We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great family vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott's Shadow Ridge I-The Villages

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Marriott's Shadow Ridge I-The Villages
Ranked #6 of 22 Hotels in Palm Desert
Certificate of Excellence
Norco, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great family vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

This resort is basically a timeshare, but can stay without being a member. Great location in Palm Desert, Ca. If you are looking for a great place that caters to all family members, this fits the bill.

The kids center will keep your children entertained while you enjoy quiet time.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent. If you have kids try to get near recreation center
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margueritte J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

999 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    424
    342
    114
    73
    46
See reviews for
432
303
23
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (306)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

We stayed here Fri-Mon for a mini family vacation in the sun! We had a great time, stayed in bldg. 1500 across from the family pool with waterslide. My kids loved it here (ages 8 and 5). It was really crowded and the pool is packed from 9AM-9PM. The activities were fun, Zumba, golf, stuff a buddy ($25 for big one), movie nights, babysitting from 6-9 on Sunday night. The 3rd night we moved over to the Enclaves and that room was smaller, but newer, cleaner, and more updated. The pool over there was really fun, too. I think my kids liked it just as much as the other one, it has a sandy "beach" and another pool up above with a snack bar and fun water feature for little ones. We sat through the presentation to get the $150 gift card, we didn't buy a timeshare but were almost tempted. The yearly upkeep fee killed the deal though, it's about $1,000/year which is a lot considering that's probably how much we spend a year for hotels, but plus you have the cost of the timeshare. Anyway, not for us!
We will definitely come back, probably with some friends or family to hang out with!

Room Tip: Bldg 1500 for easy access to family pool. Enclave bldg. for the other Snake Bite pool, very peaceful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sbmama74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitestown, Indiana
Level Contributor
68 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

Just got back from a two week stay at Shadow Ridge and it was wonderful. We stayed in the 2200 building and it seemed to be the perfect spot. We had a corner unit with a great view of the golf course and the mountains. The rooms were very very clean and well stocked. The building was also convenient for walking to the Enclave's Pool which was great. That pool is one of several on the property. We liked this one because it has two separate pools just at that one specific location. The Cabanas are free, but they are on a first come first serve basis. Contrary to many reviews, we were allowed to bring food, water and pop to the pool. If you are carrying a cooler you may have a security person rush up to you, but all they do is check for alcohol and glass which are not allowed. There is a great bar at the pool area with frozen drinks and food if you need.

The service was also exceptional. At check-in, we changed our minds of what area of the resort we wanted to stay at, and they were very accommodating. Diane was the lady that helped us check-in and change buildings and she was amazing. She really set a great tone for our entire vacation.

One of the nights we decided to have dinner at the Grill restaurant on property and took the shuttle. (They have several shuttles that make their way around the resort which makes getting to the pools, the clubhouse, or the restaurants on property very easy.) Our driver was Roberto, and he was great. He welcomed us for coming to the resort, told us how much he enjoyed working there and meeting people from all over. He made it a nice ride.

One of the great benefits of staying at this property is you get a 20% discount at the J.W. Marriott Spa, about 10 minutes away. The Spa was amazing (see that review).

Although we didn't have little kids with us, there were activities all day long for kids. Everything from shaving cream pie throwing to arts and crafts. Most activities were free, but some did have a small charge.

Overall a great place to stay with fantastic service

Room Tip: Building 2200 with a golf course view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MBCS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxnard, California
Level Contributor
186 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

We had a 2 bedroom suite. The resort had everthing in there!
tThe room was big. Full kitchen. Walked on the golf course. Our back room opened up to a par 3 hole. It was about a balmy 118 degrees!. Place lush green. Lots of stuff for the kids to do. The theatre was a nice surprize. The pool had too much chlorine. Pool areas closed at 11pm. Bedding was of quality.
near a costco and walmart!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oneeddy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
214 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

We had a very nice stay at the Marriott Shadow Ridge. Rooms were clean and space was amble. There needs to be however attention paid to detail to move my rating from Very Good to an Excellent. The walk ways need attention by the housekeeping staff; the same wine cork sat outside our door as did a Q-Tip for the duration of our stay. In addition we had to call down to have the kitchen linens stocked. The kitchen amenities were the bare minimal. Multiple vanity lights were burnt out and the plumbing needs attention - loose faucets, slow drains. One the positive side, the location is a great desert get away with golf onsite. The bedding was very comfortable and the towels were nice and plush. The pools were busy but then that is expected this time of year. I hope as the property expands that more quiet / adult only spaces will be established.

Room Tip: I think quiet vs near the activity center is up to an individual's preference. Either would be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DrLFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

I come to Shadow Ridge every summer and this time didn't disappoint. Stayed in the 1700 building and enjoyed a different view. We spend a day at each of the pools and usually watch a evening movie in the main pool. Definietly check out the Mirage activities so that you can get out of the heat for a while.

Room Tip: Choose a room close to the pool so you don't have far to walk in the heat !
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank caroline b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

I came here with my son, daughter-in-law and 3 year old twin grandchildren back in April, which I understand was the Spring break, so quite full. I have been reading the reviews since then and don't recognise the place we visited! The resort was very clean and well kept, very green with lovely flowers. Our apartment was opposite the main pool so very convenient and not at all noisy. The apartment was lovely and kept very clean and tidy. The children loved the pools and activity centre. My husband and I enjoyed walking round the grounds, visited the cafes and had a lovely meal in the restaurant. I would definitely come again.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank GiaLondon_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palm Desert
1.3 mi away
The Westin Desert Willow Villas
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Palm Desert
2.1 mi away
The Westin Mission Hills Villas
The Westin Mission Hills Villas
#1 of 8 in Rancho Mirage
4.0 of 5 stars 802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Marriott's Desert Springs Villas II
0.3 mi away
Marriott's Shadow Ridge II- The Enclaves
2.1 mi away
JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Shadow Ridge I-The Villages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Shadow Ridge I-The Villages

Property: Marriott's Shadow Ridge I-The Villages
Address: 9003 Shadow Ridge Rd, Palm Desert, CA 92211-2057 (Formerly Marriott's Shadow Ridge)
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Desert
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Palm Desert
#7 Romantic Hotel in Palm Desert
#8 Family Hotel in Palm Desert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Shadow Ridge I-The Villages 3.5*
Number of rooms: 848
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Southern California's magnificent mountain ranges serve as the breathtaking backdrop for Marriott's Shadow Ridge. Spacious villas overlook rolling fairways and sparkling lakes weaving throughout the landscape. Beautiful master suites feature a king bed and oversized soaking tub while the spacious living and dining areas, and fully kitchen offer convenience and comfort. Swing by the Faldo Golf Institute by Marriott and try your luck on the championship course. Then relax at Nick Faldo's Bar & Grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Marriott, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Marriott's Shadow Ridge I-The Villages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Shadow Ridge Hotel Palm Desert
Marriotts Palm Desert
Marriotts Hotel Shadow Ridge
Marriott Palm Desert
Marriott Shadow Ridge
Marriotts Shadow Ridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing