We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Chop House Palm Desert - CLOSED

Chop House Palm Desert
Price range: $12 - $35
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Portola
Description: THE VALLEY'S FAVORITE SINCE 1992! Our Motto: Fresh.California. Happy! Born out of our love of food and hospitality, Kaiser Grille has been synonymous with quality and value for over twenty years in the Coachella Valley. Founded by Kaiser Morcus in 1992, Kaiser Grille quickly became a hotspot for locals and visitors alike. After a ten year hibernation in Palm Desert, his son, Eric is taking the helm in his new restaurant. We are located at the former Chop House location in Palm Desert. Fresh from a remodel and menu change, we are located just a few blocks away from where it all began over twenty years ago. Yet, as we all get better with age, we hope that this time of rest has given us more passion and inspiration to provide more enjoyment for your dining experience.
Palm Desert, California
Level Contributor
83 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

The evening started in the reception area where there seemed to be some confusion. Several parties with reservations (including our party of four) were kept waiting for 5-10 minutes as the restaurant tried to figure out what was going on. Finally got to our table in a nicely appointed dining area. After ordering a bottle of wine we waited about 15 minutes for its arrival. Much too long, in my opinion. The meal for the most part was OK. The steaks were good, but not great. Mine had a piece of gristle running through it and was not very marbled. But the bad news - the braised beef short rib. It was so dry (no juices or sauce) that my wife was unable to finish it. The service was OK, though we got sauteed spinach instead of creamed spinach. The side dishes, brussel sprouts, fries, and the erstwhile spinach, were all good. All in all, a disappointing evening. With all the good steakhouses in this area, I would not return here.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank palmdesertdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    20
    11
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
71 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Happy Hour”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

Food is just so-so. My wife had the burger which gave her an upset stomach. I bet is that the meat is the 80%, 20% fat combination.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank isomhg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great steaks and wine list”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

We've eaten here several times when wintering in the "Valley" and have never been disappointed.There are a lot of good steak places to eat here but The Chop House is competitive in terms of meat quality, professional and attentive servers, wine choices and seating options. Our filets were cooked perfectly (medium rare) and served "HOT". One menu feature we enjoy are the ala carte side dishes they offer. (The "small" size is plenty for two people as a complement to one's entree'.) A little pricey, but not out of reason for this area. (Free valet parking.)

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gene W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathedral City, CA
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“PRIME STEAK & SMILES”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

My friend and I decided we needed "cow" (as he puts it) before our 8pm concert at The McCallum theater. The Chop House was close by and turned out to be an excellent choice. This restaurant is in the former location of Ruth's Chris Steakhouse, which built a new facility and moved a mile or so East of where Chop House is now. My memory of it as Ruth's Chris was that it was the noisiest restaurant I'd ever dined in, but last night was not the case. Somehow, The Chop House has managed to tone down the ambient noise in the restaurant, so it was actually a nice dining experience. Our waitress was a charming young woman with a great big smile, and she made you feel good just to look at her. There's nothing worse than a "grumpy gus" waiter or waitress, but this woman was a breath of fresh air. My friend opted for the 16oz, bone-in ribeye, and given his moans of delight, I'm going to guess that his craving was satisfied. I chose the prix fixe menu item of medallions of filet mignon, crowned with crab meat and served with bernaise sauce and two stalks of asparagus. It was accompanied by a house salad, made up of artisan greens and a light, tasty vinegrette dressing. The meat melted in my mouth, the bernaise was yummy, and the crab meat was real. For a fixed price of $39, it was a good value and just enough food to satisfy me, yet not enough to make me fall asleep during the Renee' Fleming & Susan Graham concert later that evening. Imagine listening to two angels sing, with a belly full of good food and a couple glasses of 14 Hands Cabernet? The Chop House in Palm Desert is a great pre-concert dinner option.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coachella Valley, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A Not So Traditional Steak House”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

We always go back for the steak, prepared to perfection. But, don't overlook all their other options.
Rack of Lamb, Prime Rib and some of the best seafood in the desert. The creamed spinach is one of our favorite sides, but they are all good and you can order a large or single serving. The atmosphere is warm and friendly, a great place for a special occasion. We suggest a reservation because they do get busy and we wouldn't want you disappointed. Excellent wine list by the glass or bottle. We love the fact that the staff never rushes you so, sit back and enjoy the evening and the food.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank californiagirl072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chop House Palm Desert also viewed

Palm Desert, California Desert
Indio, California Desert
 
Palm Desert, California Desert
 
Palm Desert, California Desert
Palm Desert, California Desert
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing