We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Happy Hour Appetizers & Drinks”

Mitch's on El Paseo
Reserve with OpenTable
Mitch's on El Paseo is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #15 of 273 Restaurants in Palm Desert
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $100
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Portola
Description: Specialty Sushi, Steak & Seafood Restaurant Palm Desert. A truly innovative casual fine dining concept nestled in the heart of Palm Desert, California on El Paseo, perfect for lunch or dinner under the stars. Featuring signature prime steaks, sushi, seafood, fresh fish selections, soups and salads, great appetizers, diverse wine, sake and cocktail menus - all with that personal flair from a familiar face on the Coachella Valley dining scene, Mitch Epstein. The ultimate dining experience - including Mitch Epstein's signature approach to a completely personal dining experience.
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“Great Happy Hour Appetizers & Drinks”
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Mitch's has excellent Happy Hour prices for both appetizers and drinks. All types of high end Vodka for $6.00 and a reasonable quality chardonnay (Canyon Road) for $5.00. We had Shrimp Gazpacho and Shrimp Tempura... both dishes were very good. Our server was attentive. For Happy Hour, value was excellent. While we sat in the Bar area, Mitch's has a lovely outdoor seating area with a nice view. We were pleased with the drinks, the food and service. We would recommend for a Happy Hour outing. We have since made a dinner reservation at Mitch's.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    197
    75
    33
    13
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Wall Township, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
479 reviews
345 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Great Ribeye Steaks!”
Reviewed January 17, 2014

One of the best ribeye steaks that I have ever had. Thick and grilled to perfection, very rare, and very tender. I was impressed that the GM stopped and talked for a few minutes, and he listened to comments. While this was our first time, based upon this experience Mitch's made it to our Top 25 Steakhouse list. The negative, they have a poor at best beer list, but then I did not go there for the beer.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Charles S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wa. st.
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Really good food, wine and service”
Reviewed January 14, 2014 via mobile

Were invited here by friends and were wary after reading reviews on Urban Spoon. Not to worry. We eat ate very good restaurants around the world. This is a very good restaurant! Food was perfectly prepared, service was excellent. Highly recommend Mitch's!

Helpful?
Thank larryoWa_St_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Quinta, California
1 review
“Went to Mitch's for Husbands Birthday”
Reviewed January 13, 2014

We just had our first experience at this place and sadly, I think it will be our last. For many reasons. #1 We both felt the food was not up to par. My husband had the double lobster tails and they were overdone. I had the shrimp wrapped around scallops and they too were over done and not as large as I was expecting them to be. #2 We both were not impressed with the atmosphere. The place felt like it had (over the years) been pieced together and it lacked continuity. I'm sure the evenings probably made it look better because of the lighting, but it lacked a finer dining feeling that I feel it should be (considering the price you were paying for your meals). #3 The staff did not look that well put together ~ they looked sloppy. It felt over all like the place needed a face lift. There is a lot of competition in the desert now and I feel if this place is going to survive it needs to step up to the plate and clean up overall in all categories. Was disappointing ~ especially with all the fancy cars out front. Surprised to see that people will pay for less nowadays when the desert is full of great places to dine. Maybe those fancy cars aren't really customers?

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Melissa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temecula, California
Level 6 Contributor
418 reviews
290 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 252 helpful votes
“A keeper..hope this 1 sticks! ”
Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

Happy Hour was really nice, great Margaritas!

+Sliders were amazing!
+Stuffed mushrooms were also fantastic.

Service: Excellent

Ambiance: Great overall vibe.

*Appears from afar that this place could be sterile & stiff all the contrary very friendly staff. Owner was very hands on and certainly on top of things.

Looking forward to having a dinner experience ...their outdoor dinning terrace is the prime spot!

NICE!!!

Helpful?
Thank billionsandnocure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mitch's on El Paseo also viewed

Palm Desert, Greater Palm Springs
Palm Desert, Greater Palm Springs
 
Palm Desert, Greater Palm Springs
Palm Desert, Greater Palm Springs
 
Palm Desert, Greater Palm Springs
Palm Desert, Greater Palm Springs
 

Been to Mitch's on El Paseo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing