We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Marriott's Desert Springs Villas I
Ranked #7 of 22 Hotels in Palm Desert
Certificate of Excellence
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
182 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Nice Stay”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

We have just finished a week stay and except for a couple of hiccups with rowdy neighbors and wifi issues, our visit was what we have come to expect from Marriott time-shares (we are owners of three weeks at other locations as well as points owners). When we reported our issues to the front desk, front desk Manager Katie Quam took aggressive steps to have security shut down the beginning of a second rowdy night and determined that there was a problem with Wifi on our building. She was great at following up with both issues. The only reason that I am not giving the resort an excellent rating is that I think the on-site market should have more available for pool-side self-service of drinks and food. As this is the off-season their offerings may be scaled down. We enjoyed being close to the tennis courts as it made walking to the JW Marriott to use their facilities very convenient. We enjoyed both golf courses and would not hesitate to return. We enjoyed lunches at The Landing (JW Marriott), Las Consuelas and The 19th Hole Sports Bar. Dinners at The Nest, Restaurant Mama Gina's, The Cliff House and Pacifica (The Nest and Pacifica are sister restaurants and have similar menus).

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank BuckyandChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    126
    36
    19
    19
See reviews for
167
139
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Hills, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We've been owners here for about 15 years. Our newly refurbished unit In building J is wonderful. The bed is very comfortable and the unit has everything one would need while vacationing. My disappointment is the lack of security at the clubhouse pool. It clearly states on the entrance gates that floats, coolers, etc. are not allowed and yet the rules are not being followed. It wasn't until I brought this to a manager's attention was security called. Security came within 15 minutes and the largest float was removed but the rest remained in the pool. Hopefully security will be more active at this particular pool.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fly_today
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
122 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

I've owned here 20+ years but this is my first review of DSV 1. Everything from check-in to check-out is first-rate.
Check-in has improved with a better queue system. There are nice lounges for you party to wait in while you check-in. The villas are very large and most if not all, have a view of the golf course. The weather in June was a little HOT for me but I've stayed here at other times of the year and it's perfect. The wind was up a little so there was stuff blowing off the trees onto the deck, but no biggy. The Marketplace has essentials and extras. the Service there was excellent as well. Check-out was a breeze. There is someone at the front desk virtually 24/7. I had a package delivered and it was secure until I picked it up at the mailroom.
All in all, always a pleasure to look forward to coming back here.

Room Tip: Buildings U, V, W face southeast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank usaw1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Viejo, California
Level Contributor
218 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

We asked for a lower level room by the hotel so we could use the pool. We are in rooms 9325 and 9326 - there is a wonderful view of the golf course. We were able to sit on the patio and watch the golfers, have the ducks come and visit. We were a short walk to the small pool- great for adults. If we had small children - it would be better to ask for a unit closer to the larger pool that has a kiddie area, volleyball nets etc. plus that pool has a bar and restaurant. Our location was in short walking distance to the hotel which you are allowed to use Mon- Friday for free as a Villa 1 guest. If you want to use the pool as a Villa II or during the weekends it is a whopping $20 a day.... better off staying at the villa pools. The rooms are spacious, plenty of room for a family to have space. We took the two bedroom villa so the kids could have the second room and have some space. Enjoyed the whole experience- would come again.

Room Tip: We loved being close to the small pool, the hotel pool and the tennis courts- room 9325
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rita T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pawleys Island, South Carolina
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

The 2 bedroom lock out unit we stayed in late may was very large. even the lock out portion was spacious with its own patio. We had a corner unit with nice view of the golf course. The resort location was convenient to highway, golf courses restaurants and shopping. We would definitely return to this resort.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank peter r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bend, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Our trip was very relaxing. We stayed in a newly refurbished unit. It was very roomy. The deck floor was very dirty. Would come in with black feet. Many pools to choose from. Ended up going to the kids pool most of the time. The only issue with the pools was there was a lot of stuff floating in there. (Bugs, bees, leaves, other stuff.). Also saw a lot of children using pool with diapers without pull-ups on. If you get a chance have to go to the JW Marriott very nice clean pools and take a ride on there boat ride. Very nice for the kids. We got food at vans not too far away.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jhwollner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Visiting with friends who own a timeshare and it's always a great location. Villas have been redecorated nicely and we love the updated kitchen with the gas stovetop. The lockout is big and a great second room with double beds and a giant bathroom. Villas are stocked well with the basics in the kitchen and bathroom. There is a marketplace that is perfect with the extras you need or forgot. Marriott workers have been very personable and nice.

Room Tip: Villas 1 is older than Villas 2 but larger and have been remodeled. Villas 1 you can use the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jlamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palm Desert
1.0 mi away
The Westin Desert Willow Villas
4.4 mi away
The Westin Mission Hills Villas
The Westin Mission Hills Villas
#1 of 8 in Rancho Mirage
897 reviews
0.2 mi away
Marriott's Desert Springs Villas II
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Marriott's Shadow Ridge I-The Villages
0.2 mi away
JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa
2.7 mi away
Omni Rancho Las Palmas Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Desert Springs Villas I? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Desert Springs Villas I

Property: Marriott's Desert Springs Villas I
Address: 1091 Pinehurst Ln, Palm Desert, CA 92260-1636
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Desert
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Palm Desert
#4 Romantic Hotel in Palm Desert
#6 Family Hotel in Palm Desert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Desert Springs Villas I 3.5*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palm Desert serves as the exceptional setting for Marriott's Desert Springs Villas. Beautifully designed on 400 acres. Adjacent to the JW Marriott Resort & Spa. Enjoy 36 holes of manicured fairways, exquisite tennis facilities, a lavish European spa and tempting cuisine. On-site, soak up the sun and relax with 7 luxurious pools. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotel.de, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marriott's Desert Springs Villas I reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Desert Springs Villas i Hotel Palm Desert
Marriotts Palm Desert
Marriott Palm Desert
Palm Desert Marriotts

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing