We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Wonderful place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott's Shadow Ridge I-The Villages

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Marriott's Shadow Ridge I-The Villages
Ranked #6 of 22 Hotels in Palm Desert
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
167 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

I read the mixed reviews and we stayed here with some trepidation. Since this is a timeshare rather than a hotel we knew what to expect and what not to expect. This type of vacation is similar to staying in an condo apartment ...no maid service...do your laundry in the washer dryer in the room, cook if you like, etc. With that said, we would definitely stay here again!! We know that timeshares undergo renovations on a regular schedule so we called to insure that the room we would receive would be a "newly" renovated room. It was beautiful!! We had a one bedroom overlooking the mountains and enjoyed breakfast each morning on our terrace and ended each evening gazing out with a glass of wine.

The grounds are impeccable and there are multiple pool areas to accommodate adults and families with small children. The location is great to drive short distances to wonderful restaurants or go into Palm Springs and sightsee. We are not golfers but the course was well manicured and enticing

One suggestion is to do your own research on places to dine and places to go since the concierge seem much more focused on family and family fare restaurants rather than great local restaurants for couples or things to do that are not family focused

Stay here!!

Room Tip: Call the hotel and request a recently renovated room about a week or two before you arrive
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rhkfreespirit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

998 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    424
    341
    114
    73
    46
See reviews for
432
302
23
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (306)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Redmond, Washington
Level Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Hotel on the golf course. Personel very good and service was excellent as well.
On a golf trip and wanting some sunshine, we did not go wrong choosing this hotel and area.
first trip to the area and the staff made us want to come back again. We look forward to doing so.

Room Tip: Not a bad one on the grounds. The amenities from swimming, golf, their own movie theater are all ce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ezboss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We own a 2 bedroom unit at Shadow Ridge. Everything is good quality, clean and well maintained. The staff is courtious and helpful. The golf course was in excellent condition and the staff very good. However after we finished golf at 4 pm the bar was closed and I think also the restaurant. There is no entertainment which I would expect at such a large resort. So I needed to go somewhere else for a snack (pesumably I could go to the pool area). Hence we invariably went over to Westin Desert Springs for a snack and happy hour. Even if the restaurant (we have dined there previously) was open we would not dine there because it lacks atmosphere.

Room Tip: 3rd floor looking towards the western mountains. It is very relaxing in the evening to have a glass...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MEB123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Enjoyed the facility. Big rooms, well appointed, a few too many kids around for me.
Loved the golf course!! The pools were well staffed and plenty of poolside bars for the libation of your choice.
Pricing seemed fair, especially for early November.

Room Tip: Get the 1 bedroom villa. Worth the upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My husband and I had some Interval points we needed to use. Since we were going to be in LA, we decided the Palm Springs area was it. We expected a typical "Time Share" venue but it was so much more. Our 2 BR unit was spacious, clean and nicely appointed. (although the furnishings were a bit dated ). Large balcony overlooked part of the golf course, water and mountains. Our building was not close to the pools but it was a nice walk for us. There were 2 large pools - one mainly for kids and one for adults, with first come first served cabanas. In addition there was a kiddie pool, a water slide with a small pool and a fountain to play in complete with water cannons. There were plenty of shaded areas in addition to the cabanas. ( It was in the 90's and sunny so shade was appreciated. There's a small store at the main building selling food, liquor and sundries - along with a fancy candy store. The Marriott location is great, seems close to everything. Many grocery stores, restaurants and a Costco are nearby. We were there in October and the on site restaurant was closed but there's a nice bar and lunch place by the pools with lots of shaded tables. They also have waitresses at the pools to take orders and deliver your food and drinks. All in all, we would definitely go back!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lspies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
119 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

This is our second visit to Marriott Shadow Ridge and we love it. We've stayed at other timeshares in Palm Desert-Westin Mission Hills, Marriott Desert Springs I as well as hotels like Hyatt Grand Champions, Renaissance, La Quinta etc. and Shadow Ridge is our favorite. We've stayed in a 1 br and 2 br and they're all spacious, clean and have great views of the golf course. The pools are great, especially the quiet pool with only adults but most of the time we have to go to kids pool with our kids. There is so much to do at the main pool-kids club with xbox, movies, snacks etc, snack bar with drinks/food and daily activities for everyone. I love how they have happy hour pretty much all day with good priced drinks/food. My only complaint is wish they had server by the pool. There is a putting green and 2 basketball courts. The golf course is challenging-very hilly with lots of sand traps and it is pricey but it's a beautiful course so if you're experienced-go for it. This is a great place for families, couples, singles, etc. and has something for everyone. The grounds are beautiful too. The only thing I didn't like is the timeshare sell when you're checking in-happens every time.

Room Tip: We always stay in room 2731 on the 2nd of 3 floor building-it's close to adult pool and main poo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank carrie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlands Ranch, Colorado
Level Contributor
221 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed here for a week as part of a Time Share trade, and were very happy with our condo. The master bedroom and bath were very upscale, and the kitchen/dining/living room was very open. There is everything you need for cooking and enjoying meals. Unfortunately, when we were there, the Nick Faldo-designed Golf Course was closed for over-seeding. But, like the professional way they always deal with their customers, we were allowed to make reservations and play at the JW Marriot Desert Springs Course for the same, very reasonable price. Awesome golf course!

Any issues that may arise during your stay are met and dealt with quickly and efficiently. An example of this was when we could not get the gas grill outside of our building to ignite, and the front desk immediately sent two gentlemen out to take care of this for us so we could enjoy our grilled meal that evening! You will be very happy if you get a chance to stay here!

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the Main Pool Area. Much quieter and more parking available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheTedBaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palm Desert
1.3 mi away
The Westin Desert Willow Villas
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Palm Desert
2.1 mi away
The Westin Mission Hills Villas
The Westin Mission Hills Villas
#2 of 8 in Rancho Mirage
4.0 of 5 stars 800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Marriott's Desert Springs Villas II
0.3 mi away
Marriott's Shadow Ridge II- The Enclaves
2.1 mi away
JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Shadow Ridge I-The Villages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Shadow Ridge I-The Villages

Property: Marriott's Shadow Ridge I-The Villages
Address: 9003 Shadow Ridge Rd, Palm Desert, CA 92211-2057 (Formerly Marriott's Shadow Ridge)
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Desert
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Palm Desert
#7 Romantic Hotel in Palm Desert
#8 Family Hotel in Palm Desert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Shadow Ridge I-The Villages 3.5*
Number of rooms: 848
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Southern California's magnificent mountain ranges serve as the breathtaking backdrop for Marriott's Shadow Ridge. Spacious villas overlook rolling fairways and sparkling lakes weaving throughout the landscape. Beautiful master suites feature a king bed and oversized soaking tub while the spacious living and dining areas, and fully kitchen offer convenience and comfort. Swing by the Faldo Golf Institute by Marriott and try your luck on the championship course. Then relax at Nick Faldo's Bar & Grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Marriott, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Marriott's Shadow Ridge I-The Villages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Shadow Ridge Hotel Palm Desert
Marriotts Palm Desert
Marriotts Hotel Shadow Ridge
Marriott Palm Desert
Marriott Shadow Ridge
Marriotts Shadow Ridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing