We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Met Expectations”
Review of Outback Steakhouse

Outback Steakhouse
Ranked #69 of 272 Restaurants in Palm Desert
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
San Juan Capistrano
Level Contributor
213 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Met Expectations”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Can typically depend on a good experience at Outback restaurants. This location was very busy and service was good, however, steak was a bit tough. Overall satisfactory but nothin g really stands out.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kenneth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    61
    24
    10
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cathedral city
Level Contributor
147 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Can't go wrong for a great steak, salad and sides!”
Reviewed December 5, 2012

This place is one of our favs! We always walk out happy with not only the food but the service too! Weve noticed that the Manager constantly walks around greeting customers and assisting the servers...that's how you separate good from great!
Highly recommend the chopped blue cheese salad and their filet mignon!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mobro1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Mirage
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Early Hours”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We decided to try new early Sunday hrs for a family Birthday meal.It seemed like they were under staffed as it took a long time before our salads came and longer beefore our main meal came.Since some of the orders were hot and some warm and cool we assumend they were short of cooks.Not the usual great food and service we normally get at OUTBACK!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank George R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indio, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Service is only fair”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Food is the same as other Outbacks, but you have to remind the servers several times (and this has happened to us more than once) about refills and if you requested an extra sauce (such as horseradish). One time the server brought out my horseradish about the time I was done with my prime rib - and another time we had to beg for the check because they never brought it. Even if you go early - dinner here takes longer than you expect.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank allabouttravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lake district
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Super chuck”
Reviewed August 17, 2012 via mobile

My family recently holidayed in rancho mirage and my husband spotted this restaurant one evening and said how he'd enjoyed food at the chain whilst working abroad. So we decided to eat there and although it was late they were still quite busy. I had plain boring chicken whilst everyone else had varying steaks. As part of the deal they also had salads to start which I "tested" and can verify they were delicious! My chicken was superb and possibly the best I've had and was a huge portion which regretfully I couldn't quite finish. The steaks all went down very well and although much bravado about who was going to have desert no one was able to honour! The waitress was very enthusiastic and advised my children about the menus and also kept us all well supplied with drinks. It was well priced and excellent quality.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chety
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Outback Steakhouse also viewed

Palm Desert, California Desert
Palm Desert, California Desert
 
Palm Desert, California Desert
 

Been to Outback Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing