We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great Marriott property in the desert”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Marriott's Shadow Ridge I-The Villages
Ranked #6 of 22 Hotels in Palm Desert
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 12, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this resort for the Indian Wells Bnp Paribas tennis tournament. It was one if the most reasonable accommodations we found. It's a beautiful property that is a little further out and isolated but still just 5 minutes away from stores and restaurants. We lived the layout of the buildings. Great parking. We stayed by the quiet pool and spent time there. The property is huge and we walked in the mornings and enjoyed the scenery. There is a Dylan's Candy Bar store in the lobby. Every person we asked for help was gracious and friendly. Our only issue was with housekeeping. Our garbage under the sink wasn't emptied until we left it out and it looked as though the bathroom floor was never swept as there were hairs all over (they were out hairs but still?). I would definitely stay here next year when we come back to the tournament.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank runsuerun60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,116)
There are newer reviews for Marriott's Shadow Ridge I-The Villages
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

484 - 490 of 1,116 reviews

Reviewed March 8, 2014

Stayed at Marriott's Shadow Ridge vacation resort for 3 nights in February. Found a really good deal thru Expedia so decided to give it a try. We had one of the smaller rooms connected off of the one bedroom suites but for 3 days it was just fine. We had a microwave and bar fridge which was all we needed. Ground floor unit allowed us to go outside and have grass around the patio. Our unit was on the 18th hole of the golf course, which is beautiful and well maintained. We enjoyed having coffee on our patio each morning looking at the golf course and mountains in the distance. Beds were very comfortable.
We had dinner with friends at the lodge restaurant and found the food very good and very reasonable. Service was excellent.
We didn't end up using the pools as we were out most of the day but we did check it out a.nd found that it would be a nice place to just relax in the sun.
This is a time share property so be aware that you will be invited to attend an information session

Room Tip: We had one of the smaller rooms. There are larger units with more space and amenities if you are goi...
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank caintown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014

I cannot say anything bad about this place! Friendliest employees, most comfortable beds, terrific views! Marriott does it right! We were in a renovated villa so maybe that is why everything was so nice.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marymargaret1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014

We have stayed at Shadow Ridge 5 times in about as many years. Our last stay was not in Villa, but the Enclaves. Both have similar features, but the Enclaves is more contemporary. We do find we like being on the upper floors when staying in the Villas. We have had to wait past the check-in time more than once, but the front desk has always been courteous and helpful. We are returning to Palm Desert again in May and will try Marriott Desert Springs.

Room Tip: We like the higher floors to look out at the views.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barbara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

My husband and I traded our timeshare turn to stay a week at Marriott's Shadow Ridge Resort. The grounds are beautiful and the exterior of the buildings are sharply kept. However, that is where it ends. We got a one bedroom unit on the first floor and walking up to the unit, we were surprised to see that the walkways and the hallways in this building were dirty. They may have been washed, but there were black gummy spots all over. The door to our unit looked like it had been through a war--it was painted over in spots and the shades were different. It was also beat up. When we entered the unit, we noticed that it was quite outdated. The furniture was worn out and dated and the dining table was stained under the glass and the finish had worn off in certain areas. The kitchen had the 80's oak cabinetry and they were sticky from grease splatter from the stove. The baseboards and molding on the door to the patio were dirty and dusty--they had never been dusted, and the carpet had some debris on them. We felt like we were in a cheap apartment rental on the poor side of town. We complained and asked for another room. They put us in a newer building where the units had been refurbished. The unit was nice, the walkways and the hallways were clean. However, the cabinets also had the grease splatter which was not wiped off. Since the cabinets were fairly new, there was not the layer of sticky greasy feel to them. The grease actually wiped off readily when I took a damp paper towel to it. The unit was already beginning to show wear and tear which a little more cleaning could have helped. I noticed that even the water feature at the lobby behind the desk needed cleaning and maintenance. This is not a well run place. I was really shocked that Marriott would even think of having people use their older, unrefurbished, dated units. However, this could have been overlooked had they been clean. It looks like the cleaning staff is not well managed at all. Our timeshare is in Marriott Villas II in Palm Desert and we have never run into such issues. I am glad our home resort is well run, but Marriott should not allow such sloppy cleaning in any of its resorts. Someone should be checking on their cleaning manager and its crew to see that they are doing their jobs properly.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lucy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's Shadow Ridge I-The Villages, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2014

Thank you for visiting Marriott’s Shadow Ridge. We take your feedback seriously and appreciate you bringing your concerns to our attention. Our team apologizes for the cleanliness issues you encountered during your stay as this does not meet the high Marriott standards you have come to know. Please know, your feedback will be shared with the appropriate managers.

We would welcome the chance to personally respond to you and invite you contact our Customer Care team at Customer.Care@vacationclub.com or at 800-860-9384. Thank you again for your feedback and being a part of the Marriott Vacation Club family!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2014

These villas almost all have a great golf course view and are well equipped as are most Marriott resorts We were pleased that the unit was recently updated with all new appliances and counter tops. The landscaping is and great and the staff is friendly and helpful. Shopping and restaurants are near by and the area has many attractions.
One of the best features of this Palm Desert resort area is the beauty of the surrounding mountains the wonderful landscapes everywhere you go. This is our third visit to this resort and we enjoyed this vacation more than ever.

Room Tip: 1st floor corner units lack privacy, especially the guest unit.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014

We booked a guest room for 7 nights to get out of the cold at home and were impressed with the beautiful grounds on the resort as soon as we arrived. It was clear at check-in that my request of a top floor near the clubhouse was not possible and no other rooms were available during this busy month. We were told that we did get the golf course view as requested, but upon arrival to our second floor room we found a large tree in front of our patio that blocked most of the view. In addition, the room furnishings were clearly dated, not at all like the few photo's we found before booking. (When I booked the room, I called to find out about the nearby construction at the Enclaves and was told it would not be an issue at the Village, but was also told the Village rooms were updated recently in 2008 - just wasn't told the process was continuing and some buildings were not yet done.) Having stayed at many Marriott properties with no noise problems, we were also surprised at how "thin" the walls were in the room and would wake up each morning to conversations from adjoining rooms on either side. We returned to the front desk on the next day to see if we could change rooms at any point during our stay. The clerk did not find anything on his screen and said he would check in the back room with the manager, but after several minutes, he returned to say they were fully booked and no other room was available.

When we had checked in, we provided two credit cards to split the charges and the clerk said it would be no problem. During our stay, my partner's credit card was stolen and she quickly called the bank to have it replaced. At checkout, we found that most of the charges were put through her card until it was blocked and then the last night's charge was put on my card. The desk clerk said there was nothing in the record about splitting the total bill between the two cards. He again disappeared into the back room to talk with the manager. We had to leave for the airport, so when he returned (to tell us they could not change the charges), we simply took the statement and left. I don't know of a hotel property where the manager will not come out to personally speak to guests about their problems, so this was a first for us.

The golf course was great, as were the pools and even the housekeeping services, we just did not feel front desk staff was helpful at all. Interestingly, we attended the vacation club presentation during our stay and indicated to them that regardless of the property amenities, we would not want to spend considerable amounts as owners in a facility with dated rooms and thin walls. We will keep an open mind and may try again next year when the building updates should be complete. We hope the usual Marriott high quality will be apparent in the future.

Room Tip: Ask if the room has been renovated yet!
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank REW64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's Shadow Ridge I-The Villages, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

Thank you for visiting Marriott's Shadow Ridge. As a Marriott Vacation Club owner, we take your feedback seriously and apologize for not exceeding your expectations. It's disappointing to hear your interactions with the front desk were not smooth and that your credit card was charged incorrectly. Please know, your feedback will be shared with the appropriate leadership so we may address your concerns.

We would welcome the chance to personally respond to your concerns and invite you to contact our Customer Care team at customer.care@vacationclub.com or by calling 800-860-9384. Thank you again for your review and for being a part of the Marriott Vacation Club family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palm Desert
1.4 mi away
The Westin Desert Willow Villas
2.0 mi away
The Westin Mission Hills Villas
The Westin Mission Hills Villas
#1 of 8 in Rancho Mirage
935 reviews
1.2 mi away
Marriott's Desert Springs Villas II
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Marriott's Shadow Ridge II- The Enclaves
2.3 mi away
JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa
3.1 mi away
Omni Rancho Las Palmas Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Shadow Ridge I-The Villages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Shadow Ridge I-The Villages

Address: 9003 Shadow Ridge Rd, Palm Desert, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92211-2057 (Formerly Marriott's Shadow Ridge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Desert
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Palm Desert
#7 Romantic Hotel in Palm Desert
#8 Family Hotel in Palm Desert
Price Range: $132 - $369 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Shadow Ridge I-The Villages 3.5*
Number of rooms: 427
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Southern California's magnificent mountain ranges serve as the breathtaking backdrop for Marriott's Shadow Ridge. Spacious villas overlook rolling fairways and sparkling lakes weaving throughout the landscape. Beautiful master suites feature a king bed and oversized soaking tub while the spacious living and dining areas, and fully kitchen offer convenience and comfort. Swing by the Faldo Golf Institute by Marriott and try your luck on the championship course. Then relax at Nick Faldo's Bar & Grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marriott's Shadow Ridge I-The Villages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Shadow Ridge Hotel Palm Desert
Marriotts Palm Desert
Marriotts Hotel Shadow Ridge
Marriott Palm Desert
Marriott Shadow Ridge
Marriotts Shadow Ridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing