We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous course”

Marriott's Shadow Ridge Golf Club
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Located in the Coachella Valley, Shadow Ridge Golf Club enjoys over 350 days of sunshine and blue skies every year. This beautiful and peaceful valley is often referred to as the "golf capital of the world" because of its ideal playing conditions and abundance of courses.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Chester, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
72 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Gorgeous course”
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Better get your sand rescues perfected, because there's almost no avoiding them on this course. You could put a house in these things and not see it.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank ohdoggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    68
    11
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Port Moody, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Challenging and beautiful...”
Reviewed November 22, 2012

I have played this Faldo-designed course since it opened about a decade ago. Always in November, because the course has just reopened after re-seeding in October. This timing means the course is in superb condition.
I also always take a private lesson at the golf school with Mike Ellis - the head pro - who has transformed my game over the years.
Shadow Ridge is a big, challenging course, not for beginners, with plenty of water and long patches of sandy waste ground along the sides. While the fairways are wide, the greens are cunningly placed, elevated and surrounded by huge bunkers. It takes very accurate approach shots to make bogey and par here.
The views are spectacular and ever-changing as the sun moves westward. They distract me!!
I'm always impressed by the wonderful customer service - clubs are removed from the cars and loaded on the carts for you by friendly and helpful staff who clean your clubs afterwards and reload them into your car. GPS is on each cart and marshals ensure players keep on time.
We sometimes stay at the resort, which is lovely too.
Highly recommended for discerning golfers who can play well and pay the green fees! ($145-$160.00)

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank PhotosbyPharos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, KS
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Big fan of Shadow Ridge Golf Club”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

A foursome made a trip to Palm Desert for 4 days of golf and Shadow Ridge was on our schedule. What a great conditioned golf course. We played it the first weekend of Nov after it had come out of it's overseeding schedule and couldn't have been happier with the course conditions. The staff and facilities were nice and accommodating. I am a Marriott Vacation Club owner and after being on this property and playing the course I will definitely make a return trip and stay at the resort.

We had a perfect day and on course drink cart was going around which was very helpful because the pace of play was pretty slow. I would caution high handicappers just by saying that the course is tough but if you are willing to play through the pain take a shot and enjoy a day at this golf course.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank OPtravel4fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolla, California
Level 6 Contributor
321 reviews
82 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Beautiful but beware higher handicappers”
Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

Although the slope rating on this course is pretty low, it is quite challenging for a higher handicap golfer. It is laced with many deep, hard-pack (no sand) bunkers in strategic locations which require a substantial level of ability to either avoid or get out of. Although our round was played in under the four hour and twenty minute regulation time, we waited on every single shot which reduced the pleasure of each shot. Otherwise, the course is very lovely and, if you are not staying at the hotel or its timeshares, it is probably averagely priced for a high end golf course in this area.

Helpful?
Thank Ann D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
227 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Nick recommends striking the ball this way”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Hidden in the Marriott Shadow Ridge resort, you can get in some golf and improve your game with the 3-h instruction packages or 1-h clinics.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank tlc248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marriott's Shadow Ridge Golf Club also viewed

Palm Desert, Greater Palm Springs
Palm Desert, Greater Palm Springs
 
Palm Desert, Greater Palm Springs
 

Been to Marriott's Shadow Ridge Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing