We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hampton Inn Does It Again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Palm Desert
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in Palm Desert
Certificate of Excellence
La Jolla, United States
1 review
“Hampton Inn Does It Again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2013

Very difficult to beat Hampton Inns for quality of rooms, friendly staff, fitness facility, variety of breakfast and value. The location of this hotel is in the center of the Coachella Valley with easy access to the I-10 Freeway and many restaurants and golf courses closeby as well.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Lou O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonPD, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Palm Desert, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Lou O,

Thank you for a fabulous trip advisor review. We greatly appreciate the information you've shared with us concerning your stay. We are thrilled that our hotel was everything you were expecting from a Hampton property. Comfortable rooms, friendly staff, a newly remodeled fitness facility, great breakfast and overall value.

We look forward to your future stays with us.

Please feel free to contact me directly the next time you are in town.


Sincerely,

Maria D Banning
Front Office Manager
Hampton Inn and Suites
Palm Desert, Ca 92201
760-340-1001
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

605 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    317
    183
    68
    26
    11
See reviews for
191
199
44
109
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Kansas
Level Contributor
41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

If you have an option, I would stay elsewhere.

The lobby area is nice. When I checked in, the front desk staff was decent, but certainly not over and above.

The room was below average for a Hampton, but not horrible. The towels, for example, were old and literally thread bare. You could see the mesh on the foot towel, it was so worn out. The room was decently clean, but smelled somewhat strange. The room had more of a Comfort Inn feel to it, with a nice bed spread.

Would I stay here again? Not for the price, if I had an option. It was $110 including tax. Most people may not notice, but I have stayed at enough Hampton Inn's to know when one is average, or better or worse. This was certainly below average.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnIR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonPD, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Palm Desert, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear JohnIR,

Thank you for taking the time to to rate our hotel on Trip Advisor. We appreciate you taking time out of your busy schedule to share your comments with us. Please accept my sincerest apologies for the issues you encountered on your recent stay at our property.

The specific concerns you addressed are important details for us to take a closer look and make sure we are doing all that we can possibly do to improve our hotel and our guests' experience. You can be confident that I will personally make sure to do the necessary follow up with our housekeeping department to remove our older "threadbare towels" from our guest rooms. We are and have been in the process of renovating our hotel for quite some time. Our gym was recently finished and looks fabulous.

We value you as our guest and hopefully you will be able to give us another chance so that we can demonstrate our commitment to your comfort. We want our guests to have the best experience possible where every part of their stay is pleasant and comfortable. If you would like, please contact me next time you are in the area and I will personally make sure you have a pleasant stay with us.


Sincerely,

Maria D. Banning
Front Office Manager
Hampton Inn and Suites
Palm Desert, California 92211
760-340-1001
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

The staff at this hotel is so helpful and welcoming. They made our trip a pleasure. The room was very clean and comfortable. I read on-line that the HVAC can be noisy, but we didn't need to use it so can't say whether it would be or not. The breakfast staff in particular is wonderful. We'll stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Fussycathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonPD, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Palm Desert, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear Fussycathy,

Thank you for the glowing review on Trip advisor. We are happy to hear that not only is the staff "helpful and welcoming" but our rooms are "clean and comfortable!" (as it should be!) You can be confident I will share your comments with all of our staff members including the "wonderful" breakfast hostess! We look forward to your future stays with us!

Please feel free to contact me directly the next time you are in town.


Sincerely,

Maria D Banning
Front Office Manager
Hampton Inn and Suites
Palm Desert, Ca 92201
760-340-1001
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
REDONDO BEACH
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013

Nice property with friendly staff, conveniently located close to freeway and decent restaurants within walking distance and Starbucks! Comfortable beds, I suggest a top floor room as you will hear if elephants are staying above you.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank MARIA P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonPD, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Palm Desert, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear Maria P.,

On behalf of everyone here at the Hampton "Thank You!" for a fabulous trip advisor review. We greatly appreciate the information you've shared with us concerning your stay. We are thrilled that our staff is friendly and you found our beds to be comfortable! We look forward to your future stays with us!

Please feel free to contact me directly the next time you are in town.


Sincerely,

Maria D Banning
Front Office Manager
Hampton Inn and Suites
Palm Desert, Ca 92201
760-340-1001
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013

hotel staff was very good walls vibrated causing sleepless night hotel in northern san diego was much better will try hampton inn again but not in palm desert i hope property manager will investigate wall vibration

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank walterk34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonPD, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Palm Desert, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our hotel on Trip Advisor. I would like to sincerely apologize for the noise you encountered during your stay and it preventing you from getting a good night's sleep. I have followed up with our maintenance department to ensure the issue gets fixed.

I did speak with you during check out and hope I was able to resolve this issue for you. On a happier note I am glad you found our staff to be very "good."

We want our guests to have the best experience possible where every part of their stay is pleasant and comfortable.

We value you as our guest and hopefully you will be able to give us another chance so that we can demonstrate our commitment to your comfort. If you would like, please contact me next time you are in the area and I will personally make sure you have a pleasant stay with us.

Sincerely,
Maria D Banning
Front Office Manager
Hampton Inn and Suites
Palm Desert, CA 92211
760-340-1001
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
158 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

Room is spacious and clean. The lighting is good. I have no complaint about water pressure. Free Wifi is quite fast. The bed is firm and nice but the pillows are way too soft for me.

The only major issue is their super loud wall A/C. Don't know how old this hotel is but I notice that all older hotels that have wall A/C, always have the same issues. Don't they ever check this? Maybe it's time to replace them even though they are still working. Cannot even hear the TV when the A/C is on. I'm a light sleeper and I have to turn off the A/C which I first set it on auto. Just way too loud for me.

Not sure if I will return because of the noisy and loud A/C.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank World Passport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonPD, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Palm Desert, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Dear World Passport,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. We appreciate the information you've shared with us. I would like to apologize for the hotel not meeting your expectations regarding the ac unit in your room. The specific concerns you addressed are important details for us to take a closer look at and make sure we are doing all that we can possibly do to improve our hotel and our guests' experience.

We will be upgrading all of our ac units with newer, quieter ones in the upcoming months. We recently installed a test model and it is working out perfectly! .

We want our guests to have the best experience possible where every part of their stay is pleasant and comfortable.

We value you as our guest and hopefully you will be able to give us another chance so that we can demonstrate our commitment to your comfort. If you would like, please contact me next time you are in the area and I will personally make sure you have a pleasant stay with us.

Sincerely,
Maria D Banning
Front Office Manager
Hampton Inn and Suites
Palm Desert, CA 92211
760-340-1001
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherman Oaks, CA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

I'm a Silver Hilton Honors member and I travel quite a bit and notice EVERYTHING. The first thing I noticed was that I wasn't even greeted with a hello, just "last name" was blurted out at me as I approached the front desk. When I told her my name, she said quickly "could it be under another name? Or maybe you should be down the street at the Homewood Suites?". Really? I don't think it's that complicated. The lobby was desolate. Surely she could see who was arriving today and cross reference it? Silly. After a few minutes, she found it. Quickly, but with no smile or warmth at all, we were on our way up to our room. Okay....

The lobby was clean, but the elevator was small and slow. Hallway had a musty smell. Our room was fine & clean. The shower had terrible water pressure and ran cold after about 5 minutes. Traveling alone with my young daughter for a wedding I wanted to feel safe. Overall, we did feel safe and that was most important.

The property feels REALLY far away from the bustle of E. Palm Canyon Drive, where the festivities were. We tried to stay at the Hilton in downtown P.S., but it was sold out. Got lost a few times driving back & forth. That was a drag.

I really wish, as with other properties, that the staff was more warm and fuzzy. The whole experience felt very cold & sterile. It's always nice to have a warm smile, even a handshake or a "can we do anything" type of remark to bring me back. Hotels are all about that little bit of 'above & beyond' hospitality to have return clientele.
I'm sorry to say this particular Hampton Inn is not one I'd return to.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank lexijewellmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonPD, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Palm Desert, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Dear lexjewelmom,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. We appreciate the information you've shared with us. I want to personally apologize for the hotel not meeting your expectations.

We are very sorry to hear that you were unhappy with your check in experience. The specific details you mentioned are important for us to take a closer look at and you can be confident that I will personally make sure to follow up on your concerns so that others are not as disappointed as you were. I will speak to all of the front desk staff about greeting all of our guests with a warm friendly smile upon check in. I will also follow up on your maintenance issue regarding the water pressure in your bathroom.

I am happy to hear however, that you did feel safe in our hotel while traveling with your young daughter. The safety and security of our guests is imprtant to us.


Again, thank you for all your valuable feedback. It is greatly appreciated.

We value you as our guest and hopefully you will be able to give us another chance so that we can demonstrate our commitment to your comfort. If you would like please contact me next time you are in the area and I will personally make sure you have a pleasant stay with us.

Sincerely,
Maria D Banning
Front Office Manager
Hampton Inn and Suites
Palm Desert, CA 92211
769-340-1001
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm Desert hotels
1.5 mi away
The Westin Desert Willow Villas
0.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Palm Desert
4.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Palm Desert Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert / Rancho Mirage
4.3 mi away
International Hotel & Suites
International Hotel & Suites
#18 of 22 in Palm Desert
4.0 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
2.1 mi away
Marriott's Desert Springs Villas II
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Palm Desert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Palm Desert

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Palm Desert
Address: 74900 Gerald Ford Dr, Palm Desert, CA 92211-2081
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Desert
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Palm Desert
#2 Best Value Hotel in Palm Desert
#2 Family Hotel in Palm Desert
#6 Romantic Hotel in Palm Desert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Palm Desert 2.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you're staying for business or vacation travel, here at the Hampton Inn & Suites in Palm Desert, we're passionate about taking good care of you and providing you the best place to stay. That's why we offer a broad range of services and amenities at our hotel to make your stay exceptional. The best part is we have a very enthusiastic and friendly staff that aim to make your stay more personable...we like to call it having great "Hamptonality" to share with each and every guest! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Palm Desert reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites - Palm Desert
Hampton Inn & Suites - Palm Desert Hotel Palm Desert
Hampton Inn Palm Desert
Palm Desert Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing