We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peaceful relaxing cabanas in the heart of Palm Desert” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mojave Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mojave Resort
Ranked #17 of 22 Hotels in Palm Desert
1 review
“Peaceful relaxing cabanas in the heart of Palm Desert”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

Wonderful place to stay. Nice pool right outside your door. Kid friendly but not noisy. Friendly staff and nice grounds to sit and sip wine. Some rooms have simple kitchenette and were very clean and airy. It now on my list of favorite places to stay in Palm Springs!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MartinaZiegen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    39
    18
    1
    4
See reviews for
26
54
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

With all the overpriced breakfast buffets and cabana rentals and golf and glitz in the Palm Desert area, it's great to find a place that's just cool and laid back. The Mojave has a great mid-century modern look, and doesn't feel renovated so much as preserved. The sparse, mature landscaping only adds to the sense that you've stepped through a portal to 1967. The staff is very friendly, but nearly invisible; there's no "service" to speak of, but that's part of what makes it so relaxing. Plus, it's a two minute walk to Keedy's, the best breakfast in the desert.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

This delightful place is an artful renovation. It's small, personal, comfortable with a feel that reminds me of the Valley back in the day. Nice job holding onto the flavor! We've already booked a return visit for next year's Indian Wells tennis. It's a great combination.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcia672
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Viejo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

Need to invest in the following:
#1. Tennis Channel (at least during 2 weeks of annual tournament in March)
#2. Flat Screen TV's
#3. Up Graded Bathroom. In particular toilets & shower/bath.
Great location within walking distance to Palm Desert's down town with great restaurants & shopping.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

We stayed at the Mojave a few weeks ago. It is a 1950s style...actually it is a 1950s desert motel that still has many of its 1950s features. It is "OK" but it needs lots of updating. The staff is very nice and very helpful. The grounds are well kept and the inner courtyard is quiet and peaceful It is in a great location, just a few blocks from the main shopping area on El Paseo. Unfortunately, the motel has seen better days. For example, the towel hook behind the bathroom door was missing and one looked at the two screw holes in the door that once held the hook. There was mold in the grout around the bathroom door and the grout around the tub was not of recent vintage. The room is probably comfortably air conditioned when things are warm but it was cold during our stay...40s at night. The air conditioner also serves as the heater...it didn't work well and it sounded as though there was a tractor in the room when it was on. We decided to turn the heater to high when we went out for dinner so the room was warm when we returned. Then we turned it off when we went to sleep. That worked "sort of" as the room was "brisk" in the morning and that made showering a bit of an adventure. You get the picture. In summary: good location, nice staff but the facility needs refurbishing.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SwimMan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apple Valley, California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

This is a small, mid-20th Century one-level hotel/motel only a block away from the El Paseo shopping/restaurant district in Palm Desert. It's well maintained and the staff is friendly. Parking is easy. Breakfast is pretty meager and coffee is typical weak American style: our room had a small kitchen (not well equipped), so you may want to get breakfast supplies. Minor but impressive point: they had the nicest facial tissues I've seen at a hotel recently!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bb1769
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wv
Level Contributor
56 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed at the Mojave again this year, and as we said last year, this is a neat little slice of time travel in Palm Desert. Top of the line bath products and bedding, quiet and comfortable rooms--true, you will need the heat in the morning and the wall units are noisy, but that is the charm of the place, it reminds me of trips from my youth updated with 400 count sheets and Molton Brown bath products. The grounds and pool are beautiful, the location is ideal (a five minute walk to the main shopping drag--El Paseo), and the staff are top notch.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank worshiguchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm Desert hotels
0.7 mi away
International Hotel & Suites
International Hotel & Suites
#16 of 22 in Palm Desert
4.0 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Westin Desert Willow Villas
4.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Palm Desert
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Palm Desert Resort
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert / Rancho Mirage
2.6 mi away
Marriott's Desert Springs Villas II
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mojave Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mojave Resort

Property: Mojave Resort
Address: 73721 Shadow Mountain Dr, Palm Desert, CA 92260-4841
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Desert
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 22 Hotels in Palm Desert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mojave Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the romance, glamour and sophistication of the desert of the 1940s...indulgent suites and guestrooms with dreamy beds and all the special touches you expect - from breakfast poolside to spa treatments under the stars. Just steps from the desert's finest shops and restaurants on El Paseo, yet decades away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick and Travelocity so you can book your Mojave Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mojave Hotel Palm Desert
Palm Desert Mojave Desert Resort Hotel
Mojave Desert Resort
Mojave Palm Desert

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing