We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stop over in the Desert”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Plus Palm Desert Resort
Ranked #9 of 22 Hotels in Palm Desert
Hampshire, UK
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good place to stop over in the Desert”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We booked 2 nights here over the Memorial Day weekend, en-route from Phoenix to the beaches. Room was reasonably spacious with a very comfortable king size bed, efficient a/c that was not too intrusive, unlike other hotels we stayed at.
The room was just a tad tired, but the maids did an incredible job of making us feel special. The pool is relatively small for the size of the property, but the desert heat kept all but the very hardy sun worshipers away - we managed about 30 minutes early each morning before over heating.
Breakfast, complimentary, was OK, but basic although they did cook eggs anyway you liked if you were prepared to queue.
All in all an acceptable place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bestwesternpdmanager, General Manager at Best Western Plus Palm Desert Resort, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you for staying at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Palm Desert Resort. Its nice to hear that you enjoyed our rooms and our staff was able to take care of you. We are glad that you enjoyed the breakfast and hope you stay again next time your in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

818 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    276
    280
    152
    66
    44
See reviews for
236
317
59
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

I booked a stay for two nights and couldn't stay past first night. This place is a dump.
The room wreaked of cigarette even though it's supposed to be a non smoking facilty. The room was desperately in need of some repairs and maintenance. The toilet clogged since I discovered too late that it did not flush properly. I gave 2 out of 5 because breakfast was good and bed linens were clean. Otherwise I feel very misled by the other reviewers.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ClassicMix H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bestwesternpdmanager, General Manager at Best Western Plus Palm Desert Resort, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you for staying at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Palm Desert Resort. We apologize for the smell of the room and we are a non smoking property. We are glad that you enjoyed the breakfast and our beds. We hope you choose to stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We got an amazing deal on HotWire.com and didn't know which hotel we were getting. I have to say that this hotel was pretty exceptional for the price. Yeah it's no resort, but it did us well!

Free breakfast and coffee every morning. Eggs made your way, pancakes, bacon.. pretty sweet deal to include that. Free wifi (always a plus!)

The pool area was pretty standard but nice. The kids enjoyed it!

The location was good and close to everything, but I think everything in Palm Springs/Palm Desert is 'close' ;)

I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gina I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bestwesternpdmanager, General Manager at Best Western Plus Palm Desert Resort, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Palm Desert Resort. We are glad you could take advantage of our great rates!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

The hotel was especially accommodating. The breakfast was outstanding. The location was perfect. Nice, quiet area. There seemed to be ample parking. The bed was very comfortable. I awoke refreshed and ready to continue my travels after a wonderful breakfast. I did not have the time to explore the area, but there seemed to be a lot going on with shopping and restaurants. Internet was easy to access and speedy. I will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: I was on the south side and was able to park easily. Plus, very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cmlvngstn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bestwesternpdmanager, General Manager at Best Western Plus Palm Desert Resort, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Palm Desert Resort. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and all our amenities. We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California, Usa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

My wife and I and our dog have stayed here 4 times and every time we are very happy with the room and the full breakfast. The rooms are clean and so are the grounds. The people at the front desk are great. The location is great!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bestwesternpdmanager, General Manager at Best Western Plus Palm Desert Resort, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on tripadvisor. We are glad that enjoy staying at our hotel and that you can bring your pet with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

The staff is extremely accommodating (especially Aldo). The rooms are spacious and the beds are dreamy. The pool is well kept up and a perfect temperature. It is near the Living Desert Museum and the College of the Desert Swap meet. Be sure to spend Thursday night at the street festival in Palm Springs. Take the tram to Mt Jacinto.

They have free COOK TO ORDER BREAKFASTS by extremely friendly cooks.

Reserve early. It always fills up in seasonal months.

Only negative --- parking is a premium and you may have to park away from your room.

Room Tip: The Suites are very nice and not priced that much more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Buddha50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bestwesternpdmanager, General Manager at Best Western Plus Palm Desert Resort, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are glad that we fit your needs and are located centrally to all the good things our desert has to offer. We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granite Bay, CA
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Waited too long to find housing for Coachella and ended up staying here as it was the cheapest I could find without going "off-brand".

Pros:
Check in was fast and easy.
Beds comfortable.
Room Clean - initially
Eggs made to order at the included continental breakfast
Crispy bacon
CVS and grocery store convenient walking distance
Upscale shopping nearby
Refrigerator, iron and blowdryer in room and they all worked!
Much cheaper than comparable hotels for Coachella (they all jack up their prices)

Cons:
Maid banged on the door at 7 am one morning asking to clean. I asked her to come back after 11:30 am. She never came back. I had to ask the front desk to send up clean wash cloths and towels and to make sure a maid came to clean the next day.

Narcotics drug bust (obviously tied to Coachella) at 6 am one morning. The perpetrators were in the room above us and came in at 3 am VERY noisily. But again this is probably only Coachella related. We didn't get much sleep that night.

They jack up their prices for Coachella and Stagecoach weekends.

Room Tip: Ask front desk not to put the drug dealers in the room directly above yours if you want a good night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JLynch7471
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bestwesternpdmanager, General Manager at Best Western Plus Palm Desert Resort, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you for staying at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Palm Desert Resort. You made it very easy to see what you liked and didnt like and we will use the feedback to better improve our services. I apologize for the noise that kept you awake during your stay. We hope to see you back next year for the Coachella Valley Music Festival.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm Desert hotels
4.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Palm Desert
3.1 mi away
The Westin Desert Willow Villas
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert / Rancho Mirage
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Palm Desert
0.3 mi away
International Hotel & Suites
International Hotel & Suites
#15 of 22 in Palm Desert
423 reviews
2.2 mi away
Marriott's Desert Springs Villas II
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Palm Desert Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Palm Desert Resort

Property: Best Western Plus Palm Desert Resort
Address: 74695 Highway 111, Palm Desert, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92260-3803 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Palm Desert Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Desert
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Palm Desert
#11 Family Hotel in Palm Desert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Palm Desert Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose this pet-friendly Coachella Valley hotel located centrally in Palm Desert close to Indian Wells Tennis Gardens, PGA WEST golf course, and Joshua Tree National Park.Welcome to the BEST WESTERN PLUS Palm Desert Resort where guests can expect a friendly and knowledgeable staff, clean guest rooms with outdoor patios or balconies and a hot cooked to order breakfast. The hotel is situated in the heart of Palm Desert close to Highway 111 and minutes from Interstate 10.Enjoy the view from one of our 130 guest rooms or 22 suites with cable television with HBO and complimentary high speed internet access. Relax in the heated pool and spa with outdoor cooling mist system. Additional amenities include 2 tennis courts, exercise facility, business services and meeting facilities.The BEST WESTERN PLUS Palm Desert Resort located conveniently close to the Palm Springs Intl. Airport, Palm Springs Convention Center, and El Paseo Shopping District. Also within 20 minutes are 3 casinos (Fantasy Springs, Spa Resort Casino, and Agua Caliente Casino), Big League Dreams Sports Park, College of the Desert where they hold the street fair every weekend and the McCallum Theater. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Best Western, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Palm Desert Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Palm Desert Hotel Palm Desert
Best Western Palm Desert
Palm Desert Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing