We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sensational Sushi”

The Venue Sushi Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
The Venue Sushi Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #73 of 273 Restaurants in Palm Desert
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dhahran, Saudi Arabia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Sensational Sushi”
Reviewed July 27, 2014

We decided to try out this restaurant in Palm Desert based on other reviews. They did not disappoint. We tried the Omakase and loved each course that came out. By the end, we were definitely full, but still managed to find room for the green tea ice cream. The restaurant is located on the chic El Paseo, so it's a perfect location to stroll around after eating to burn off some of those calories consumed. As is most places in the desert, casual attire is acceptable - but the meal is upscale sushi. We'll definitely go here again!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa0330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    25
    12
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Rockville
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great Sushi Restaurant”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

To be candid, I did not expect a good Sushi restaurant in Palm Desert. This place was great. Very very good sushi - regardless of location. The place was smaller than anticipated but the rolls were fantastic. They do need a better selection of drinks.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank BradBRcckville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great sushi, awesome specialty rolls”
Reviewed June 29, 2014

The fish that they have here is great quality and tasted very fresh. The specialty rolls are amazing , make sure you try The Experiment roll it!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank CS_Stach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Sushi in El Paseo!”
Reviewed May 5, 2014

The Venue Sushi Bar was outstanding! excellent value and quality! the service was exceptional and the cost was not overboard! I would happily return when we are in the Palm Dessert again!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good Sushi with a convenient location on El Paseo.”
Reviewed April 16, 2014 via mobile

I haven't been to any other sushi restaurants in the Coachella Valley other than The Venue. However I have been to high-end sushi restaurants in cities all over the west and east coasts. The venue provides fresh Sushi which is well-prepared. Their specialty sushi rolls looked interesting but not particularly imaginative. I ordered a sashimi sampler and was pleased with the results. My wife had a spicy tuna hand roll and enjoyed it. I asked for a beer recommendation and they recommended a locally brewed vanilla Belgian beer which was made at a local microbrewery attached to a restaurant called Babes barbecue. It was actually quite good. My wife had a sake-like martini that was nice. They had a decent though somewhat limited selection of sake, however it was a relatively small restaurant. The seaweed salad was fresh and delicious. We arrived at just about 6 o'clock on a Tuesday and were seated at the sushi bar. The restaurant quickly filled up after that and was full when we left. Reservations are recommended. Price for two with one drink each was $94 including tip and tax. I would recommend stopping in the afternoon after a long hard day shopping El Paseo, assuming you have any money left to eat after your wife is through with Gucci, Prada and Burberry.

Helpful?
1 Thank Essequibo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Venue Sushi Bar also viewed

Palm Desert, Greater Palm Springs
 
Palm Desert, Greater Palm Springs
Palm Desert, Greater Palm Springs
 
Palm Desert, Greater Palm Springs
Palm Desert, Greater Palm Springs
 

Been to The Venue Sushi Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing