We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Palm Desert

“Unbelievable 🤯❤”
Review of Casuelas Cafe

Casuelas Cafe
Ranked #66 of 312 Restaurants in Palm Desert
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The margarita was the BEST I have ever had! Manuel made us feel welcome & special. I can not stress enough how incredible the Fajitas were. The flavors were beyond PERFECTION......absolutely a MUST try!!! I travel for work, eat out a lot....this place was recommended by an account! Thank you Mr. Mulherin you steered us perfectly. Loved every bite & every minute!!!

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank Trev0randRita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (146)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 146 reviews

Reviewed January 8, 2020

In California, there are many great Mexican restaurants, but this isn’t one of them. The chips and salsa... I get the impression that the food here is made by people who also work in skilled nursing facilities. The salsa tasted like it was made with V-8 juice...no flavor, no spice, no salt... terrible. The chips are clearly bagged chips most likely from The near by Wal Mart. The chips are not fresh, not warm, not salted. We had margaritas and had to send them back - they tasted like gasoline and we seriously doubted that they used the high quality premium liquor advertised on the menu - our assessment is that they are using cheap rot gut liquor. We each had carna asada burritos. These were ok - nothing fantastic, certainly not here in California, adequate. The service, once the waiters figured out that they actually needed to work, was good...service wasn’t great, but it was adequate. When all was said and done, lunch for 2, with no appetizers and only 1 drink each, set us back $100. When I spend $100 on lunch for two...I expect a whole lot better food and service.

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank sttherapy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2020

Service Was Excellent but the food need repairs. HUGE amounts of Cheese (Cheddar I think) was pored over everything and shredded on the taco. Very thick amount of breading on the Rellano and thick flour burrito. Had to search for the meat. Good price for the Happy Hour drinks and they were good. Chips and runny dip was ok. Prices were up there for the food received.

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2019

Recommended by Mexicans working at the Westin Desert Willow Villas, this great restaurant was everything they said it would be.

Date of visit: November 2019
1  Thank Excursion628268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2019

We love to go for brunch or for the extra special holiday brunches. Easter and Mother's Day were superb! Great staff, and our favorite jalapeno margaritas. Go for Happy Hour and also be impressed. Its easy to spend the whole day at this place!

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank Sarah-Kirkland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casuelas Cafe also viewed

Palm Desert, Greater Palm Springs
Palm Desert, Greater Palm Springs
 
Palm Desert, Greater Palm Springs
Palm Desert, Greater Palm Springs
 
Palm Desert, Greater Palm Springs
Palm Desert, Greater Palm Springs
 

Been to Casuelas Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing