We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun with the Family” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott's Shadow Ridge I-The Villages

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Marriott's Shadow Ridge I-The Villages
Ranked #6 of 22 Hotels in Palm Desert
Certificate of Excellence
Lompoc, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fun with the Family”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Great property with lots to do with my 7 and 9 year old. Would be great in the summer with all of the pools however it was raining when we went. So we were mostly indoors, watching movies in their theater, playing games in their kid room. Never had to leave the property. Room was roomy, kitchen was great, all the comforts of home. Kids tried the golfing at the putting green and we walked to the park. Pools were heated enough that my kids went in them in Feb in 60 degree weather and still had a great time.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

975 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    411
    333
    113
    72
    46
See reviews for
420
296
23
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (300)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

If you want a place for loud noisy families, this is your place. If you are a couple looking for a quiet golf getaway, go elsewhere. The walls are thin and we were constantly bothered by the loud and noisy families above and on either side of us. We couldn't enjoy sitting on our deck and we couldn't sleep at night. The pillows are rock hard. There is no place no the property to have breakfast if you do not wish to cook in your condo. We are platinum members and this is one Marriott property we will never return to

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BlueBear4356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Half Moon Bay, CA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here the week between Christmas and New Years. The villa was typical high end Marriott Vacation Club, with full kitchen, washer/dryer, large flat screen TVs with DVD players, etc. We had previously stayed at the other MVCs in the area, but like this one best. The on-site pools (including the kid friendly water slide), and "Maze" kids center made this resort stand out above the others in the Palm Springs area. Very kid friendly.

There is much to do in the greater area, including the Living Desert, outlet shopping, downtown area, the tram, and plenty of great restaurants.

Will definitely look into Shadow Ridge next time we are going to Palm Springs.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nathan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Spent two nights, three days here with family. Beautiful grounds and outstanding amenities. Beautiful golf course (did not play golf) and pool areas. Lovely, quiet. Most guests seemed to be seniors, however there were some families and young couple. Nice options for pools - family pools, quiet pools and adult pools. Very well designed properties.

Room Tip: We had a one bedroom king with sofa bed for three people. Plenty of room for three women for a week...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobinJJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake City, Minnesota
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Back in 2005, my husband and I invested in a couple of weeks (time share) at Marriott's Shadow Ridge and have been very happy that we did. We have returned several times since then and enjoyed each subsequent visit even more than the previous one. The villas are spacious and well appointed and are updated frequently to keep up with changing styles and state of the art amenities. Even though we only golf occasionally, we find plenty of entertaining things to do at both the resort and the whole Palm Desert/Palm Springs area.
The grounds at Shadow Ridge are beautifully designed and maintained and the staff are super friendly and accommodating. The location of Shadow Ridge also affords lovely sunrise and sunset views of the surrounding mountains. We love to relax on our balcony, with a glass of wine in the early evening, either by ourselves or with friends. Pure heaven!
We have also enjoyed trading our weeks for visits to other resorts the world over, We have gone to quite a few so far, and we both agree that Marriott properties are our favorites. With them, we know that we will always have a great vacation experience, while staying in beautiful properties.

Room Tip: We like the third floor of Buildings 1900 & 2100 best for the views of the mountains all around.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KarenC327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa mesa
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

My husband have owned a time share here for about 8 years so we visit on a regular basis. We are here as I write this. I like it here for a number of reasons. The property is very relaxing and quiet. The landscaping is beautiful and well maintained. The rooms are clean and nicely decorated. The best part is the activities for all ages. The Mirage Center has a small movie theater, games room, playground, pools and crafts for the kids and adults. Shuttle service is available to any part of the property free of charge.
Management responds quickly to anything that needs fixing or replacement in the units. I would recommend this property.

Room Tip: A second floor room overlooking the golf course has a great view and is quieter than the first floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ocdogmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, California
Level Contributor
70 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

My family traded our timeshare in Tahoe to stay in PD and had a great time! The facility has lots of pools and a kids park and our villa was right on the 15th hole. We played several rounds of golf on the property and the course was in pretty good condition. The unit was also in pretty good condition and the kitchen had almost everything one would need to be happy. We would love to make the trade again in the future to stay at the Shadow Ridge. PS, the weather in mid January was WONDERFUL! 75-80 all week!

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palm Desert
1.3 mi away
The Westin Desert Willow Villas
2.1 mi away
The Westin Mission Hills Villas
The Westin Mission Hills Villas
#1 of 8 in Rancho Mirage
4.0 of 5 stars 781 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Palm Desert
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Marriott's Desert Springs Villas II
0.3 mi away
Marriott's Shadow Ridge II- The Enclaves
2.1 mi away
JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Shadow Ridge I-The Villages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Shadow Ridge I-The Villages

Property: Marriott's Shadow Ridge I-The Villages
Address: 9003 Shadow Ridge Rd, Palm Desert, CA 92211 (Formerly Marriott's Shadow Ridge)
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Desert
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Palm Desert
#7 Romantic Hotel in Palm Desert
#8 Family Hotel in Palm Desert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Shadow Ridge I-The Villages 3.5*
Number of rooms: 848
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Southern California's magnificent mountain ranges serve as the breathtaking backdrop for Marriott's Shadow Ridge. Spacious villas overlook rolling fairways and sparkling lakes weaving throughout the landscape. Beautiful master suites feature a king bed and oversized soaking tub while the spacious living and dining areas, and fully kitchen offer convenience and comfort. Swing by the Faldo Golf Institute by Marriott and try your luck on the championship course. Then relax at Nick Faldo's Bar & Grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Marriott, Hotwire, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Marriott's Shadow Ridge I-The Villages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Shadow Ridge Hotel Palm Desert
Marriotts Palm Desert
Marriotts Hotel Shadow Ridge
Marriott Palm Desert
Marriott Shadow Ridge
Marriotts Shadow Ridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing