We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service in the Bar”

Tommy Bahama's Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #8 of 273 Restaurants in Palm Desert
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $50
Cuisines: Caribbean, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children, Bar scene, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Transit: El Paseo & Larkspur Lane. El Paseo Courtesy Cart available for free transportation to the shops along the paseo.
Description: Tommy Bahama combines a tranquil environment and good food with an emphasis on hospitality to make for the perfect place to recharge or unwind while indulging in a unique dining experience. The experience is sure to feel like a getaway, whether you’re on vacation or looking for a vacation from your everyday life. For more information: www.tommybahama.com
Washington
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great Service in the Bar”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

A group of us stopped here and some shopped but half of us went up to the bar for a drink. The Bartender and server were absolutely great! Very personable, helpful and on top of everything. We watched the bartender make a drink and he was wonderful when we asked him questions about the ingredients. This high end store has a top of the line bar and bartender. I would recommend this to everyone for such great service!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lori B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

868 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    394
    338
    98
    25
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Beverly Hills, California
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great casual couple or family restaurant”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Fun, casual atmosphere. We have eaten there many times. I would not call this restaurant a special occasion type of atmosphere, but there is a guitarist on the balcony in the evening and the mood is lively. Their "captive cocktail" is not on the menu but you can still get it if you ask for it. It's v8 type based cold soup with shrimp and lobster and is low in calories and great for lunch or even dinner. We have been there with other couples but our friends just went with grandchildren and said it was great. Our last visit was on the 4th of July. Very crowded because the balcony overlooks the entire desert so many booked it to view fireworks. Service was not great but we were told that in advance because it appeared to be a one seating evening and just jammed because of the view. Balcony has misters but we ate inside. Very hot in the summer.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nancy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
283 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
“Great food & views!”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Amazing food - had a steak that was incredible with all the fixings - just delish!! The rest of my party loved their dinners too! And for dessert I had an incredible "butterscotch pudding" layered with whipped cream and chocolate - ahhh! GREAT VIEWS

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank snooksinK.C.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Desert, California
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Back after a long absence, some friends and I were celebrating the last day of school and decided to check out Tommy's. We were lucky that we were able to get right in, and the table was very comfortable. I actually prefer the lunch at Tommy's over the dinner, as the portion sizes are more reasonable. I had the tacos, which were amazing, so flavorful! My friends had pulled pork sandwich which was also quite good. We all took food home! The waiter was friendly, although a bit overworked. The atmosphere was fun and the remodel really made the restaurant function better. Love the interior look!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank desertminky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
75 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Very good food”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We had a late lunch at this restaurant and were really pleased with the quality of food and drinks. It was a bit pricey but the steak salad was very tasty and the steak perfect. My husband had jerk chicken tacos and he said were also good, We will stop by again! The outdoor patio looked very nice and inviting but it was hot so we preferred to sit inside. I am sure we'll try it for dinner too!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LostAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tommy Bahama's Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Palm Desert, Greater Palm Springs
Palm Desert, Greater Palm Springs
 
Palm Desert, Greater Palm Springs
Palm Desert, Greater Palm Springs
 
Palm Desert, Greater Palm Springs
Palm Desert, Greater Palm Springs
 

Been to Tommy Bahama's Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing