We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place for a family”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Marriott's Shadow Ridge I-The Villages
Ranked #4 of 22 Hotels in Palm Desert
Certificate of Excellence
San Jose, CA
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Nice place for a family”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

The property is great for kids - there are play areas and pools (not heated, I hear - it was too cold for us to be swimming).

The room itself was nice - the kitchen set up was great for a family, the TV and living area was perfect for the casual viewing of the golf course right outside, and you can see little rabbits roaming around everywhere.

The set up is like this: you walk in, and to the right is the kitchen and further along is the living room area. The left side is the "master" bedroom, and to the right is the second bedroom, which also has its own entrance from the outside (in case you're not taking over the entire suite). The second bedroom has its own bathroom/tiny kitchen/TV/couch set up.

There is one thing to complain about: the noise. We were on the first floor, so we heard the people upstairs every time they moved furniture, walked, dropped something..... and I can only guess that our rooms next to ours heard our kids screaming from time to time. But then again, this is time share property, so you're bound to have nosiy kids!

Room Tip: If you want quiet, then I suggest not getting the first floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shuweb-com
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,097 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    478
    369
    128
    74
    48
See reviews for
471
339
25
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (337)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, CA
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed here for the President's Day long weekend and loved every minute of it. We opted for a 1 bedroom villa so we could have a full kitchen and separate living room. The purpose of our vacation was truly for R&R so being able to have some breakfast in our unit before heading to the pool for the morning and then returning "home" for lunch, was super easy. We were in the 1800 unit and the location was fantastic. We were a 2 minute walk from the pool and a quick drive (or a 10 minute walk) to the main building (restaurant, fitness center, etc). Overall the property is very well kept and the staff are all very friendly. It's a mix of older couples and families so you just have to pick your pool with the scene you want (there are 4 of them throughout the property) and you are set for a nice, relaxing vacation. There are plenty of dining (and grocery if you have your own kitchen) options within 2 or 3 miles of the resort and it's a 7 or 8 minute drive to El Paseo (which is the Rodeo Drive of Palm Dessert). So if you forgot to pack anything, don't worry. Plenty of places to shop close by. We used Marriott Reward points for our stay but would absolutely return and pay cash for our accommodation at this resort. A+ all around.

Room Tip: decide what you want to do on the resort (golf, kiddy pool, activity center, etc) and request a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Franchise35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lompoc, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Great property with lots to do with my 7 and 9 year old. Would be great in the summer with all of the pools however it was raining when we went. So we were mostly indoors, watching movies in their theater, playing games in their kid room. Never had to leave the property. Room was roomy, kitchen was great, all the comforts of home. Kids tried the golfing at the putting green and we walked to the park. Pools were heated enough that my kids went in them in Feb in 60 degree weather and still had a great time.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

If you want a place for loud noisy families, this is your place. If you are a couple looking for a quiet golf getaway, go elsewhere. The walls are thin and we were constantly bothered by the loud and noisy families above and on either side of us. We couldn't enjoy sitting on our deck and we couldn't sleep at night. The pillows are rock hard. There is no place no the property to have breakfast if you do not wish to cook in your condo. We are platinum members and this is one Marriott property we will never return to

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BlueBear4356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Half Moon Bay, CA
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here the week between Christmas and New Years. The villa was typical high end Marriott Vacation Club, with full kitchen, washer/dryer, large flat screen TVs with DVD players, etc. We had previously stayed at the other MVCs in the area, but like this one best. The on-site pools (including the kid friendly water slide), and "Maze" kids center made this resort stand out above the others in the Palm Springs area. Very kid friendly.

There is much to do in the greater area, including the Living Desert, outlet shopping, downtown area, the tram, and plenty of great restaurants.

Will definitely look into Shadow Ridge next time we are going to Palm Springs.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nathan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Spent two nights, three days here with family. Beautiful grounds and outstanding amenities. Beautiful golf course (did not play golf) and pool areas. Lovely, quiet. Most guests seemed to be seniors, however there were some families and young couple. Nice options for pools - family pools, quiet pools and adult pools. Very well designed properties.

Room Tip: We had a one bedroom king with sofa bed for three people. Plenty of room for three women for a week...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobinJJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake City, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Back in 2005, my husband and I invested in a couple of weeks (time share) at Marriott's Shadow Ridge and have been very happy that we did. We have returned several times since then and enjoyed each subsequent visit even more than the previous one. The villas are spacious and well appointed and are updated frequently to keep up with changing styles and state of the art amenities. Even though we only golf occasionally, we find plenty of entertaining things to do at both the resort and the whole Palm Desert/Palm Springs area.
The grounds at Shadow Ridge are beautifully designed and maintained and the staff are super friendly and accommodating. The location of Shadow Ridge also affords lovely sunrise and sunset views of the surrounding mountains. We love to relax on our balcony, with a glass of wine in the early evening, either by ourselves or with friends. Pure heaven!
We have also enjoyed trading our weeks for visits to other resorts the world over, We have gone to quite a few so far, and we both agree that Marriott properties are our favorites. With them, we know that we will always have a great vacation experience, while staying in beautiful properties.

Room Tip: We like the third floor of Buildings 1900 & 2100 best for the views of the mountains all around.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KarenC327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palm Desert
1.5 mi away
The Westin Desert Willow Villas
2.0 mi away
The Westin Mission Hills Villas
The Westin Mission Hills Villas
#1 of 8 in Rancho Mirage
909 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Palm Desert
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Marriott's Desert Springs Villas II
0.0 mi away
Marriott's Shadow Ridge II- The Enclaves
2.3 mi away
JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Shadow Ridge I-The Villages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Shadow Ridge I-The Villages

Property: Marriott's Shadow Ridge I-The Villages
Address: 9003 Shadow Ridge Rd, Palm Desert, CA 92211-2057 (Formerly Marriott's Shadow Ridge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Desert
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Palm Desert
#7 Romantic Hotel in Palm Desert
#8 Family Hotel in Palm Desert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Shadow Ridge I-The Villages 3.5*
Number of rooms: 427
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Southern California's magnificent mountain ranges serve as the breathtaking backdrop for Marriott's Shadow Ridge. Spacious villas overlook rolling fairways and sparkling lakes weaving throughout the landscape. Beautiful master suites feature a king bed and oversized soaking tub while the spacious living and dining areas, and fully kitchen offer convenience and comfort. Swing by the Faldo Golf Institute by Marriott and try your luck on the championship course. Then relax at Nick Faldo's Bar & Grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marriott's Shadow Ridge I-The Villages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Shadow Ridge Hotel Palm Desert
Marriotts Palm Desert
Marriotts Hotel Shadow Ridge
Marriott Palm Desert
Marriott Shadow Ridge
Marriotts Shadow Ridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing