We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Senior Olympics Weekend” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Palm Desert Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Palm Desert Resort
Ranked #9 of 22 Hotels in Palm Desert
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Senior Olympics Weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

Superb location to the Palm Desert Senior games. Superb location for dining out no matter your price range or type of fare you enjoy. Superb quality for the price. All the rooms are very comfortable. I have stayed here many times over the years and look forward to many more. Great hot breakfast with to order menu.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Ken B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bestwesternpdmanager, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Palm Desert Resort, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoy many of the things that make our hotel great! We are so happy to offer a great breakfast and comfortable rooms at a good price.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

751 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    254
    249
    146
    60
    42
See reviews for
214
295
56
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014

Where do I start...

I had an expired Groupon which then turns into the cash value you paid for it. First call and the man who answered said he had no clue how to utilize it and that it was " a pain in the neck to do so call tomorrow to speak to manager." Shouldn't they be competent enough to handle this? They put the Groupon up, after all. No, they were not, apparently. Fine, I will call Craig the manager as suggested the next day. Craig (seemingly) was great. There was no mechanism to book online rates with the expired Groupon so I specifically went over the online prices I was looking at for the 2 night stay which he confirmed with me. I confirmed the price TWICE with him. No problem.

I get there, walked in with a smile on my face at the two reception girls and had to say hello first otherwise no greeting would have existed upon my arrival. In the computer it is a higher rate than agreed upon. Craigs not there so this other manager proceeds to argue with me that there would be no way to get the online promo rate since I was already using a promo with the Groupon. Uh, no. The promo rate expired. This was straight up cash already paid to them. From the actual Groupon Terms and Conditions: "Must book by 7/19/13 or promotional value expires. Must complete travel by 8/29/13". For traditional Groupon vouchers, the promotional value will EXPIRE on the date specified in the offer, unless prohibited by law. The amount paid WILL NEVER EXPIRE and must continue to be honored by the merchant after the promotional value expires. The amount paid may be applied toward any goods or services offered by the merchant if the original goods or services specified on the voucher are no longer available." I stopped arguing the point since black and white logic would not resonate with this manager..

Lets move on.

The room smelled HORRIBLE. The bathroom had 2 dead cockroaches. The lamp was broken and never replaced though I had called the front desk and asked. There was this brown liquid leaking from the toilet handle and the back of the dryer was missing so it ate about three inches of my hair that I had to rip out of it in order to detach it from my head.

I am a Diamond member by the way.

This was my first and last Best Western experience. If you must stay here ask fro a room with no rug as my educated guess is that is why it smelled so horrible in my "upgraded suite". I peeked in at a king being cleaned with wood laminate flooring and it was far nicer than my own accommodations. The pool and hot tub were clean and the breakfast was good. And there was this maid: Gracious, kind, and genuinely happy. In my opinion she should be running the place since she was the only one there who knew a thing about the customer service industry.

This was by far the worst customer service and hotel experience II have ever had. Including Hostels! Never again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carissa t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bestwesternpdmanager, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Palm Desert Resort, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2014

I've stayed at this location a couple of times and always enjoy having real eggs made the way you'd like them for breakfast. The breakfast room is pleasant and sunny with lots of tables. The rest of the facility is nicely landscaped, the rooms spacious. They have simulated wood floors which is nice as it seems cleaner than carpet and easier to roll your suitcase around. There's a nice pool though I haven't had time to use it. The hotel is conveniently located with many restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Delores M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bestwesternpdmanager, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Palm Desert Resort, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about our hotel on tripadvisor. Having real fresh eggs is such a better option than some other hotels and we are pleased to offer it. We also enjoy hearing how much you enjoyed the room as well as the landscape around the hotel. We hope to see you come back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014

Great facility! Friendly staff! Superb rooms! BUT....... Although breakfast is advertized as "made-to-order", it was of the worst hotel breakfast I had in a long time. The "made-to-order" actually meant that all food items were hidden behind the counter, and strictly portioned when requested by guests. All food items were packaged and prepared in advance, except from scrambled eggs which are always made fresh in any hotel anyway. Moreover, when a guest wants egg breakfast, then he/she is prohibited from having fruits or yogurt. Such policy is a great mistake, because It feels like an attempt to be very cheap in otherwise great hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Alex S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bestwesternpdmanager, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Palm Desert Resort, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. It is a pleasure to know that we did great in almost all areas. I do apologize for the breakfast not being up to your standards as we make every effort for it to be the best part of our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California
Level Contributor
87 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here two different nights and received different rooms each time. The first room was comfortable and we enjoyed our stay. Second room was in building A. This room had paper thin walls and it seemed as the next door neighbor was right in our room with us. The second room also had a very loud air conditioner and a refrigerator that had a terrible squeal. We had to unplug the refrigerator in order to get any sleep. Management really needs to do a better job of quality control in the rooms.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank M K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bestwesternpdmanager, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Palm Desert Resort, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us! I apologize for any issues you had during your stay here with us and will be using this feedback to keep a better eye on certain problems.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

Friendly staff and good location. The place is a little older and shows its age. We enjoyed the breakfast that is included with your stay. The price is the most reasonable I could find in the area. The bed was comfortable, but the room was a little banged up. The doors face out to the parking lot. You are able to park right in front of your room though. This place is nothing fancy, but if you are just staying for a night or two it is one you should consider.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank capin8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bestwesternpdmanager, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Palm Desert Resort, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for our hotel. We think that we have great value to offer our guests and our staff is always eager to help. We hope to come to stay here again next time you’re in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
143 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014

Our stay at this property was generally very enjoyable but the noise from other rooms and the parking lot was a distraction. We chose a ground floor room as we had golf clubs to pack in and out every day so we had to put up with people above us and you can hear the plumbing and the noise from the sliding door and their walking in their room was very noticeable.
Very centrally located on 111 and the room itself was nice and clean and the staff are very friendly plus the fresh cooked breakfast is a real bonus. I would recommend this place but be aware and expect some noise.

Room Tip: If you don't mind the potential noise pick a bottom floor room for easy access. Nice courtyard t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rusty49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bestwesternpdmanager, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Palm Desert Resort, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Thank you for staying with us! We are glad that you enjoyed our location and that our staff and service was up to your standards. I do apologize for the noise in the room as we make every effort for our guests to have a comfortable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm Desert hotels
4.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Palm Desert
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert / Rancho Mirage
0.3 mi away
International Hotel & Suites
International Hotel & Suites
#16 of 22 in Palm Desert
4.0 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Palm Desert
3.1 mi away
The Westin Desert Willow Villas
2.2 mi away
Marriott's Desert Springs Villas II
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Palm Desert Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Palm Desert Resort

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Palm Desert Resort
Address: 74695 Highway 111, Palm Desert, CA 92260-3803
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Desert
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Palm Desert
#11 Family Hotel in Palm Desert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Palm Desert Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose this pet-friendly Coachella Valley hotel located centrally in Palm Desert close to Indian Wells Tennis Gardens, PGA WEST golf course, and Joshua Tree National Park.Welcome to the BEST WESTERN PLUS Palm Desert Resort where guests can expect a friendly and knowledgeable staff, clean guest rooms with outdoor patios or balconies and a hot cooked to order breakfast. The hotel is situated in the heart of Palm Desert close to Highway 111 and minutes from Interstate 10.Enjoy the view from one of our 130 guest rooms or 22 suites with cable television with HBO and complimentary high speed internet access. Relax in the heated pool and spa with outdoor cooling mist system. Additional amenities include 2 tennis courts, exercise facility, business services and meeting facilities.The BEST WESTERN PLUS Palm Desert Resort located conveniently close to the Palm Springs Intl. Airport, Palm Springs Convention Center, and El Paseo Shopping District. Also within 20 minutes are 3 casinos (Fantasy Springs, Spa Resort Casino, and Agua Caliente Casino), Big League Dreams Sports Park, College of the Desert where they hold the street fair every weekend and the McCallum Theater. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Best Western, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Palm Desert Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Palm Desert Hotel Palm Desert
Best Western Palm Desert
Palm Desert Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing