We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“time traveling in palm desert”
Review of Mojave Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mojave Resort
Ranked #18 of 22 Hotels in Palm Desert
wv
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“time traveling in palm desert”
Reviewed December 27, 2011

This is a comfortable, quiet, return to the 50s/60s. It is a vintage motel set around a gorgeous courtyard with pool and palms. The rooms are comfortable, clean, and quiet--with a staff who do all they can to make your stay comfortable. The locale is ideal--a three to five minute stroll and you are on El Paseo, the main shopping/dining venue in Palm Desert. Our king deluxe came with a kitchenette, which we did not need, but would be ideal for families. All in all it reminded me of many a road trip with my family in the 60s, albeit without the upscale bedding and bath products that the Mojave provides.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank worshiguchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    41
    18
    1
    5
See reviews for
27
55
10
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2011

My husband and I have been staying at this little gem of a motel ever since it's remodel by Candra Scott & Anderson, the interior design firm that also re-did the Rex in San Francisco.

Unfortunately the current owners don't understand the retro 40's chic that the design firm created. As things break, wear out or need repair they're being replaced without regard to their style.

The room was very clean, unlike the last time we were here. And the grounds were well kept. So these comments must be doing some good. The staff has always been accommodating.

But the bed linens HAVE to go! They've got a plastic protector on the mattress that makes a lot of noise and isn't held on by any straps so it moves around. The bottom sheet holding it in place isn't big enough to keep it snug.

I hope the next time they decide to replace something they consult with a design professional or else I'm afraid it's going to lose it's boutique hotel vibe and end up just another ho-hum motel.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TopangaTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2011

Stayed at The Mojave during Memorial Day wknd this year. A small resort tucked away in a residential area, it's pretty quiet, location is close to El Paseo too. Overall it's ok, but it shows signs of wear and some repairs are needed, around the grounds, the bathroom in our room, small stuff here and there. The staff were great, friendly, informative, helpful. With some improvements and better upkeep, this could be a real jem.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jcoanda
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2011

I've stayed at the Mojave Resort at least 3 or 4 times. The property looks mid-century and well maintained. They have a nice pool and jacuzzi, though to my liking the pool is usually a few degrees too cold.

They serve a cold buffet breakfast with cereal, yogurt, toast, etc.

Room Tip: If you want peace and quiet, request a room furthest from the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jcoanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

The Mojave Resort is a fine place to stay if you just want a hotel with a pool in Palm Desert. It's clean and comfortable. I've have been here four years with a large group of friends and family and loads of kids. Each year I organized the trip and stay in touch with the owner about blocking out the hotel so our group can "take over." Two of those four years he booked guests not with our group and it was disappointing. I am a huge fan of mid century design and architecture and in the Palm Springs area there are so many options and better examples of this plus for the price you can get a hotel with a salt water pool.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank seehoustonlosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 1, 2011

My cousin and I needed a getaway weekend. We chose Memorial Day 2011 and we stayed both Saturday and Sunday nights. When I arrived, I was so surprised to see that I had unconsciously chosen the same hotel my extended family had stayed at 13 years ago when we were celebrating my parents' 50th wedding anniversary. Back then, the place seemed a bit run down. But now, it shines with style at every glance inside the room and out! I guess the best compliment I could give is that I truly enjoyed how intimate the atmosphere was. There are about 15-20 rooms altogether and they surround a sparkling pool, tables with umbrellas, chairs, chaise lounges, and a small grassy area. On one end of that area was a cement pad decorated cabana-style for sitting and relaxing. On the far end of the pool was a short walkway to the jacuzzi. We stayed in room #4. Everything, including the continental breakfast, seemed just a few steps from that room. Our room had details that assured me someone with charm and grace chose them. The color scheme throughout the entire hotel, the movie star photos first seen as you open the door, the very comfortable beds, the 1940-style furniture, the robes hanging in the closet, and the wine glasses in the kitchenette, all added to the allure.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ttsweetie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2011

Stayed over Memorial Day weekend. Intimate, 24-room little hotel/motel close to El Paseo. Retro feel, lovely photos in lobby and room. All rooms circle pool/spa/garden area. This makes for exceptional convenience and, when the pool area is not crowded, a peaceful and pretty setting for relaxing outside reading or for swimming. Beds are good. If they're going to stick with the word "resort" in their name, it's time to replace the carpet in the room we had, and to paint the bricks around the hot tub, both of which are showing their age. The hot tub itself is marvelous. The continental breakfast is, as others have noted, uninspired. Evidently they only have a certain level food license, so they can't serve prepared or handled food. It would be nice if they could add croissants to the basic bagel and Von's muffins. Good cereal selection. Apples and bananas. Coffee not bad.

Room Tip: Ask if large party has booked at same time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tbc54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm Desert hotels
3.3 mi away
The Westin Desert Willow Villas
0.7 mi away
International Hotel & Suites
International Hotel & Suites
#14 of 22 in Palm Desert
419 reviews
1.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Palm Desert Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Palm Desert
0.1 mi away
Shadow Mountain Resort and Club
Shadow Mountain Resort and Club
#15 of 22 in Palm Desert
123 reviews
2.6 mi away
Marriott's Desert Springs Villas II
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mojave Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mojave Resort

Property: Mojave Resort
Address: 73721 Shadow Mountain Dr, Palm Desert, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92260-4841
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Desert
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 22 Hotels in Palm Desert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mojave Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the romance, glamour and sophistication of the desert of the 1940s...indulgent suites and guestrooms with dreamy beds and all the special touches you expect - from breakfast poolside to spa treatments under the stars. Just steps from the desert's finest shops and restaurants on El Paseo, yet decades away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and TravelClick so you can book your Mojave Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mojave Hotel Palm Desert
Mojave Desert Resort
Palm Desert Mojave Desert Resort Hotel
Mojave Palm Desert

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing