We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Old School” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Shadow Mountain Resort and Club

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Shadow Mountain Resort and Club
Ranked #15 of 22 Hotels in Palm Desert
Certificate of Excellence
Whitchurch-Stouffville, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Old School”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

This course is located near where we stay in the desert, so I like it based on that and the low rates (especially if booking through a discount golf website). I'll certainly not fault the place for being built long ago and within a busy residential community, but with that comes some drawbacks - a lot of flat, straight, back and forth holes, narrow fairways with homes immediately adjacent, and tee boxes right behind the greens. Lots of "Fore" and balls hitting hard objects could be heard around the course... Seems to me we liked the back nine better than the front. Hilarious dog on fenced property at hole number 12, I think. He drops tennis balls to passing golfers through the fence for you to toss over for him to fetch - highlight of the round! Clubhouse is nothing to speak of and is due for a complete overhaul.

Helpful?
1 Thank Sweetmona1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management C, General Manager at Shadow Mountain Resort and Club, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thanks for trying out the golf course, we appreciate your candid comments about the clubhouse and our great location. The club is under new management as of September 2012 and we have since then made many improvements to the course itself and a complete overhaul of the Mens Lounge. We hope you will check back with us as we continues to make things even better!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    42
    11
    4
    0
See reviews for
22
43
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

We dropped in for tennis clinics which were excellent. The pros were great. The sessions were fun. Not boring. Great instruction for all levels of expertise. All of staff was wonderful. Welcoming environment. 5 out of 5.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Francine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management C, General Manager at Shadow Mountain Resort and Club, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
We're so glad you enjoyed your tennis clinic and do hope to see you again soon. Our pros can help teams fine tune their skills and make it fun while you work hard, so please tell your friends and let us put together some great tennis for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012 via mobile

Found this place through a special pricing offer. Thought we'd give it a shot and glad we did. Our unit was one of the smaller ones but more than spacious enough for a family of 4. The kitchenette was nice and allowed us to cook meals, saving lots of $$. The pool was huge and they provided toys & noodles for the kids. The only negative was that I did spot a critter in the sink (something I read in another review & was hoping we wouldn't find) but if you can get passed that, the place was a great value.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryAnnN14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redlands,CA
Level Contributor
133 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

My wife and I went out for a tennis weekend and Shadow Mountain was perfect. We were attracted to the 16 well maintained tennis courts but really liked the overall ambiance. The property is a little dated but a great value and a perfect location. Only 2 blocks off of El Paseo, with ample restaurants and shopping. We stayed in a studio which was a nice change from the typical hotel room. Lots of space, a sleeper couch and a kitchenette made for a confortable weekend. Now the best part, we booked 2 nights and got the third night for free! The large pool area is perfect for families and the hotel staff were very accommodating. Overall a great weekend getaway.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Redlands_CAFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management C, General Manager at Shadow Mountain Resort and Club, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
We sure are glad you stayed with us and enjoyed your last night free. Please come back and join us for a tennis lesson or clinic. Our pros are great! And, our location just can't be matched. Thanks for your nice comments. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

although i lived in southern california for 3 years i had never traveled to palm desert so took advantage of being in the area for a wedding, and finally explored the area. we met my NoCal cousins at Shadow Mountain Resort, which i found on tripadvisor and as usual, it didn't let me down. we stayed in a 2 bedroom condo in the green belt (near the pool, which as the previous reviewer KG said, was amazing!). the condo was very clean and cozy with nice living area with good TV. this condo did not have its own wifi and the connection from the lobby was weak at best, but we managed!! kitchen had everything you could need (we used toaster and frig). master had clean and large shower and bath, bedding clean. second bedroom also clean but no attached bathroom. had nice patio with table and chairs, grill appeared a tad dirty but we didn't use it. Ate at a great mexican bar & grill, Fresh Agave (great!) and second night at Pacific Grill (good). reception were fine, had papers and pool towel available and were very cheerful the couple of times were went to the lobby. lobby area looked very comfortable as well. tennis and some golf available on site but when we were not exploring the Living Desert located nearby and i suggest a must to visit (it was amazing) we were in the aforementioned pool. A delight! will be back for sure.

Room Tip: i called the reception and asked to be located near the pool since i knew visiting in the summer mea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank calkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management C, General Manager at Shadow Mountain Resort and Club, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
We are so glad you tried us, and some of our favorites places too! Our proximity is so close to great restaurants and worldclass shopping that many walk from the resort. The Living Desert is a special place that many of our guests enjoy since it is just a mile away. All ages love the animals (especially the giraffes) and old fashioned model train village. We hope to see you and your friends back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONG BEACH
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

My husband and I spent last weekend at Shadow Mountain Resort. For the last four years we visit two or three times in the summer. Call us crazy but we love to float in the amazing pool during the hot summer days. We have stayed at many of the different studio units and love them all. Some are "vintage" and others remodeled. The location is perfect; central to many restaurants and Target in case you run out of sunscreen. We love to stop at Jensen's market to stock up on deli items so that after our day in the pool we can enjoy a quick and delicious meal in our room. The staff at the resort has been wonderful each time we have visited and I highly recommend you check this place out if you are going to be in the Palm Desert area.

Room Tip: When you book your room, ask for a remodeled room to get the nicest accomodations available
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KRISTINE G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management C, General Manager at Shadow Mountain Resort and Club, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Thank you for the nice comments. We are happy that you enjoy the pool, even in our warmer weather. And, our location which cannot be beat. Some don't realize just how relaxed the desert is in the summer, with so many dining specials walking distance from your room. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

We, a group of four women on a cycling trip, very much enjoyed our stay at this resort. The location was perfect for us to walk to restaurants and shopping. We were also close to our bike and vehicle rental. Our first night was in a studio - nothing fancy but clean with everything we needed. We then moved to a two bedroom condo - quiet, spacious and clean with parking close by. The staff were very friendly and helpful, allowing us a late check-out. The housekeeping staff even moved our bags from one room to the other AND put our beer and wine in the fridge for us! The pool was very welcome after a hot day cycling. The grounds were very obviously well looked after.
Our only complaints - no wi-fi available in the condo and the coffee bags provided were way too small for the size of coffee pot. Would love to return someday.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sue3089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Shadow Mountain Resort and Club, responded to this review, June 29, 2012
We are so glad you let us be part of your girls weekend. Being walking distance to everything on El Paseo for great shopping and food makes our location prime, and having the option of a two or three bedroom condo for all the gals is always fun. We appreciate your kind comments about staff and the grounds. We work hard to keep our resort beautiful, and are working on getting wifi in more condos for our many business travelers. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palm Desert
3.3 mi away
The Westin Desert Willow Villas
0.6 mi away
International Hotel & Suites
International Hotel & Suites
#13 of 22 in Palm Desert
4.0 of 5 stars 358 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mojave Resort
Mojave Resort
#16 of 22 in Palm Desert
4.5 of 5 stars 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert / Rancho Mirage
2.7 mi away
Marriott's Desert Springs Villas II
2.8 mi away
JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shadow Mountain Resort and Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shadow Mountain Resort and Club

Property: Shadow Mountain Resort and Club
Address: 45750 San Luis Rey Ave, Palm Desert, CA 92260-4728
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Desert
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Palm Desert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shadow Mountain Resort and Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming resort, breathtaking views, figure-eight swimming pool, home to the Desert Tennis Academy with lessons & clinics. Located in the heart of Palm Desert, California, the Resort is walking distance to the fabulous shops, restaurants and art galleries along the famed El Paseo Drive. Resort offers cafe & bar (breakfast and lunch), complimentary tennis on 16 tennis courts, pickleball, tennis pro-shop, four heated pools, five hot tubs, fitness room, massage service, saunas, poolside patio BBQ, volleyball, basketball, bicycle rentals, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Shadow Mountain Resort and Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shadow Mountain Resort And Club Hotel Palm Desert
Shadow Mountain Hotel
Shadow Mountain Resort Palm Desert

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing