We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Italian, REAL, Old School ITALIAN!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Castelli's

Castelli's
Reserve with OpenTable
Castelli's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #12 of 272 Restaurants in Palm Desert
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Families with children, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
chicago
Level Contributor
99 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Italian, REAL, Old School ITALIAN!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014

This is our second visit to Palm Desert, and our second visit to Castelli's. Castelli's is a wonderful old school Italian restaurant in Palm Desert. The food is real, every last serving; every last garlic clove, every last cup of sherry.

This is scratch preparation where Italian meets the desert. You would not realize you are in Palm Springs, but maybe downtown Chicago, This is Italian the way Italian cuisine should be prepared, served and consumed.

Castelli's, located conveniently in Palm Desert on hiway 111, is an unassuming property, is a wonderful night out, and I can only recommend this be at the top of your list for dining out; this is some of the best Italian food you may ever consume!

Beginning with the garlic bread fresh from the oven, and top shelf cocktails, leading into the wonderful Lobster Ravioli selection, or the stock Cheese Ravioli my wife selected, your meal will be fulfilling and filling!

Tommy provided the world class service tonight, with an accomplished support team.

The food, the service, the drinks, the atmosphere, the meal. Castelli's.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hacker0124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    210
    77
    44
    24
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Italian food in the desert”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014

Don't listen to anyone who doesn't give this place 5 stars, we've eaten some lovely Italian food but this place is still number 1!
To much to choose from on the menu, shrimps of the house and the veal dishes are my favourite.
Service is v good and the Long Island iced teas go down well.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chelseahoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fair Lawn, New Jersey
Level Contributor
61 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“WIne Dinner”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Went for the Caymus wine dinner. Expensive for what we got. Room was over crowded and extremely noisy, you could not hear anyone speak. Food was tasty but at best came out warm at best. No one ever asked if there was a problem. The wines served were the lower level of Caymus and not what we paid for. Would not go again.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank DAVID H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful Fine Italian Dining with Live Music in a Refined Setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2014

The service, garlic bread, entrees, and live music are all outstanding here. Their dinner selection is varied and everything is fabulous. We had a risotto dish and fish, and both were delicious. It is an upscale Italian restaurant and the prices reflect that, but it's excellent for a celebration or nice evening out. The waitstaff are amazingly attentive and cordial. The decor is understated elegant, and not very interesting. The live musician is a piano player who also sings and he's very good in this sort of setting. The only real complaint I have concerns the restrooms. They really need to renovate them, as I've seen nicer facilities in a McDonald's.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kn138hc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Satellite Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best Italian in the Desert”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014

This is a great oasis in the desert, we have been going here for years and it is a must stop every time we are in town. Excellent menu with daily fish specials, great wine list and superb service. They are very accommodating to any needs or desires to change an item on the menu or a pasta. Make a reservation because it does get crowded!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Castelli's also viewed

Palm Desert, California Desert
Palm Desert, California Desert
 
Palm Desert, California Desert
 

Been to Castelli's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing