We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mojave Resort
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Comfort Suites Palm Desert I-10(Palm Desert)(Great Value!)
$105
$83
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$86
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$319
JW Marriott
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$110
$99
Homewood
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Residence Inn Palm Desert(Palm Desert)(Great Value!)
$109
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Embarc Palm Desert(Palm Desert)(Great Value!)
$249
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Shadow Mountain Resort and Club(Palm Desert)(Great Value!)
$88
$75
Groupon.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Courtyard Palm Desert(Palm Desert)
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Inn at Deep Canyon(Palm Desert)(Great Value!)
$89
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
International Hotel & Suites(Palm Desert)(Great Value!)
$55
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (160)
Filter reviews
160 results
Traveler rating
94
42
18
1
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
94
42
18
1
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmashboutique hotelmid centurytwo blockssmall kitchenshops restaurantscontinental breakfastinner courtyardpool and hot tubyogurtcoming back next yearshampoo and conditionershort walkpalm springs desertindian canyonsthe entire resortrooms are large
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
91 - 96 of 160 reviews
Reviewed May 31, 2011

Stayed over Memorial Day weekend. Intimate, 24-room little hotel/motel close to El Paseo. Retro feel, lovely photos in lobby and room. All rooms circle pool/spa/garden area. This makes for exceptional convenience and, when the pool area is not crowded, a peaceful and pretty setting for relaxing outside reading or for swimming. Beds are good. If they're going to stick with the word "resort" in their name, it's time to replace the carpet in the room we had, and to paint the bricks around the hot tub, both of which are showing their age. The hot tub itself is marvelous. The continental breakfast is, as others have noted, uninspired. Evidently they only have a certain level food license, so they can't serve prepared or handled food. It would be nice if they could add croissants to the basic bagel and Von's muffins. Good cereal selection. Apples and bananas. Coffee not bad.

Room Tip: Ask if large party has booked at same time.
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tbc54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2011

For the past 6 years, we have been visiting the Mojave Resort. We are part of a group of families that visit the Mojave for Father’s Day weekend (yes, 1 weekend out of the entire year). It is a special time for us because it allows us to reconnect and spend an enjoyable weekend of fun in the sun with family and friends.

All of the staff at Mojave has welcomed us with open arms. Sonny has assured us that we are welcome (we ask each year, just to be sure). He stands behind his decision to have a family friendly hotel. Especially since 95% of hotels in Palm Desert are “adults only”.

The hotel is clean, has very spacious rooms, a retro vibe and is a great value. We are so thankful Sonny has such a beautiful hotel that provides a warm family atmosphere.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Angelaenfuego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2011

We enjoyed the peaceful gardens, warm pool and happy conversation in the hot tub with two delightful sisters. I got some work done by the pool, then took a dip and swam laps. Bev enjoyed shopping in El Paseo a stones throw away. Great restaurant Jillians mile away. Coffee in the am was great and ate my raisin bran in the hot tub. Staff was very helpful and mapquested us on our way to the next stop.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sealbeachtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2010

During the weekend of June 18-20, we were looking forward to a peaceful couple of days of relaxation at the Mojave. For the past 10 years we have enjoyed the solitude and retro charm at The Mojave.
The quaint atmosphere of the hotel was lost to what was a reunion weekend for about 8 families with at least 15 children from the age of 1 to 12. The pool area quickly became unaccessible to the guests as the children dominated it. It was covered with toys, rafts and floaties which were never removed. Chairs and towels were all being used by the families which did not seem interested in any of the other guests at The Mojave.
The noise level was unacceptable as the shrieks and screaming of the children were the last sounds at night and the first sounds of the morning. At one point, we turned up the A/C to drown them out.
The pool water was contaminated as toddlers in diapers stood in the water, turning it a dull green within hours. We even overheard two of the fathers ocmmenting on the filthy condition of the pool. They joked, even though it was their children who had caused it. In addition, unsupervised children used the spa for several hours (liability?). As a result, we did not go near the pool or spa at all.
The breakfast table was a disaster with milk and juice spilled all over the ground and sweet rolls had been smashed and put back.
The ice quiclkly became off limits for us as we observed one toddler eating out of the ice and another child throwing sand in it.
We booked our trip in January, and would have re-scheduled had we known what was happening that weekend. We spoke with two of the employees about our concerns, and they did sympathize with us, since they witnessed much of the devastation. We heard from one of the employees that the families had all received a discounted room rate, while we paid full price.
We have sent two letters to the owner Sonny Patel and to date we have not received any response from him. He has owned The Mojave since October 2008. Since Sonny Patel practices such poor customer relations, especially with regards to clientele that have been guests at the Mojave for so long. We will not be returning while Sonny Patel retains ownership.
The Mojave website says it is a "tranquil setting." Due to the noise, clutter and filth our weekend was ruined. We paid for a weekend of rejuvenation, but instead were very disappointed. At full price.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
19  Thank Nortongirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2010

We had a great trip and found the hotel owners/staff to be helpful but we did not feel that there was a lot of value to the stay. The grounds and pool were cute, although the landscaping in some areas was minimal and could easily be improved (gravel instead of bare dirt). Breakfast was TERRIBLE. Very low quality. We actually went out to get coffee at 7 am because the hotel coffee was so funky. Attention to details was missing. Light bulbs were burned out, shower curtains weren't clean and we had a problem with a window that didn't lock. They kindly relocated us, but the room we moved to faced the street and was noisy as a trade-off. I just strongly believe you can do better for the price.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MsMacSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews