We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointment”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Chez Pierre

Chez Pierre
Reserve with OpenTable
Chez Pierre is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #51 of 272 Restaurants in Palm Desert
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: HWY 111 and Portola Ave, next to the Chop House Restaurant
Palos Verdes Estates, California
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disappointment”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

We much looked forward to dining here for the past 3 years during our annual timeshare visit to the desert, having read mostly favorable reviews on this place. Four of us finally made the visit on a Thursday evening in May looking forward to the widely ballyhooed prix fixe 3 course dinner (since they were still out of frog's legs)!

Here in short is what we experienced: Good service, meh food!

Anytime a restaurant that claims to be a unique experience serves instant mashed potatoes and thoroughly watered down vegetables, much less at prime time of a 7 pm, should not expect return visits no matter if the entrees were good or not. These were probably prepared/slaughtered by the chef's minions, but still reflective upon Chef P, and he was standing right there in the preparation area during the whole service.

Actually, our entrees were the best of what they served us (Veal pot roast, & Beef Bourguignon & Duck Confit) but even so, they rate no higher than 3 stars for these: the veal had little veal taste, beef was OK, but the duck was overcooked and dry. The salads of celery remaloude and a garden salad were OK but quite unremarkable.
The standby Tarte Tartin was a 4 star taste but served with whipped cream rather than the ice cream mentioned previously in reviews.

After dinner the server brought out his portable credit card machine to the table where we had to review our bill and issue a tip with him standing there over us. This is not polite nor tasteful, as this business should be done at the diners' behest, not theirs.

We understand that next season CP will move to Highway #111 in a more accessible and visible PD location. With that move we would hope chef revives his cooking inspiration for the new location. IF reviews are good after that we would consider a return visit....but only after they finally put in a rasher of froggie feet.
Tom F. Palos Verdes, CA

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tomfs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    24
    13
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Redondo Beach
Level Contributor
51 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Customer Service is Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

This is a return trip to Chez Pierre, where as usual we were greeted by Pierre Pelech, owner/chef, and we settled in for an excellent meal. We began with escargot which came in butter, garlic and spinach. One of the best servings I have ever experienced. I had veal picata and was so happy with the delicate flavors and the perfect pasta it was served with. My wife had Alaskan Salmon, which was delicate and delicious. After the main course, I asked for vanilla ice cream and strawberries. The waiter came back and said we don't have any strawberries and Chef Pierre immediately jumped in and said I will go and get some and immediately walked out. By the time I had my coffee served, he returned with a box of strawberries, which were quickly cleaned and sliced, lightly sweetened and served over delicious vanilla ice cream. We then found that they have lost their lease and are closing on June 15th. Pierre assured us that he is re-opening about September 15th in a different Palm Desert location. He urged us to go to his web-site, chezpierrebistro.com, to find the details. We will certainly do that as we have a return sceduled for September.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank darylmcclusky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good French bistro food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Many classic French bistro dishes, well cooked and served by a very friendly and knowledgeable staff. Small but well selected and well priced wine list.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbell, California
Level Contributor
117 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Wonderful Authentic French Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

Hard to find! Tucked into the Towne Center in Palm Desert. The chef serves chicken liver pate with the bread and it is out of this world. Many delicious things on the menu: Mom's Beef Bourginoine was excellent. I had Sand Dabs in lemon butter wine sauce which were delicious. The chef came and wished my Mom a Happy Birthday. The service was excellent. Mom is hard to please so this place is a find. It has a casual bistro atmosphere and must be very nice on a warm day because there is covered outdoor seating.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank headachedoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Okay food but a bit overpriced”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

We wanted to have french food for dinner and searched for a places nearby. This place had good reviews on Yelp and we went. We had troubles finding it, it is hidden behind the Trader Joes. The atmosphere was nice, service was pretty good. Food was average. I've had french food many times before, including in France, and this place was just okay. My husband had onion soup and said it was tasteless. Complimentary pate served with bread was a nice touch. I felt that for the level of food, this place was a bit overpriced.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank medved73_2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chez Pierre also viewed

Palm Desert, California Desert
Palm Desert, California Desert
 
Palm Desert, California Desert
Palm Desert, California Desert
 
Palm Desert, California Desert
Palm Desert, California Desert
 

Been to Chez Pierre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing