We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Lovely Setting in the Desert” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott's Shadow Ridge I-The Villages

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Marriott's Shadow Ridge I-The Villages
Ranked #6 of 22 Hotels in Palm Desert
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Lovely Setting in the Desert”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2011

My husband and I along with another couple spent a week in a two bedroom unit at this lovely golf resort. Our accommodations included two king bedrooms, two full baths, a living room and full kitchen with refrigerator, stove/oven, dishwasher, microwave and washer/dryer. The appliances worked well, but were quite noisy when operating. The unit included two separate and very private balconies with a small table and chairs on each. We stayed in the 1600 building overlooking the 10th hole with the desert and mountains beyond. This was an end unit with only two levels and we were not bothered by noise from other units. . The furnishings were traditional, but recently updated, and included a flat screen TV in each bedroom as well as the living room. Two pools were located nearby, one for adults and one for families, although there were adults and children using both. The water temperature was very warm and the pool area very clean. The complex is very nicely landscaped with miles of walking paths. There is also a well equipped fitness center. i am a bit surprised by the negative reviews I have read. We found the staff to be very friendly as well as the other guests. One should be aware that because this is a condo, daily maid service is not included. This did not present a problem for us because we are capable of taking our trash down the hall and did not feel a need to have the unit cleaned. It was quite clean upon arrival. I would definitely recommend this resort and hope to return again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Parktraveler46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

999 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    424
    342
    114
    73
    46
See reviews for
432
303
23
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (306)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2011

Me and my family recently stayed at the Shadow Ridge and were more than pleased. After staying at their other property in the desert I prefer this resort hands down. Ginger was our check in staff member and she was personable and professional. We were appointed a lovely villa located within the proximity that I requested. The 1 bedroom villa was immaculate and stocked with everything one would need. We played tennis, basketball and volleyball on their sand courts and had a wonderful time. BBQ's are located next to each building and the quiet pool was wonderful! Warm and quiet.. just what the Dr. ordered.
We will be back on our next trip to Palm Desert without hesitation.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank monla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livonia, Michigan
Level Contributor
63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2011

Just returned from a 1 week stay in a 1 bedroom villa. Villa overlooked the 17th green. Weather for the week was excellent. People at the hotel couldn't have been friendlier or nicer. Check in, concierge, and golf course workers were polite, considerate, and provided very useful information. All areas including the pool were close by and on most days, plenty of room for all. Golf course was fun but make sure you bring your sand wedge. Villa was typical Marriott, spacious and well appoined. Only negative comment is that it is time to upgrade carpet and funiture. Area is beautiful this time of the year and would seriously consider returning to the same spot next year.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RobertLivonia_MI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grapevine, Texas
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2011

Having visited last year, we were familiar w/property & studio rm in Villages. Used rewards pts to upgrade into one bedrm villa to accommodate sofabed guest. Checkin mgr very helpful to get us patio level villa as we'd brought along our bikes. Property is expansive providing exlnt walking/riding opps. Our one bdrm villa was well appointed, spacious and quiet in 3000 block/Villages. Housekeeper came during breakfast -- we just needed bed/bath freshened and had no prob with this aspect. In fact, mgmt checked in with us first day to make sure we had everything we needed. Shows they are making en effort to clean up bad customer service reviews I've read about. Went to "quieter pool" across from bldg this time having used lrger family pools in past. Propery offers range of activities and is near Palm Desert shopping, hot spots we enjoy. In all, one of Marriott's best properties (and we've stayed in many, many). We'll go back!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thenk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2011

We checked into a mosquito-infested room. Literally, I killed about 50 mosquitos before we changed rooms.

When I called to book the reservation, the agent played up the great pool for my little kids. She knew when we were coming. Well, that pool was closed for cleaning for 3 days when we arrived.

I complained multiple times about this. The manager Mary Anne Chavez was condescending, to say the least, in her response. Her final word was that if she had known earlier, she would have "sent over a snack pack" for the kids.

This place does NOT operate like a regular hotel and they certainly don't treat their "guests" as such.

Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank julesb32655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Desert, California
Level Contributor
157 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2011

Marriott SR was our last stop on a months vacation in the US, we were to stay here for 2 weeks before driving back to LA to get our flight back too Sydney. We were looking forward to staying here for its apartment style accomadation, so we can do some home cooking, have a laundry in our room and just chill out after staying in hotels and sightseeing for the last 2 weeks. Im sad to say this place was disapointing to say the least, heres why:
1.We started out trip at Disneyland and Hollywood surrounded by friendly people, friendly staff and vacationers. At our disneyland hotel, other families at the pool were friendly and happy...NOT HERE, everyone we came accross daily at the pool were complete snobs, even young families with kids, had major attitude problems, it was just horrible, and strange as Americans are usually so nice. Im guessing the time share crowd all think there #1 when they check in.
2.Housekeeping was the worst I have ever encountered (and I travel alot) they did not get to our room until 3-4pm in the afternoon daily. So after a day out or at the pool, you would go back to your room to get showered and relax before dinner, you had to do so with, dirty towels, unmade beds, full trash cans with last nights rubbish in them.
3.The hotel does provide alot of recriation, pools, golf, kids play room ect, but staff just seemed so standoffish!!!!
Well to cut a long story short we knew pretty much off the bat, that this place was not for us so 2 calls later, one to Disneys Grand Californian Hotel (to check in for a week) and two a call to front desk to check out of Marriott's SR. We made a great decision, our last week in the US was around friendly people and a well ran clean hotel. Palm Desert is a great town, and I will be back. but not to the Marriott SR.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Newlifenotinoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2011

This is a great place to stay. The rooms were clean and spacious. The service was great. Very easy to get around the hotel grounds and the town. Many activities and well organized. The guys loved the golf course too. Our balcony overlooked the 16th hole and the mountains were in the background.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CISF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palm Desert
1.3 mi away
The Westin Desert Willow Villas
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Palm Desert
2.1 mi away
The Westin Mission Hills Villas
The Westin Mission Hills Villas
#2 of 8 in Rancho Mirage
4.0 of 5 stars 802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Marriott's Desert Springs Villas II
0.3 mi away
Marriott's Shadow Ridge II- The Enclaves
2.1 mi away
JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Shadow Ridge I-The Villages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Shadow Ridge I-The Villages

Property: Marriott's Shadow Ridge I-The Villages
Address: 9003 Shadow Ridge Rd, Palm Desert, CA 92211-2057 (Formerly Marriott's Shadow Ridge)
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Desert
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Palm Desert
#7 Romantic Hotel in Palm Desert
#8 Family Hotel in Palm Desert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Shadow Ridge I-The Villages 3.5*
Number of rooms: 848
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Southern California's magnificent mountain ranges serve as the breathtaking backdrop for Marriott's Shadow Ridge. Spacious villas overlook rolling fairways and sparkling lakes weaving throughout the landscape. Beautiful master suites feature a king bed and oversized soaking tub while the spacious living and dining areas, and fully kitchen offer convenience and comfort. Swing by the Faldo Golf Institute by Marriott and try your luck on the championship course. Then relax at Nick Faldo's Bar & Grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Marriott, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Marriott's Shadow Ridge I-The Villages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Shadow Ridge Hotel Palm Desert
Marriotts Palm Desert
Marriotts Hotel Shadow Ridge
Marriott Palm Desert
Marriott Shadow Ridge
Marriotts Shadow Ridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing