We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“OK but Needs Refurbishing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mojave Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mojave Resort
Ranked #16 of 22 Hotels in Palm Desert
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“OK but Needs Refurbishing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We stayed at the Mojave a few weeks ago. It is a 1950s style...actually it is a 1950s desert motel that still has many of its 1950s features. It is "OK" but it needs lots of updating. The staff is very nice and very helpful. The grounds are well kept and the inner courtyard is quiet and peaceful It is in a great location, just a few blocks from the main shopping area on El Paseo. Unfortunately, the motel has seen better days. For example, the towel hook behind the bathroom door was missing and one looked at the two screw holes in the door that once held the hook. There was mold in the grout around the bathroom door and the grout around the tub was not of recent vintage. The room is probably comfortably air conditioned when things are warm but it was cold during our stay...40s at night. The air conditioner also serves as the heater...it didn't work well and it sounded as though there was a tractor in the room when it was on. We decided to turn the heater to high when we went out for dinner so the room was warm when we returned. Then we turned it off when we went to sleep. That worked "sort of" as the room was "brisk" in the morning and that made showering a bit of an adventure. You get the picture. In summary: good location, nice staff but the facility needs refurbishing.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SwimMan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    36
    16
    1
    4
See reviews for
26
49
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Apple Valley, California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

This is a small, mid-20th Century one-level hotel/motel only a block away from the El Paseo shopping/restaurant district in Palm Desert. It's well maintained and the staff is friendly. Parking is easy. Breakfast is pretty meager and coffee is typical weak American style: our room had a small kitchen (not well equipped), so you may want to get breakfast supplies. Minor but impressive point: they had the nicest facial tissues I've seen at a hotel recently!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bb1769
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wv
Level Contributor
53 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed at the Mojave again this year, and as we said last year, this is a neat little slice of time travel in Palm Desert. Top of the line bath products and bedding, quiet and comfortable rooms--true, you will need the heat in the morning and the wall units are noisy, but that is the charm of the place, it reminds me of trips from my youth updated with 400 count sheets and Molton Brown bath products. The grounds and pool are beautiful, the location is ideal (a five minute walk to the main shopping drag--El Paseo), and the staff are top notch.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank worshiguchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, England
Level Contributor
79 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We are from the UK and have been visiting The Mojave for the past eight years, roughly once very two years. The one thing that is still consistent despite a few change of owners is the presence of both Rhonda and Anthony. There are two other members of staff that are often around and our apologies for forgetting names but they too have been at The Mojave for some years. All four members of staff are brilliant and will do their best to make your stay a great one.
We find we love The Mojave for it's peace and tranquility, we don't want a lot of noise. The setting amongst the Palms is just perfect, the pool sparkles. There is a "but" to this review though. If you are looking for the same peace and quiet as we have always experienced you may not be so fortunate. You have to know that this is now a "family friendly" place as well as offering peace and solitude.
The rooms are great, still like stepping back a few eras and very tastefully furnished. The motel itself is ideally positioned for reaching the El Paseo district where you will find plenty of restaurants and lots of shops. A continental breakfast is offered and we find it quite sufficient for our tastes cereal, pastries, juice, fruit, coffee etc...
We have spent the last four days at The Mojave, chilling by the pool, enjoying the sunshine before making our way back to the UK.
We look forward to returning again.

Room Tip: Some rooms are roadside, you may hear early morning traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lesley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We were in town for a Friday night concert at the "New" McCallum theatre a mile away. Rhonda at the front desk was great and very helpful. The room was nice for the price. Nice pool area. Continental breakfast was just right. We would stay here again!!

Room Tip: They have kitchenette rooms available as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BigBob55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brea,CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

We had a great time at the Mojave, because the owner, Sonny Patel, loves kids! We were there with other families, and basically took over the whole place. It was great to enjoy a family-friendly hotel. We could just let our kids loose, and kick back at the pool. We were so lucky to have the Mojave for our family reunion.
Unfortunately, there were some middle-aged couples who didn't appreciate our kids. They were a little irritated that we kind of used the entire pool with our families. And we did kind of take over the breakfast area, and our kids did get up early to play in the pool. (Well, they can go to a boring hotel for adults-only, like the Mod, across the street) Why ruin our fun? The best part is that we got a discount (for having several rooms) and those other couples paid full price. Even thought the Mojave is advertised as a peaceful, quiet place, we're glad it isn't.
We will continue to take our kids and meet our friends there for a wild, fun time. Thanks, Sonny.

Room Tip: Book several rooms with families to get a discount.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Reginawoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

Great area, spacious pool and hot tub, well-manicured grounds, nice continental breakfast set-up, friendly staff and guests, and comfortable, large room. We traveled with our 3 year old and she was more than welcome, which was very nice. I think she was only child at the resort the weekend we were there. We've stayed at the larger resorts and this is so much nicer and more peaceful. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SwissG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm Desert hotels
0.7 mi away
International Hotel & Suites
International Hotel & Suites
#13 of 22 in Palm Desert
4.0 of 5 stars 362 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Westin Desert Willow Villas
4.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Palm Desert
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Palm Desert
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Palm Desert Resort
2.6 mi away
Marriott's Desert Springs Villas II
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mojave Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mojave Resort

Property: Mojave Resort
Address: 73721 Shadow Mountain Dr, Palm Desert, CA 92260-4841
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Desert
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 22 Hotels in Palm Desert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mojave Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the romance, glamour and sophistication of the desert of the 1940s...indulgent suites and guestrooms with dreamy beds and all the special touches you expect - from breakfast poolside to spa treatments under the stars. Just steps from the desert's finest shops and restaurants on El Paseo, yet decades away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelClick and Travelocity so you can book your Mojave Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mojave Hotel Palm Desert
Palm Desert Mojave Desert Resort Hotel
Mojave Desert Resort
Mojave Palm Desert

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing