We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis indeed”
Review of Mojave Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mojave Resort
Ranked #18 of 22 Hotels in Palm Desert
Seattle, Washington
1 review
“Oasis indeed”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

The magnificent location, the small but intimate setting, the peace and quite just off El Paseo, in a setting where you almost imagine the Rat Pack hanging out. The staff is on incredibly personable and there to help with anything you need. The morning breakfast builds a little community of guests. It is small and homey and charming.

Room Tip: they have kitchens if you want one -- and a couple of suites all are right on the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elaine k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    41
    18
    1
    5
See reviews for
27
55
10
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Rancho Mirage, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed March 3, 2014

We got to spend four nights here and really enjoyed the quiet, oasis like feeling. The room was comfortable and roomy and had a refrigerator, stove and microwave. If you really want to cook, they will provide you with pots and pans. I didn't because we were about two blocks from El Paseo and all the shops and restaurants. The hot tub, pool and grounds were very clean and the manager, Mash, was super helpful. We enjoyed sitting outside our room on the patio chairs and relaxing. It really seemed like going back in time. When we went out the gate I was surprised that we were on the corner of two very busy streets. Also, there is a continental breakfast in the morning. We will definitely go back.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobbi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zollikon, Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed February 16, 2014

We spent four weeks at the Mojave Resort, a peaceful oasis with a pool area in the center. All nice 24 rooms in bungalow style are faced to a wonderful and well-kept garden. The location in quiet neighborhood and next to the El Paseo, is a perfect place to recover and to enjoy the wonderful climate of the California desert.
There is no restaurant in the Resort but each room has a fully equipped small kitchen. A continental breakfast is served outside.
The personal is very nice and helpful; soon you are part of the family.
We will definite come back!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MCH130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We stayed for 2 nights when celebrating my husband's birthday. The Office Manager "Mash" made us feel welcome & even carried our luggage to our spacious corner room which had a fireplace. The resort is really a 24-room motel laid out around the pool. Bright orange patio chairs, orange trim & mature trees give the property a retro feel. A very basic continental breakfast was served outdoors; guests take it back to their rooms. We enjoyed the quiet atmosphere & slept very well. The bath products & towels were of good quality. The location & price can't be beat. This is an older but comfortable place to stay. We hope to return soon!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MayaMujer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santa cruz
Level Contributor
60 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here because it was close to the relatives. The location was the best thing about it. It was just ok, nothing special. Did not have a kitchenette even tho it is advertised. The shower dripped. The bed was really hard and the mattress cover had some kind if plastic on it.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suzycruzsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2013

We just loved our room and loved the people. It was exceptionally clean, very retro with large spaces. The service was impeccable and we felt like we were part of the family. If you are looking for a reasonable rate for a place to stay in Palm Desert than stay at The Mojave. The location is perfect with the finest restaurants and shops on El Paseo in walking distance!!! Thanks to Mashed Potatoes and the staff - you were the best. Patti and Dawn

Room Tip: Each room has it's own empty bar fridge so you can fill it up with your own drinks. We stayed i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PattiG623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L.A., CA
Level Contributor
64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

This is a decent, no frills place to stay, which is a little pricey for what you actually get. I think the Mohave "Resort" is an ostentatious name for what is essentially a motel with a pool and spa. The rooms are simply but tastefully furnished in mid-century style, and, typical of an older motel, the bathrooms are small, but adequate, and the A/C is noisy. The place itself is relatively quiet, but, since most of the rooms are around the pool area, it is only as quiet as the noisiest children using the pool. We were woken on Sunday morning by a homeless person talking to himself and going through the garbage storage container right outside our window. We stayed in an "oversized" room, which was set back a little from the pool area. The armchairs have certainly seen better days and could stand to be reupholstered. While the resort's website talks of private patios, they are hardly private, since this amounts to two chairs and a small table outside each room, which are in full view of everyone else. The Mojave is conveniently located for El Paseo shopping and dining.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hd91364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm Desert hotels
1.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Palm Desert Resort
3.3 mi away
The Westin Desert Willow Villas
0.7 mi away
International Hotel & Suites
International Hotel & Suites
#15 of 22 in Palm Desert
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Palm Desert
2.6 mi away
Marriott's Desert Springs Villas II
0.1 mi away
Shadow Mountain Resort and Club
Shadow Mountain Resort and Club
#12 of 22 in Palm Desert
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mojave Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mojave Resort

Property: Mojave Resort
Address: 73721 Shadow Mountain Dr, Palm Desert, CA 92260-4841
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Desert
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 22 Hotels in Palm Desert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mojave Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the romance, glamour and sophistication of the desert of the 1940s...indulgent suites and guestrooms with dreamy beds and all the special touches you expect - from breakfast poolside to spa treatments under the stars. Just steps from the desert's finest shops and restaurants on El Paseo, yet decades away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, TravelClick and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mojave Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mojave Hotel Palm Desert
Mojave Desert Resort
Palm Desert Mojave Desert Resort Hotel
Mojave Palm Desert

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing