We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shadow Mountain Resort and Club
Ranked #12 of 22 Hotels in Palm Desert
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego CA
Level Contributor
335 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
“Another great visit”
Reviewed October 31, 2013

We have stayed at this resort maybe 20 times. We are avid tennis players and we often take a large group of 30-55 people to Shadow Mountain twice per year. The resort has a huge pool, Jacuzzi, grass volleyball net and a ton of tennis courts, including a few "clay" courts. There is a small restaurant/café, and in season, a lower smoothie bar. If you look hard, you can find a smaller cardio room, and massage services are available. They run the Desert Tennis Academy from here and the workouts are tough. The pro shop can usually find you a decent tennis game upon request. The rooms are a spread of sudios, 2 and 3 bedroom condos that surround the core pool/tennis facilities. The studios have a kitchenette; the larger condos have a full kitchen, dining room, living room, and typically, a patio. These units are individually owned and they are typically put into a rental pool for day/weekend/week use. This place is pretty fairly priced and it has a good Palm Desert location. Check it out online.

Room Tip: Most rooms surround the greenbelt areas. There are a series of rooms that face the pool and greenbe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nadojeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management C, Owner at Shadow Mountain Resort and Club, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
We value our return guests and are glad you enjoyed your recent visit. Our tennis courts are buzzing with great players. And, the Desert Tennis Academy is the best for some serious, but fun play. Your patronage is huge for us and we do appreciate it over the years. We hope to see you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    50
    15
    4
    0
See reviews for
30
52
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Ok, this is an older property dating back to 1940s and its not 5 star, but we have loved this stay. We extended to 9 nights and don't want to leave!

Location: walking distance from elpaseo which is a good shopping street with lots of restaurants.

Accommodation: we r styling in a tennis studio overlooking pool and courts. It's about 500 sq feet and well appointed. It's modern and clean with daily maid service ( they do any dishes that u didn't fit in the dishwasher!) the kitchen has everything... Toaster, blender, garlic press etc.
Warning: the accommodation varies, we saw a 1940s studio ( pretty retro now) and an ultra trendy studio within the complex. If you don't like your room, ask for another as they are privately owned.

Tennis:We are taking tennis lessons each day - John is a great coach and we've really enjoyed this aspect. I am a beginner but my husband has played games with other guests and joined more sophisticated sessions. There's a really nice feeling around the resort; people are very welcoming.

Pool: it's a massive pool and maybe due to timing of our stay ( October) pretty empty. There are also ther smaller pools amongst the villas plus hot tubs, but we didn't use them.

Cafe: the cafe is only open 5 days a week for lunch and breakfast, but it does good salads and sandwiches at very reasonable prices

Downsides: it's a 3 star, there's no pool bar service like you would get at the four seasons. Also, no pool towels provided and loungers are a little dated. There are lots of flowers and good planting but hotel is not immaculate.

The resort is great value at 80-100 usd per night ( we booked online) plus 15 usd pp resort fee Due to location it seems to serve an order clientele, ( we were anomalies with a 6mth old baby).
We did a day trip to joshua tree park ( 1 hr drive) and an afternoon up the tram/cable car (45 min drive). We preferred the former as it was a more unusual place but both were good. As for the tram, it was about 20 degrees cooler at the top so about 65 degrees, only requiring a jumper when you were in shade.

Room Tip: Try to get a room overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PendyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management C, Owner at Shadow Mountain Resort and Club, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
We are so grateful that you tried the resort and feel the value in our accommodations and location. Your comments are appreciated. Thank you for complimenting John, he is a great tennis pro amongst some of the best here! We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Level Contributor
311 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

We are already planning our return visit to Shadow Mountain! Loved our condo with the beautiful, huge pool right outside our door. The accommodations were very comfortable and tastefully decorated. I want to find a rug like the one in our condo, it was so retro chic! The huge, comfortable bed was heavenly, really liked the duvet and all the pillows. Our kitchen area was convenient and well stocked, great for snacks or heating up restaurant leftovers. Coffee maker was efficient, (especially important to me!) only disappointment was the restaurant on the premises was closed during our 2 day stay :-( oh well, another good reason to return to Shadow Mountain!! Compliments to the grounds staff for the immaculate garden areas and to the housekeeping staff for the pristine rooms. The bath amenities were wonderful...loved the soap! Reception staff are gracious and very helpful with recommendations for dining and shopping. Thank you for a wonderful, but brief visit. Hope to return someday soon!

Room Tip: Studio condos overlooking the pool are great. The patios are a perfect place to enjoy your morning c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank happy4travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management C, Owner at Shadow Mountain Resort and Club, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
So glad you enjoyed your poolside studio, it's a great location to the figure 8 pool. Thank you for your nice comments on our landscape and amenities too. Glad you found us and sure hope to see you back again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

If you want good rates, peaceful quiet and lots of sun, the Shadow Mountain Resort is well able to provide them to you! We had a plesant stay for a week in a one bedroom condo. It was "homey" and had all the equipment needed for a delightful vacation. The Shadow Montain Golf Course is located a short walk across the parking lot with great rates and plentifull tee times. 6:30 a.m. tee times are preferrred becuase of the heat. The swimming pool is gigantic and can according to the sign accomodate 300 people! It is the first time that we have encountered a depth of 12' in a swimming pool! Becuase it is only a short walk to El Paseo Drive, it is close to the best restaurants and shopping (many of whom had mid-summer low priced sales, much to my wife's delight.The bars, restaurants and most of the tennis courts were closed for the summer season,

Room Tip: Choose the condos by the golf course and away from the crowds
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edmarchm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management C, Owner at Shadow Mountain Resort and Club, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Were so glad you visited the resort when the desert is a bit quieter, for a change. Weather can be on the warm side, but it's such a great time to take advantage of the great specials in some of the best restaurants that you can walk to! And, there's always the grand pool to cool off in. BTW, our tennis courts are open all year and usually have a lot of early morning play in the summer months. Sorry we missed you out there. Hope to see you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We've visited this resort many times in the past for a national tennis tournament (airline) held there for many years and have always enjoyed the resort. This time we went just to get away. The room was very well appointed and the air conditioner worked wonderfully (August).
The value for the money is terrific and I'm sure we will visit again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tbock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Level Contributor
41 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

We found this resort by chance and we started with a few days but kept prolonging so we ended up spending the rest of our vacation here.
A beautiful resort with very good tenniscourts and pro's. there is a nice breakfast and lunch restaurant on the premises with simple but very good homecooked food. Everything made from start.
The rooms/apartments are quite different since they are owned by private owners. We had to change room a the beginning since the first we got was very dated. There is a barbeque you can rent in the evening by the pool and it's a nice area to sit around.
The location is good and it is very near the big shopping street.
There is also a good golf course and outstanding bicycling possibilities around.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MallorcaEurope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management C, Owner at Shadow Mountain Resort and Club, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Thanks for giving us a try! We're glad you enjoyed yourselves enough to extend your stay and appreciate your comments. Please let us know when you want to return, we'd love to have you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

My husband and I stayed here after our son in Washinton sent us a gift certificate site unseen. It was a nice property although not as extravagant as other ones in the area.
I would rate this similar to a 3 star+ property because we stayed in one of the remodeled studio rooms and it was very nice with a nice little granite kitchen with a full size refrigerator and wood floors. Our room was on the second floor overlooking the pool with a nice little balcony you could sit out on. Kind of motelish but at only $128 a night mid week with free parking it was a deal. Very close to El Paseo shopping which was nice. Lots of restaurants close by too. We would stay again if we wanted more than one night at an economical price. Bed was decent but not "heavenly".

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JanisSpokane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management C, Owner at Shadow Mountain Resort and Club, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
We're so glad you took advantage of your son's gift to stay with us. Our poolside studios are quite popular overlooking our figure eight pool, but we also offer larger one, two, and three bedroom condos if more room is needed. Glad to see you noticed how close we are to El Paseo's shopping and dining district too. We do hope you return and look forward to your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm Desert hotels
3.3 mi away
The Westin Desert Willow Villas
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Palm Desert Resort
4.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Palm Desert
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Marriott's Desert Springs Villas II
2.8 mi away
JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa
4.6 mi away
Marriott's Shadow Ridge I-The Villages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shadow Mountain Resort and Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shadow Mountain Resort and Club

Property: Shadow Mountain Resort and Club
Address: 45750 San Luis Rey Ave, Palm Desert, CA 92260-4728
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Desert
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Palm Desert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shadow Mountain Resort and Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming resort, breathtaking views, figure-eight swimming pool, home to the Desert Tennis Academy with lessons & clinics. Located in the heart of Palm Desert, California, the Resort is walking distance to the fabulous shops, restaurants and art galleries along the famed El Paseo Drive. Resort offers cafe & bar (breakfast and lunch), complimentary tennis on 16 tennis courts, pickleball, tennis pro-shop, four heated pools, five hot tubs, fitness room, massage service, saunas, poolside patio BBQ, volleyball, basketball, bicycle rentals, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Shadow Mountain Resort and Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shadow Mountain Resort And Club Hotel Palm Desert
Shadow Mountain Hotel
Shadow Mountain Resort Palm Desert

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing