We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Local go to for Mexican” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Los Pepes Mexican Grill

Los Pepes Mexican Grill
Ranked #123 of 272 Restaurants in Palm Desert
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Rancho Mirage, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Local go to for Mexican”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

Los Pepes is really good authentic mexican food. The restaurant is placed in a strip mall near the Bristol Farms and could be easily overlooked. The clientele tends to be local and this lends this family run restaurant a friendly and warm atmosphere. We had the fish tacos which were outstanding and so much better and cheaper than the Daily Grill's which we had a few days previously. I love the Chili Verde too...
Good service, good food and great margaritas!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank flygirl_05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    26
    7
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Edina, Minnesota
Level Contributor
71 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“good mexican food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

this is in a strip mall next to bristol farms. it is unprepossessing. the food was very good and true mexican. it looked like a number of the customers were locals. it has a pleasant atmosphere. we have been to don diego's but prefer this place more. don diego is very touristy - not this place. i had the chicken enchilada which was excellent and patti had the fish taco which was also very good. wide variety of mexican beer along with domestic beer. we had fried ice cream for dessert and it was very good, too. i would recommend this place to friends.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank artsmith147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Iowa
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good Mexican”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

Good local restaurant located in Bristol Farms shopping area in Palm Desert. Good margaritas and food. Quick service.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank iabrownie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
central california
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“local favorite”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

I ordered the #8 combo and it was delicious. The menu had a lot of interesting selections but I elected to stick with one of my favorites; chicken enchilada and chile relleno. You could see that the clientele were mostly locals and that it was a restaurant that they frequented. It is not that easy to see because it is in a shopping mall, next to Bristol Farms grocery, but obviously they are doing something right as it was busy on a Thursday night. We were looking for Mexican food and this place had great food, gave great service and was reasonably priced.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tojo25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
128 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Innovative and sophisticated cooking”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

The night I visited, Cream of Cilantro soup was one of the daily specials. It was amazing. How come everybody isn't serving this? It was creamy, green, flavorful, well strained with no bits of herb in it. Topped with a bit of cheese shreds and a few strips of fried tortilla. This is way beyond average Mexican restaurant cooking.

I also had a barbequed beef that I haven't found on other menus, but is a staple on this one. It was mostly successful. The sides were all tasty.

The service was attentive, the ambience standard.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Reenactress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Los Pepes Mexican Grill also viewed

Palm Desert, California Desert
Palm Desert, California Desert
 
Rancho Mirage, California Desert
Palm Desert, California Desert
 
Palm Desert, California Desert
Palm Desert, California Desert
 

Been to Los Pepes Mexican Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing