We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will stay again” 4 of 5 stars
Review of International Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
International Hotel & Suites
Ranked #13 of 22 Hotels in Palm Desert
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Will stay again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We had a great experience at the International Lodge. Outside was not as nice as inside but, rooms were big, full kitchen fully stocked, ceiling fan, canned lighting, couch, small bar area and bar stools. Room was very comfortable and spacious. Alan, was very nice, walked us to our room, called after our stay to ask how we liked the stay. We couldn't check in early because it was full, however, he made a call to us around noon advising we could check in. Service was excellent. We will stay again. Thank you Alan.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tracyborn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan G, General Manager at International Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review and tell us about your experience! My staff and I truly appreciate your thoughts and feedback. Most of all we are happy you had a wonderful stay! I agree with you that our large full sized kitchens are such a convenience for our guests. Please come again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    85
    23
    19
    35
See reviews for
81
119
31
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

The room is large and bright. I really enjoyed the location being close to everything. I would recommend staying in the Lodge and it is comparable to any 3 star hotel in Palm Desert or Palm Springs. I do suggest that if you need anything or have any questions make sure you ask, and they will be addressed by Allan. Amenities include a coin operated laundry room, heated pool and hot tub, (no fitness facility or restaurant).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SiF2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan G, General Manager at International Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thank you for your suggestions on your way out. I am so happy you decided to make three future reservations with us. We will continue to improve our suites and grounds based on the feedback we get from guests such as yourself.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
69 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We have been coming to the Lodge for 3 years now and have enjoyed each year. We hope to book for December 2013 again. The stay each year is always memorable.
The Manager, Alan has been great for us. Staff Leo, Housekeeping all are really excellent and have made our stay a pleasure for us. We have rented #24 Unit for 3 years now and enjoy two queen beds, kitchen, living room, nice balcony on 2nd floor and good size bathroom with double sinks. Lots of large storage closet for our golf clubs etc. The location is just superb. Minutes to famous El Paseo Drive, grocery stores, restaurants, good bus lines (50 cents for Seniors) over 7 cities in the Coachella Valley to explore. Golf courses, excellent trails for walking, running, biking etc. Safe area. Relaxing hot tub and two swimming pools. Our studio is ideal and accomodates our family when they come down to relax in the nice warm sunshine during the colder weather in Canada. We are thoroughly pleased with the facilities and would highly recommend it to anyone that wants a nice place that is affordable, clean, amenities close by, and easy access to travel to LA, Disneyland, those Hockey Games and enjoy Humana Challenge Golf. Enjoy the experience and relax!

Room Tip: We like C Building, quiet lovely courtyard, upstairs is with a lovely balcony to enjoy the afternoon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Buncy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

First off, the weekend we were there was a big weekend in October in Palm Springs--a huge bike rally--so to get a room for $99/night was a fantastic deal. When we drove up I was wondering what we got ourselves into. It's old, cinder-block style is much different than the resorts and hotels throughout the desert area. (I should probably confess that we also have a time share at the Westin Rancho Mirage, so I am used to "resort style" hotels) But when we walked in, the room was very clean and nicely decorated. I think the only complaints about the room itself would be the curtains--which were quite dirty--and some of the bathroom vanity area wasnt quite finished--ie the canned lights were not sealed off and were also very hot. However, the kitchen was very well stocked, which is wonderful! We also, thank goodness, had brought olive oil, which helped so we could get the sliding door opened.
There was also an issue with toilet paper and tissue paper. Alan did call me on Sunday once we returned home & apologized for that issue. Appararently there was a lack of ordering supplies on the part of the new housekeeping mgr.
Overall, the vibe there is very chill. The housekeeping staff is nice. While the pools aren't spectacular, on the other, had we could bring our own drinks and some appies out and it didn't cost us $100 for lunch and drinks by the pool
We will return again!

Room Tip: Definitely ask for one of the upgraded rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank oceanloversd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
70 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Service was fast and friendly. Room was modern, newly furnished, and very clean, and very quiet. There was a heated pool right outside the back door, but I didn't get a chance to use it. There was a Cactus Jacks restaurant and bar that was well rated on Yelp right across the street, a 5 minute walk, which was great. This place allows single night stays on the weekend also. I'd stay here again anytime.

Room Tip: I had a ground floor opening to pool, it was nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pmannaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan G, General Manager at International Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
It was a pleasure meeting you during your stay. Thank you for the kind words and we all hope to have you back shortly. Next time we hope to have you for an even longer stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belle Plaine, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

After renting a condo at the International Lodge in February 2011 and 2012, we decided not
to return in February 2013.since we had not received the contract for 2013 as promised. We
sent an e-mail to Alan on 8/15/2012 asking for a copy of our contract and received no response.
We sent another e-mail a month later cancelling our reservation (if we indeed had one) and
requesting our $300 deposit be returned - no response. We called Alan on 9/21/12 and asked him to cancel our reservation and return our $300 & he said he would and our deposit would be
mailed within 2 days. Never received it. Called Alan on 10/15/12 and he stated the check had
been sent and must be lost in the mail, he would place a stop payment on it and send the check
by registered mail and would call to let us know the tracking number. NO CALL AND NO CHECK. We then sent another e-mail over a week later and this one he actually responded to and again apologized said he was on vacation and would definitely return the deposit when
he returned on Monday. Guess what - no check. Our last contact with Alan was a week ago
when we text him and asked where our check was - another apology and said we would
again receive it in two days. We notice on this website he has time to respond to reviews but
somehow cannot find the time to return deposits to previous renters.

Room Tip: We received the room we reserved in 2011 but when we arrived in 2012 we did not receive the room we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Minnesotan42859
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

When i saw the outside of the hotel i thought it was going to be a standard everyday type of room. When i walked in i was greeted with great looking furniture, a full kitchen, and a balcony over looking the spa. We spent alot of time sipping wine on the balcony. It is a four minute drive to the living desert zoo. Half hour from the salton sea and twenty minutes from palm springs. If your into desert wild life thats a perfect place to stay.

Room Tip: I like the upstairs but downstairs opens strait to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm Desert hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert / Rancho Mirage
4.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Palm Desert
3.0 mi away
The Westin Desert Willow Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Palm Desert Resort
4.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Palm Desert
2.2 mi away
Marriott's Desert Springs Villas II
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to International Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about International Hotel & Suites

Property: International Hotel & Suites
Address: 74380 El Camino, Palm Desert, CA 92260-4429
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Desert
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Palm Desert
#11 Romantic Hotel in Palm Desert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — International Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The International Hotel & Suites has been providing exceptional service for over 35 years. The hotel's rooms compromise of all suites, with large kitchens and bathrooms. Each of our 52 Suites are unique in ambiance and furnishings. We carry a three diamond rating with AAA and boasts beautiful surroundings within minutes of world famous El Paseo Drive. Seventy percent of our guests are repeated customers. Come share the secret of Palm Desert's hidden gem. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your International Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
International Hotel Palm Desert

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing