We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun for young kids” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marriott's Shadow Ridge I-The Villages

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Marriott's Shadow Ridge I-The Villages
Ranked #4 of 22 Hotels in Palm Desert
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fun for young kids”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

This is a nice property in the Marriott chain. My three year old loved the pools and playground, and the children's centre was huge, well equipped and well run. We had a fantasic view of the mountains with unbelievable sunsets. Definitely request something facing west. The property itself was a little far from everything, but driving anywhere we wanted to go was easy. The rooms are well done, with all the usual Marriott conveniences. Overall, enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natalie_Jones88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's Shadow Ridge I-The Villages, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Thank you for the positive review Natalie! We are happy to hear your little one had a great time at the children's center and loved the activities. Please visit us again at Marriott's Shadow Ridge!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,062 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    463
    356
    123
    74
    46
See reviews for
452
330
24
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (329)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hermosa Beach, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2014

This spring break trip to Palm Springs was the absolute best place to go for kids and family
girls 12 and 13 had so much fun and freedom at this place. The activities were wonderful for them and they met tons of school mates there. Its condos were ample sized and we never had to leave. there were pools in different areas and all were close by. Yes there was pool seating saved but so what? We got up early and got the spots we needed for being together as adults. The kids never hardly ever sat down there was so much to do.
It has everything. and there are these big travel mug cups you buy for 16.95 and you can get free refills on your icy soft drinks and even bring back next visit. Its a great experience. We loved it and are coming back. Its a family place!!!

Room Tip: We had a 1 bedroom and the kids used the sofa with great topper to make it comfortable. the beds we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank popelynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, CA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014

We just stayed here for a Spring Break getaway with the two 8-year-olds. I can see how someone might love it or hate it, depending on what kind of experience you're looking for.

First off, if you have kids that love to swim and do the kids' activities, either get a room in a building near the main pool (if possible) or bring scooters or bikes to get around. The property is huge, and it took us 20 minutes to walk to the front office this morning for coffee, no joke. When it's 95 degrees outside, you may not want to walk the 15 minutes to the pools from a far-away building. They do have a shuttle, but it only comes every 30 minutes. We ended up driving to and from the pool each time.

The pool ran out of towels today, several times. I guess they need more laundry capacity or something. People were frustrated when they couldn't get towels for their kids to dry off. The hotel issues each room 4 "towel cards", which are used to get 8 towels at the pool. According to the card, you must return all your assigned cards upon checkout, or you will be charged $25 per card. Not sure if that is enforced. Do people really steal these yellow/white striped towels?

Pool-side food was typical - a bit overpriced and not great. The line to order food was slow, with only one person taking orders and closing the window for a couple minutes after each order.

There were many activities for the kids. Painting, jewelry making, stuffed animal making ($25), etc. The craft activities cost $5-$25, depending on what they were making. My kids loved playing at the ping-pong and pool tables the most. The video games (Wii/XBOX) of course were a hit too.

One reason we chose this place was because it had a water slide. It does have one, but the kids were disappointed with the slow speed compared to others they've done at other hotels. Good for small kids I suppose.

We got a "guest room", which is smaller than the 1-bedroom and 2-bedroom units. MUCH smaller. I probably would have chosen the 1-bedroom if I'd known how small our room was going to be. Otherwise, the room was good and everything worked fine. I was told our building was just remodeled, and it looked like it. Some details were overlooked I think however. The bathroom door swung open by itself and was hard to close (was not hung correctly). The air conditioning was good, but a bit loud, probably due to the size of the room. The air vent is directly above the king bed in the room, and it was aimed completely straight ahead, so we REALLY felt the breeze when it kicked on. Because of this we were cold/hot/cold/hot all night long. The next day I climbed up and aimed some of the outer vents to the left and right, and it was much better.

Maybe it's unusual because it's Spring Break for many people, but there were TONS of people/kids at the pool and other areas. Crowded like Disneyland.

Overall we (especially the kids) had a good time.

Room Tip: Request near the pool if you want to swim, or you're in for a walk!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dbsanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's Shadow Ridge I-The Villages, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Thank you for your Tripadvisor review of Marriott's Shadow Ridge! We appreciate your feedback regarding the resort layout, pool towels and villa size. Our team would be happy to put in a request for a villa closer to the pool area on a future trip and ensure you have the right size villa for your party's needs. We will also share your feedback about the pool towels with our facilities team to make sure we meet our guest's needs in the busier periods. Thank you again for your review and we hope you can visit again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

We recently returned from our second stay at this resort. We love the rooms, the views and the pools. Shopping and restaurants are just a short drive away.
We took our toddler and she did great, they have a great set up for kids at the family pool area, with a splash park and toddler pool. There is a slide and large pool for the older kids as well as an activity center and a playground.
The only problem we had was that we went during spring break. I would not recommend going during this busy time of the year because the place is at capacity and it was very hard to find a chair to sit at near the pools. They had a major problem with people coming to the pool early and putting towels and items on multiple chairs to claim them and then leaving (often for a very long time) despite the resort posting not to do so. I actually ended up helping the pool attendant "un-reserve" some chairs so families who were actually at the pool could enjoy them.
We also observed many people at the pool who were not guests at the resort using the pool and facilities, taking up the already too few chairs available. I would suggest strongly that the resort crack down on these issues to make for a better experience for the paying guests who follow the rules.
Other than that, the staff was wonderful and our experience was great.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Trisha V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mitchell, South Dakota, United States
Level Contributor
107 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2014

This resort is awesome. Stunning entrance and check in area. Beautifully landscaped. View from our room was gorgeous and views from the whole resort were gorgeous. Great pools, plenty of children and family activities everyday. Great drinks at the pool bars.Golfing was great as well. They have grill through out the resort that you can use for grilling. The rooms were nice with a kitchenette,microwave and fridge, we were able to get snacks to eat throughout our stay. I do wish they had more restaurants on the resort. Overall, excellent. We will be going back again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Melissa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2014

Every aspect of our stay at the Marriott Shadow Ridge was excellent. We’re a family of four with a boy, 14 and a girl, 8. We stayed in a 2nd floor, 2 bedroom unit in building 1400 the last week of March. We are not Marriott owners, but were guests of owners, so the reservation was in both their name and ours. I was told that it being an owner’s week was important when making a building request.

This is a big property, so take a look at a resort map (do a web search and you’ll find one, and google-earthing it helps as well) to find a location that best suits you. I wanted an easterly view, as I heard the heat and sun can make your balcony fairly unusable with a west exposure, and we wanted to be close to the main pool, so I requested building 1400, 1500 or 1600. Any of those buildings are extremely convenient to the main pool and the kids’ activity center, as well as the small park that has both basketball and a putting green. Of course, if you want a pool with no kids and a great mountain view, you may be happier in one of the buildings closer to the adult pool. There is a continual shuttle service throughout the resort, which we used four times, going back and forth to the golf course twice, with house phones many places to be able to call for a ride. We never waited more than five minutes.

The 2 bedroom unit was great- updated and nicely appointed, with plenty of room for four (and plenty for six as well when the in-laws came to visit for two days midweek.) The kitchen was well equipped, and the washer/dryer were extremely handy to have. The layout works, and beds were comfortable. Wifi was complimentary and the signal was strong. Overall it was an excellent unit.

The kids’ activities were the best we’ve experienced at any property. There was always something going on, and those activities that they charged for came at a reasonable fee. Our weather was ideal the entire week, but if you have kids and run into bad weather these activities can help save the trip. All activities our kids participated in were well-run and fun.

The main pool is great. The resort was at capacity the week we were there but nothing ever really felt too crowded. We found chairs together even at those times we came to the pool at prime time. The water was warm. There is a water slide that empties into its own small pool, but it was a little too unexciting even for my 8 year old- a little flat and slow. It looks great for younger kids though. The food and drink service at the pool was a touch spotty- they could use a couple more servers to make the rounds. However, once we got a server’s attention the turnaround time to get drinks and food was fine. The food was above-average for poolside fare, and the prices what you would expect at a resort.

The grounds are gorgeous and impeccably maintained. After a long Midwestern winter, the look and smell and feel of this place was amazing. All employees were suitably friendly and courteous, and service everywhere we went on the grounds was great.

My son and I played a round of golf and enjoyed the course. They have special rates for owners and guests, and even better ones for juniors. The clubhouse is lovely, and the service at the golf shop and around the course and practice area was ideal. You can also use the practice facilities on days you do not play for a reasonable fee.

In summation, there is something for everyone here- it is simply a well-thought-out property, with great units and facilities, and prompt, friendly service. Some family vacations are a struggle for mom and dad, this one was pure relaxation. We have stayed at many fine resorts and vacation club properties, and we all agreed this was our favorite.

Room Tip: Plan ahead. Find a resort map online and look at the property on google earth to find a location tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank xjimmyx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Coast USA
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014

Visited in early March. I've stayed at several Marriott time shares. This one was up to the Marriott standard. We had the two bedroom unit, one king and the other room had two queens, with pull out in living area. There is no way you could have more than 6 people in that unit. Much smaller units then other Marriott properties, or at least the living, dining and kitchen areas were. The pools were beautiful with lots of chairs and lots of shady areas. Granted it was not crowded when we were there during the week. The only issue we had was the ventilation, the vent blew right over the dining room table and it seemed like it was either too cool or too hot in the many living space but the temperature in the bedrooms was fine.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank batmik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palm Desert
1.3 mi away
The Westin Desert Willow Villas
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Palm Desert
2.1 mi away
The Westin Mission Hills Villas
The Westin Mission Hills Villas
#1 of 8 in Rancho Mirage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Marriott's Desert Springs Villas II
0.2 mi away
Marriott's Shadow Ridge II- The Enclaves
2.2 mi away
JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Shadow Ridge I-The Villages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Shadow Ridge I-The Villages

Property: Marriott's Shadow Ridge I-The Villages
Address: 9003 Shadow Ridge Rd, Palm Desert, CA 92211-2057 (Formerly Marriott's Shadow Ridge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Desert
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Palm Desert
#7 Romantic Hotel in Palm Desert
#8 Family Hotel in Palm Desert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Shadow Ridge I-The Villages 3.5*
Number of rooms: 427
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Southern California's magnificent mountain ranges serve as the breathtaking backdrop for Marriott's Shadow Ridge. Spacious villas overlook rolling fairways and sparkling lakes weaving throughout the landscape. Beautiful master suites feature a king bed and oversized soaking tub while the spacious living and dining areas, and fully kitchen offer convenience and comfort. Swing by the Faldo Golf Institute by Marriott and try your luck on the championship course. Then relax at Nick Faldo's Bar & Grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Marriott so you can book your Marriott's Shadow Ridge I-The Villages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Shadow Ridge Hotel Palm Desert
Marriotts Palm Desert
Marriotts Hotel Shadow Ridge
Marriott Palm Desert
Marriott Shadow Ridge
Marriotts Shadow Ridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing