We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love chinese food”
Review of City Wok

City Wok
Ranked #60 of 275 Restaurants in Palm Desert
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Food was good and most customers were locals who return often.
Staff knew most customers by name and were very friendly.

Thank Dwayne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking88, Manager at City Wok, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2012

You are quite correct in saying we do a great business with the locals. We've been in this location for 18 years. The staff has done a great job of creating a loyal following. Take care and hope to see you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (267)
There are newer reviews for City Wok
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

207 - 211 of 267 reviews

Reviewed November 12, 2012

The food here was great. I called in our order and it was ready when we arrived, so I was quickly in and out. The place was packed. It's not fancy, very casual and noisy. We'll be back next time we're in Palm Desert.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank cooperBozeman_Mt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking88, Manager at City Wok, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2012

Thank you for the kind words. Take out has always been a big focus for us. Look forward to seeing you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Love the fast service and delicious food. The ingredients are always fresh. My favorite is the Chin's spinach salad and my husband is a BIG fan of the City Wok curry rice with shrimp and pineapple.

Thank Phillyz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking88, Owner at City Wok, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2012

Thank you very much. The Spinach Salad and the Curry Rice with Shrimp and Pinapple are definitely two sleepers on our menu. Two great items that don't get the attention they should. We appreciate you noting them. Take care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I do not like writing negative reviews, but this one has to be done.
The food we NOT Chinese except in ingredients.
The service was basic at best (that is why 2 dots and not 1)
Worst of all they tried to miss bill us.
When the bill came we pointed out they over charged us on both dishes.
Their answer was (wait for it) "All prices are subject to change".
I asked the prices changed since we ordered?
They gave us a partial refund and earned this review.

It is a Gotta Avoid kinda place

IHG,
Rube

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TrippingAmerican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking88, Owner at City Wok, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Dear Tripping American. Please accept our sincere apology for the confusion regarding the prices on your check. We recently raised prices(.45-1.00) on a few items because our costs substantialy increased. The menus should have been changed to reflect that. It was certainly not intentional. However, the response you received was inappropriate at best.

We're also sorry you did not enjoy your meal. We would appreciate the chance to have you back to prove differently.

Once again, we apologize for your experience.

Take care. Stuart Davis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

This is one of our 'go to' places when we get a taste for good, good Asian food. We always start with the chicken lettuce wraps ... so fresh, so good, so delish! This last time we had the noodles with bbq pork and the spinach salad .. another hit. Food comes to the table quickly, served with a smile, is always tasty and we can't wait to go back!
I have to rate this as one of our favorite restaurants in the desert. And from the crowds that are always there, no matter when we are, it must be a favorite of everyone else, as well!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank BornInHawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed City Wok also viewed

Palm Desert, Greater Palm Springs
Palm Desert, Greater Palm Springs
 
Rancho Mirage, Greater Palm Springs
Rancho Mirage, Greater Palm Springs
 

Been to City Wok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing