We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and helpful.”

Palm Desert Visitor Center
Ranked #10 of 58 things to do in Palm Desert
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Conveniently located inside Palm Desert City Hall, make Palm Desert Visitor Services your first stop for whatever you need to enjoy your stay in the desert. Need information? You'll find one of the Valley's most comprehensive selection of maps, hiking and biking guides, magazines, brochures and more available to be picked up--free of charge--from our extensive literature displays. Have questions or need a local's perspective? Our helpful and knowledgeable staff are true experts on the area, and will gladly share their insight with you.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities
Reviewed October 23, 2013

The visitor center is in downtown Palm Desert. Very friendly staff as you would expect. Reasonable prices, postcards and clean restroom facilities. On the way to the Highway 74 overlook, a great place to view the valley.

1  Thank WWCJr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara B, Manager at Palm Desert Visitor Center, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2013

Thanks for the great review! We get a lot of comments in person from visitors about the cleanliness of the facilities, but I'm not sure anyone has ever mentioned it in writing before. Regardless, we aim to please on many levels and I'm glad you found that we measured up! Thanks for stopping by and taking the time to leave a review here for others!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (111)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

82 - 86 of 111 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2013

The staff here are so nice and very eager to assist in any way they can. They answered all our questions and provided us with a good hiking alternative when the aerial tramway was closed. Thanks!

Thank Scoobster007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara B, Manager at Palm Desert Visitor Center, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

How pleasant to come in to work on a Monday morning and find such a nice comment. I'm glad that our staff was able to provide you with alternatives to the Palm Springs Aerial Tram when it was closed. We know many people come to our area with plans in place, but sometimes those plans go awry for circumstances beyond their control. That's when it's nice to check in with us at the Visitor Center, because we've probably already researched all the alternatives. There are tons of hiking trails in our area, so we can usually give people lots of options, plus we have a free Palm Desert hiking map, as well. Thanks again for leaving the positive comment. Come back and see us next time you're in Palm Desert!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Plenty information on activities but be sure you ask. Not every option is volunteered. Brochures on Joshua tree park was good. And the place is cool amidst the heat of the day :-)

Thank Toemaarjongens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara B, Manager at Palm Desert Visitor Center, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review the Palm Desert Visitor Center. We do indeed encourage our visitors to ask lots of questions of our staff and volunteers. That way we can get to know you and learn more about what you like to do on vacation. We don't want to offer golf or hiking information, for example, to someone who prefers museums and shopping. I do hope you left with everything you were looking for. Please come visit us again when you're in Palm Desert!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

They are very helpful and know the places to suggest. There was noting that I disliked about the Visitor Center

Thank csignor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara B, Manager at Palm Desert Visitor Center, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Thanks for the comments! GPS is great for some folks, but we still see the value in using a map in order to get an oriented to the overall area. We also have hiking, biking and shopping maps, to name a few. Stop back in if you need anything else!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

The place to go to start your Palm Desert trip. Very knowledgable staff with many hand out resources to introduce you to, and get you to, all the places you don't want to miss while here.

Thank bobmac43614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara B, Manager at Palm Desert Visitor Center, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Thank you for your kind review. Our staff works hard to stay up-to-date with latest information, so we're glad it shows! Stop by and see us anytime for any assistance you might require.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Palm Desert Visitor Center also viewed

Palm Desert, Greater Palm Springs
Palm Desert, Greater Palm Springs
 

Been to Palm Desert Visitor Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing