We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“CHECK YOUR VISA BILL THEY OVERCHARGE”

Mitch's on El Paseo
Reserve with OpenTable
Mitch's on El Paseo is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #17 of 272 Restaurants in Palm Desert
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $100
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Portola
Description: Specialty Sushi, Steak & Seafood Restaurant Palm Desert. A truly innovative casual fine dining concept nestled in the heart of Palm Desert, California on El Paseo, perfect for lunch or dinner under the stars. Featuring signature prime steaks, sushi, seafood, fresh fish selections, soups and salads, great appetizers, diverse wine, sake and cocktail menus - all with that personal flair from a familiar face on the Coachella Valley dining scene, Mitch Epstein. The ultimate dining experience - including Mitch Epstein's signature approach to a completely personal dining experience.
vancouver, bc canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“CHECK YOUR VISA BILL THEY OVERCHARGE”
Reviewed December 6, 2013

We ate here twice in the month of November and when we returned home we checked our visa bill with our receipt. It did not match up. Though the the charged item is close to what you think it is, there appears to be the pattern of changing the total bill, once you add your tip...

Will not go back there as this has happened more than once and only hope that does not happen to everyone who eats there

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JANE S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    194
    74
    33
    13
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Rancho Mirage, California
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“was at a Ladies Golf Holiday Luncheon”
Reviewed December 6, 2013

I was looking forward to the luncheon at Mitch's. It was so awful and I will personally call MITCH'S AND LET THEM KNOW.
Although the restaurant was attractive the food and service where dissapointing and the staff not organized. The salad (lettuce)was sparse and unedtible, the meat choice looked and resembled shoe leather and tasted like it....the pototoe choice was under cooked..the plates should have been served to complete each table and the desert being a small delicate arrangement was eaten with large soup spoons. Coffee or tea was not offered. PERHAPS THE FISH ENTRY WAS A BIT BETTER???? I WAS LOOKING FORWARD TO THE EVENT AND WAS SO DISSAPOINTED.
I WONDER WHAT 65 OTHER LADIES FELT ABOUT THE MEAL....?

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 791UNHAPPY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, CA
Level Contributor
58 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Happy Hour Happiness!”
Reviewed December 2, 2013 via mobile

Went specifically for Happy Hour. Great light food menu -- ahi poke tacos, beef sliders with truffle oil fries, jalopeno bombs, and $6 Manhattans. Only complaint was the big breeze coming through the open patio doors. Will go back, especially for Happy Hour.

Helpful?
Thank CrazyforTravel55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Desert, California
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Take the time to consider the "Locals" reviews”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

For starters, when reading reviews, understand that Augusta and Mitch's are not the same restaurant just the same location. Also note that the majority of local, Palm Desert, reviewers do not think highly of this restaurant. Check your final dinning bills closely as they do falsely charge (see review regarding Yellow label Clicquot). The great patio atmosphere is no longer available so consider other patio venues in Palm Desert...there are plenty to choose from! Mitch's has gotten too big for its britches and forgotten that the locals support their business year round bringing visiting friends and family during season, too.

My friend and I, locals, went this evening to enjoy the patio and were told it was closed (it was a beautiful day 75 degrees fahrenheit). The Host, who recognized us as locals, informed us that the patio was closed. When we inquired about it being closed he said happy hour pricing would not apply to the patio. We told him that was acceptable we were there for the patio and willing to pay regular prices. Upon getting this information, he decided to allow us to pick a table outside. When we attempted to exit to the patio the door was locked. He signaled us through the inside dining room and when we reached the patio one of the owners informed us that the patio was closed (he too knows we are locals). We told him the host had given us permission to sit outside at which point the owner escorted us back into the restaurant. The host then got into a conversation with the owner that wasn't going anywhere so we walked out and enjoyed the newly renovated patio at Pacifica.

Mitch's is clearly not focused on accommodating the customer. It is important to note that not only was the weather beautiful for outside dining, the inside was empty (save 2 tables in the bar)!! It will not surprise me to see them out of business with in 6 months.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ravenwoman707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlingame, California
Level Contributor
71 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great energy, great food, wonderful dinner!”
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Dinner at Mitch's on El Paseo in Palm Desert was a treat. We went on a Friday night and it was buzzing with good energy, good people watching, interesting decor, excellent service, broad menu. We sat on the patio and the heat lamps made the cool desert night air warm.

Mitch's is on a trendy shopping street with lots of activity. It is a beautiful restaurant and well regarded by locals. We will definitely go back!

I had the Chilean Sea Bass and it was superb. All four of us enjoyed our evening!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank aloha25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mitch's on El Paseo also viewed

Palm Desert, California Desert
Palm Desert, California Desert
 
Palm Desert, California Desert
Palm Desert, California Desert
 

Been to Mitch's on El Paseo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing