of time cleaning the pack n play for it was also in very poor shape. The kids did enjoy the pool and the tennis court. The front desk was friendly but housekeeping could use a little improvement. I enjoy staying at Residence Inn properties when traveling with the kids, but the Category 4 rating is a tad high for this one. On a positive note, the patio was nice.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank P T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim Z, General Manager at Residence Inn Palm Desert, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Dear PT, it sounds like if we could fix our response time and renovate our rooms we would have your loyalty. Thank you so much for posting your experience on tripadvisor and wanted you to know we are up to the challenge. Our renovation begins the first week of September and will be completed early November, this will include all guestrooms and gatehouse so we are excited to have you come back and enjoy our new room when you are back in the valley and need a place to stay. Along with our renovation we are finally getting WiFi in all of our suites and is underway as we speak, should be completed soon and we can toss out the ethernet cords and you can enjoy your wireless devices in your suite. We will also share your comments with all of our staff who are responsible for service and improve our response time for delivery, certainly opportunity there and we will be ready.

Thank you again for sharing,

Sincerely,

Jim Zeltner, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seal Beach, California
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2012

The good, the rooms are big well furnished and nice appliances. The bad, the beds seem tired. Good location and a good value considering you get a free breakfast and internet.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeffreyj356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2012 via mobile

Stayed in 714. Room in need of cleaning and maintenance. Sloppy housekeeping. Had to call for TP, hair dryer, dishwasher detergent, coffee replacement, etc.
Unidentified goo on wall. Bathroom sink stopper jammed shut. Did credit me $100 on a 3 night stay, but never again.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim Z, General Manager at Residence Inn Palm Desert, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Dear Nancy M, thank you for taking the time to share your comments and I can assure you although I have been slow to respond to your posting all of the service issues had been addressed. Missing the basics is unacceptable and I am really sorry. We have systems which prevent results like this and when thats broken we lose customers. Please come back and give us another chance. We have a renovation scheduled for this summer, new WiFi in all of our rooms, and a great new attitude for doing things right the first time, in your case the second.

I hope you reconsider and see you soon,

Sincerely,

Jim Zeltner, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2012

This is a lovely property. We were greeted nicely at reception by a helpful lady. We had a studio, which basic but fine. That being said, Residence Inn is not an inexpensive property, and I was disappointed to see where they miss the mark on the small things that matter. 1) Conditioner - this is not a luxury but a basic amenity! Really, women do not go without. 2) Soap - one bar to use for both the shower and sink? Inexcusable. I shouldn't have to make a call for either of these items.

Room Tip: Facing the golf course - an upper floor for view if you're ok with stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CAPatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Cod, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 11, 2012

We arrived after an extended cross country trip from Massachusetts. We had requested a high floor on the Marriott website. We were given a room on the second (top) floor of the complex. No mention of no elevators and my husband and I are disabled.Spoke to desk clerk and explained situation. She told us there were no rooms on the first floor as hotel was booked up. So we lost one day of a much needed vacation unable to bring up our luggage and clothes. Requested a change of rooms for next day and promised a call first thing. No call. We had to initiate a change to a new room. I could not find a mention on their website mentioning the inaccessability issue for disabled. What bothered us was the attitude of not caring by front desk.
Also, we stay at Marriott properties almost exclusively. This was not one of their best hotels.Pool area small. Found the bed completely soft and sagging. Housecleaning very bad. New room bathroom very dirty and had to request housecleaning come down to reclean. Pots had been returned to the cabinets dirty with water in them. When I spoke to the cleaning mgr she told me that the maid would be sent back to the room as she needed to learn her job. Maid upset. Husband picked up magazines on coffee table to find flosser pic that had been left there and missed by housekeeping.The overall cleaniness left a lot to be desired. Garbage cans at pool overflowing for two days straight. Spilled stains over walkways left indefintely.Just felt dirty on top of problems mentioned. Very disappointed as we love this area. First time staying at this Marriott. Usually stay at the Courtyard in Palm Springs, much better.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm Desert hotels
1.0 mi away
The Westin Desert Willow Villas
0.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Palm Desert
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Palm Desert
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Palm Desert
Courtyard Palm Desert
#16 of 22 in Palm Desert
248 reviews
3.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Palm Desert Resort
1.3 mi away
Marriott's Desert Springs Villas II
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Palm Desert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Palm Desert

Property: Residence Inn Palm Desert
Address: 38305 Cook St, Palm Desert, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92211-1794
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Desert
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Palm Desert
#10 Family Hotel in Palm Desert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Palm Desert 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn Palm Desert reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Palm Desert Hotel Palm Desert
Palm Desert Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing