We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scrumptious Schrimp Scampi in the desert”

ROC's Firehouse Grille
Ranked #38 of 272 Restaurants in Palm Desert
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Palm Springs, CA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Scrumptious Schrimp Scampi in the desert”
Reviewed June 19, 2014

The Shrimp Scampi is the best I've had in years - I like the Shrimp scampi appetizer even a bit better than as an entrée so I can focus my taste buds on the shrimp without the pasta! Scrumptious both ways! Soup, sandwiches, all great. It' a small, unassuming place and you wouldn't expect such great food. Service also excellent, and fall, winter & spring the large windows roll up and turn it into a charming outdoor/indoor dining experience.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lindyb711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    88
    30
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hesperia, California
Level Contributor
109 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Nice happy hour, ok for families!”
Reviewed June 18, 2014

The waiter knew I needed a margarita when I walked in, a little harried. lol. The mussels are very nice. I wanted to lap up the broth it was so good! The margarita was very good too! The children enjoyed the kid's menu and we all had a good time!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jewelty123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Cucamonga, California
Level Contributor
299 reviews
202 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Great tasting food and enjoyable atmosphere”
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Went to dinner with friends to watch a game or two and totally enjoyed our experience. First off the food was excellent and I am sure there is aomething for everyone, but the Ahi Tar Tar was awesome and then the Salmon Salad was perfect.
The service was fast anf friendly and will come back for sure.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank radman143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
336 reviews
269 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Good service, good food.”
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Stopped here for lunch about noon on a Tuesday after Memorial Day. Service was terrific as we were the only couple there. Wife had the Fire Marshal Sandwich, their version of a Reuben, with beer battered fries. Sandwich was a bit salty, could have been the cheese or the pastrami, but the fries were the best we've had in a long time. I had the bomber, a grilled sourdough with roast beef, mild chiles, and cheese with a tangy horseradish sauce for dipping. And great onion rings...sweet, crisp, and hot...right out of the fryer.
Prices are a bit steep but food and service were excellent.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 65oski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsboro, Oregon
Level Contributor
97 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“OK for a strip mall watering hole”
Reviewed March 29, 2014

We agree with some of the other reviewers in that the service was very good; prompt and friendly. But the food was pretty mediocre. The flavors were nothing to write home about but the prices were reasonable. I tried to order the baby back ribs that was a claim to fame but they were out at 8PM on a Monday night. The flat iron steak was so-so, the grilled salmon salad was less than so-so. However, the place was quite full with what appeared to be repeat customers so it must have something going for it. It just wasn't happening on the night of our visit.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Russell H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed ROC's Firehouse Grille also viewed

Palm Desert, California Desert
Palm Desert, California Desert
 
Palm Desert, California Desert
Palm Desert, California Desert
 
Palm Desert, California Desert
Palm Desert, California Desert
 

Been to ROC's Firehouse Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing